Miami, Florida · Private university
Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-09-08. Este guia em português →
Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Profile

The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from Atlantis University's own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.
Atlantis is accredited by ACCSC (since 2012) and licensed by the Florida Commission for Independent Education (licence 3355); it does not hold the regional accreditation of Florida's public universities. There is no campus housing: the housing figure above is the university's own estimate for off-campus rent and food. Admission is open, with no published acceptance rate.
Costs
Tuition at Atlantis University for international students is $12,820 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $30,020 — about R$ 154,903 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-09-08.
| Item | Annual estimate (USD) | Approx. in R$ |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (out of state) | $12,820 | R$ 66,151 |
| Housing and meals | $17,200 | R$ 88,752 |
| Estimated total | $30,020 | R$ 154,903 |
Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-09-08. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.
Scholarships
| Scholarship | Amount per year | Criteria | Renewable | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Exceptional High School Students Scholarship | $500 – $5,000 | Excellent high-school academic record, attending college for the first time; full-time enrollment | ||
| International Student Scholarship | $500 – $5,000 | International (foreign) students who hold their Student Visa/I-20; full-time | ||
| Atlantis University Academic Scholarship | $500 – $5,000 | Cumulative GPA at the level set by the university for undergraduate/graduate programs; good administrative standing | ||
| Atlantis University Financial Hardship Scholarship | $500 – $5,000 | Unmet financial need; not receiving other scholarships that cover tuition | ||
| Atlantis University Athletic Scholarship | $500 – $5,000 | Demonstrated athletic talent, recommended by the Athletic Department for a sport AU offers, meets Standards of Academic Progress | ||
| Exceptional Professional Scholarship | $500 – $5,000 | Applicants shown to be resilient, reliable, with high work standards and ethical conduct | ||
| Returning Graduate or Continuing Student Scholarship | $500 – $5,000 | Graduated from an AU program and continuing studies at AU |
Merit scholarships: students have received between 10% and 30% of tuition (conservative estimate, 2026–2027; verified on 2026-09-08). Typical conditions: Institutional scholarship of $500 to $5,000 per semester, one per student, first come first served; the International Student Scholarship is the only one aimed at I-20 holders. The real amount depends on your profile — we never promise percentages.
Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.
International aid
Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.
Amount per year: $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships)
Requirements: International (foreign) student holding a Student Visa/I-20. Common criteria (catalog pp.134-135): only one scholarship per student; completed Scholarship Form required; full-time status; must complete 1 year (2 consecutive semesters); prorated to credits enrolled per semester; credited against tuition only; 'The University does not advertise scholarships'; amounts subject to change; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
International: Yes
Renewal: Loses the scholarship for the final semester and must repay the balance if withdrawing before completing the program (international page). Catalog requires maintaining the Code of Conduct, SAP and full-time status; the university may reduce/revoke scholarships for late payments.
Deadline: Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
How to apply: Form (Scholarship Form) from the Financial Assistance Department; not automatic.
Amount per year: $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships)
Requirements: Excellent high school academic record and attending college for the first time. Minimum GPA not published. Common criteria (catalog pp.134-135): only one scholarship per student; completed Scholarship Form required; full-time status; must complete 1 year (2 consecutive semesters); prorated to credits enrolled per semester; credited against tuition only; 'The University does not advertise scholarships'; amounts subject to change; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Loses the scholarship for the final semester and must repay the balance if withdrawing before completing the program (international page). Catalog requires maintaining the Code of Conduct, SAP and full-time status; the university may reduce/revoke scholarships for late payments.
Deadline: Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
How to apply: Form (Scholarship Form) from the Financial Assistance Department; not automatic.
Amount per year: $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships)
Requirements: Cumulative GPA at the level set by the university (value not published) and good administrative standing. Common criteria (catalog pp.134-135): only one scholarship per student; completed Scholarship Form required; full-time status; must complete 1 year (2 consecutive semesters); prorated to credits enrolled per semester; credited against tuition only; 'The University does not advertise scholarships'; amounts subject to change; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Loses the scholarship for the final semester and must repay the balance if withdrawing before completing the program (international page). Catalog requires maintaining the Code of Conduct, SAP and full-time status; the university may reduce/revoke scholarships for late payments.
Deadline: Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
How to apply: Form (Scholarship Form) from the Financial Assistance Department; not automatic.
Amount per year: $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships)
Requirements: Unmet need and no other scholarships covering some or all tuition. Common criteria (catalog pp.134-135): only one scholarship per student; completed Scholarship Form required; full-time status; must complete 1 year (2 consecutive semesters); prorated to credits enrolled per semester; credited against tuition only; 'The University does not advertise scholarships'; amounts subject to change; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Loses the scholarship for the final semester and must repay the balance if withdrawing before completing the program (international page). Catalog requires maintaining the Code of Conduct, SAP and full-time status; the university may reduce/revoke scholarships for late payments.
Deadline: Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
How to apply: Form (Scholarship Form) from the Financial Assistance Department; not automatic.
Amount per year: $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships)
Requirements: Demonstrated athletic talent, Athletic Department recommendation for a sport offered by AU, meets SAP, no other tuition-covering scholarships. Common criteria (catalog pp.134-135): only one scholarship per student; completed Scholarship Form required; full-time status; must complete 1 year (2 consecutive semesters); prorated to credits enrolled per semester; credited against tuition only; 'The University does not advertise scholarships'; amounts subject to change; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Loses the scholarship for the final semester and must repay the balance if withdrawing before completing the program (international page). Catalog requires maintaining the Code of Conduct, SAP and full-time status; the university may reduce/revoke scholarships for late payments.
Deadline: Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
How to apply: Form (Scholarship Form) from the Financial Assistance Department; not automatic.
Amount per year: $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships)
Requirements: Resilient, reliable, high work standards and ethical conduct (subjective; no number). Common criteria (catalog pp.134-135): only one scholarship per student; completed Scholarship Form required; full-time status; must complete 1 year (2 consecutive semesters); prorated to credits enrolled per semester; credited against tuition only; 'The University does not advertise scholarships'; amounts subject to change; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Loses the scholarship for the final semester and must repay the balance if withdrawing before completing the program (international page). Catalog requires maintaining the Code of Conduct, SAP and full-time status; the university may reduce/revoke scholarships for late payments.
Deadline: Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
How to apply: Form (Scholarship Form) from the Financial Assistance Department; not automatic.
Amount per year: $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships)
Requirements: Must have earned a degree at AU and be continuing at AU. Not for first-year students. Common criteria (catalog pp.134-135): only one scholarship per student; completed Scholarship Form required; full-time status; must complete 1 year (2 consecutive semesters); prorated to credits enrolled per semester; credited against tuition only; 'The University does not advertise scholarships'; amounts subject to change; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Loses the scholarship for the final semester and must repay the balance if withdrawing before completing the program (international page). Catalog requires maintaining the Code of Conduct, SAP and full-time status; the university may reduce/revoke scholarships for late payments.
Deadline: Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted.
How to apply: Form (Scholarship Form) from the Financial Assistance Department; not automatic.
No federal aid for F-1 students. The only need-based aid is the university's own Financial Hardship Scholarship, within the same $500 to $5,000 per semester range, not guaranteed and budget-limited.
Scores
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (average of admitted students) | |
| Minimum GPA | 2.5 |
| Minimum TOEFL | 70 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.0 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 100 |
| Minimum PTE | 50 |
| SAT/ACT policy | Test-optional |
Brazil is not on the list of countries exempt from the English test. Besides the tests in the table, Atlantis accepts a TOEIC of 775 or higher, one year of full-time study at an English-medium school with a 2.0 GPA, or a school statement that instruction was in English, all reviewed case by case. Minimums come from the September 2026 catalog.
The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.
Tests
| Test | Minimum score | Note |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT | 70 | Minimum 70 (legacy 0–120 scale). The new 1–6 TOEFL scale is not mentioned in the catalog or on the site. |
| TOEFL Essentials | not listed | Not listed in the catalog (p.106) or on the international-students page. |
| IELTS Academic | 6.0 | 'IELTS and achieve a score of 6.0'. No band minimums stated. |
| Duolingo English Test | 100 | 'Duolingo and achieve a score of 100'. |
| PTE Academic | 50–63 | Catalog literally says 'achieve a score of between 50 to 63' — published as a range, not a single minimum. |
| iTEP | CEFR B2 | 'minimum CEFR level of B2'. No numeric score given. |
| Cambridge English (B2 First / C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency) | CEFR B2 | 'Cambridge Assessment – English and achieve a minimum CEFR level of B2'. No Cambridge Scale score is cited; any B2-or-above certificate. |
| ELS | not listed | ELS is not named. Site accepts 'Certificates from English-language schools'; catalog accepts 'proof of completion of an English course at a language institute/school' with an advanced-level certificate. |
| TOEIC (waiver) | 775 (composite) | Listed only as a case-by-case waiver basis: 'The Applicant has completed a TOEIC with a composite score of 775 or higher.' |
| SAT/ACT English section as a waiver | not listed | SAT and ACT appear nowhere in the catalog or site as a requirement or waiver. |
| Waiver for English-medium schooling | 1 year full-time, 2.0 GPA | Case by case: 'completed, with a minimum 2.0 GPA, at least one-year full-time study at a recognized secondary school, college or university whose primary language of instruction is English.' Also accepts a school attestation that the medium of instruction was English. |
| Waiver by country | Brazil is not on the list | Automatic exemption for applicants from the listed countries (Australia … Zimbabwe). Brazil is not on the list. |
Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.
SAT and ACT are neither required nor mentioned in the catalog: admission is open. Atlantis asks for a translated and evaluated high-school diploma, proof of English, a recommended interview, an enrollment agreement and financial certification for the I-20.
Is your score below 70 on the TOEFL or 100 on the Duolingo test? That does not end the plan — our live prep courses with a teacher exist to close exactly that gap.
Student life



Majors
Atlantis is a career-focused institution, and that shapes the catalog. Programs are organized into schools of Business, Computer Science & Technology, Health, Engineering and Education, plus a Language Institute for students still finishing their English. The university says it builds its programs alongside working professionals, and the logic follows: graduate employable in your field. There is also the Accelerated Learning Alternative, which lets you carry extra credits per semester and finish sooner, with an academic advisor tracking your load. There is no honors college and no separate campus by discipline.
There are 9 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.
The 2 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.
9 majors
No major matches that name. Try a broader word, or the degree code.
Graduate
At the graduate level, the MBA with Concentrations is the flagship, and it carries one detail you need to understand before choosing. It is the only program at the university approved for CPT, the F-1 curricular internship, because it includes a required practicum. Students in other programs currently have no CPT available. Note too that an F-1 student must be enrolled in a campus-based program and may take only one online course per semester. Confirm with the department before signing anything.
There are 14 programs open to international students, 2 of them STEM-designated.
| Program | STEM | GRE or GMAT required | Intake |
|---|---|---|---|
| School of Business6 | |||
| Master in Business Administration (MBA) - Business Intelligence and Analytics | No | FSpSu | |
| Master in Business Administration (MBA) - Digital Marketing | No | FSpSu | |
| Master in Business Administration (MBA) - Information Technology Management | No | FSpSu | |
| Master in Business Administration (MBA) - International Business (America's MBA) | No | FSpSu | |
| Master of Science in Business Administration (MS) | No | FSpSu | |
| Master of Science in Hospitality Management | No | FSpSu | |
| School of Computer Science and Technology3 | |||
| Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence | No | FSpSu | |
| Master of Science in Cybersecurity | No | FSpSu | |
| Master of Science in Information Technology (MIT) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| School of Education2 | |||
| Master of Science in Education | No | FSpSu | |
| Master of Science in Elementary Education | No | FSpSu | |
| School of Engineering1 | |||
| Master of Science in Computer Engineering | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| School of Health2 | |||
| Master of Science in Healthcare Management | No | FSpSu | |
| Master of Science in Nursing | No | FSpSu | |
No program matches those filters. Clear one of them.
The STEM designation matters more at master's level than at undergraduate. It allows a request for 24 extra months of OPT on top of the initial 12, which means up to three years working in the United States off a one- or two-year degree.
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| Minimum TOEFL | 70 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.0 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 100 |
| Application fee | $150 |
| Minimum full-time load | 6 credit hours per semester |
14 of the programs above waive the GRE and GMAT. The rest require the test, and a waiver is only considered for applicants holding a business degree from an AACSB-accredited institution. Work experience does not count towards a waiver.
Beyond a transcript from every institution you attended, with certified translation, the application asks for a personal statement in English, a professional resume and two reference forms from people who can speak to your academic and professional background. A course-by-course credential evaluation is strongly recommended.
| Intake | Application complete by |
|---|---|
| Fall intake | Rolling; registration closes on each term start date (August to November) |
| Spring intake | Rolling; January (Winter) and May (Summer) intakes |
Deadlines
| Intake | Application deadline | Scholarship deadline |
|---|---|---|
| Fall intake | Rolling: registration closes on each term start date (Fall 2026 Term A began August 31; further entries in September, October and November) | No deadline: scholarships are awarded first come, first served until the budget runs out; ask the Financial Assistance Department for the form when applying |
| Spring intake | Rolling; the January intake is called Winter (Term A on January 11, 2027) |
Documents
The order below is the order in which Atlantis University asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.
Campus
The campus is called AU University Park and sits in the Miami Health District, the part of the city built around its major hospitals. Forget the classic American campus image of wide lawns, scattered buildings and life happening outdoors. This is one building, on a city street, in a neighborhood that runs on a working rhythm. You arrive, you go to class, you leave. Anyone landing here expecting the college-movie setting notices the difference in the first week.
The small scale changes how social life works. Classes are small and the student body is strongly international; the university itself runs a Spanish-language site and Spanish-language support. Some students study online and rarely appear in the building. Friendships form in the classroom and at university events, not in a dorm or a meal plan line. There is an athletics program, modest in size, if competing matters to you.
Housing works differently here. Do not expect the classic first-year dorm system with roommate assignment and a dining hall included. The university sends housing information along with the acceptance letter, and it is worth asking in writing what is actually provided and what you will have to arrange yourself before you buy a ticket.




There is no requirement to live on campus in the first year, which opens up sharing an apartment off campus — usually cheaper, with transport left to solve.
City
Miami without a car is possible, and the Health District helps: the area is served by the Metrorail, which connects the neighborhood to Downtown and Brickell. From there the Metromover runs free through the center. Even so, Miami is a city built for drivers. Many students end up sharing rides, using apps, or choosing to live near the train line so they do not depend on anyone.
Neighborhoods change character quickly. Brickell is vertical, expensive and full of young people working in finance. Little Havana sits next to the Health District and offers cheaper rent, Cuban food and Spanish everywhere. Wynwood is for the weekend, with murals and bars. The beach means crossing over to Miami Beach, which on a Saturday takes time.
The weather reaches your body before it reaches your calendar. Humid heat almost year-round, heavy afternoon rain in summer that passes fast, and hurricane season treated as routine: the city warns, you stock up, classes pause, life resumes. South Florida's Latin American and Brazilian communities are large and visible, so bakeries, churches and barbers in your own language exist. And Miami's airport has direct flights to many South American capitals, which changes the math on an emergency back home.
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| One-bedroom rent off campus | $2,510 / month |
| Public transport | Miami-Dade Transit (Metrorail, Metromover, Metrobus, Metro Express); full-time students ride Metrobus and Metrorail at half price; the Metrorail Orange Line reaches the airport for $2.25; on the main campus the Panther Mover shuttle is free. |
| Nearest airport | Miami International Airport (MIA): 55.3 million passengers in 2025, 176 non-stop destinations (102 international), 2nd in the US for international passengers; connected to Metrorail (Orange Line). |
| Distance to Orlando | 378 km |
| Climate | Tropical: average annual high 84.3 F (29 C) and low 70.1 F (21 C); August is the hottest month (high 91 F) and January the coolest (low 60 F); 61.9 inches (1,572 mm) of rain a year, mostly in summer; hurricane season June to November. |


F-1 students may work on campus up to 20 hours per week during the fall and spring semesters and up to 30 hours per week during summer and school breaks; an ISSS employment certification is required before starting.
Careers
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.
CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.
OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.
STEM-designated programs allow a request for a 24-month extension of OPT — up to 36 months of authorised work in total after graduation.
Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-09-08. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.
Compare
Atlantis makes sense for a specific profile: someone already committed to Miami who wants a career degree in business, technology or health, prefers small classes, and needs a flexible calendar. It does not make sense for someone dreaming of the American campus experience, for someone planning to start here and transfer later to a Florida public university, or for someone who will need the degree recognized by authorities back home. In those cases, FIU, UCF or USF are the safer path.
The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.
| University | Total cost per year | Average SAT | Minimum TOEFL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Atlantis University (this page) | $30,020 | 70 | |
| The University of Tampa | $50,124 | 1180 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| Florida Institute of Technology | $65,819 | 1250 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| University of South Florida | $31,524 | 1230 |
FAQ
The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $30,020 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.
TOEFL 70 or higher, or Duolingo 100 or higher. Duolingo policies change often, so we confirm the current rule before you apply. If your score is below the minimum, prep closes that gap before the deadline.
The ENEM plays no part. The university converts the transcript grades to the American 0–4 GPA scale from a sworn translation. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The minimum required is 2.5.
The fall entry deadline is Rolling: registration closes on each term start date (Fall 2026 Term A began August 31; further entries in September, October and November), and spring entry is Rolling; the January intake is called Winter (Term A on January 11, 2027). Start 10 to 12 months ahead: transcript translation, English score and proof of funds are the steps that delay applications most.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.
$12,820 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $30,020 — about R$ 154,903 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.
On estimated total cost per year, Atlantis University comes to $30,020 and The University of Tampa to $50,124. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.
No. Atlantis is accredited by ACCSC, the agency that accredits career schools, and licensed by the Florida Commission for Independent Education. Florida's public universities hold regional accreditation from a different agency. The distinction is technical on paper and concrete in practice: it weighs on transferring credits, on admission to graduate school in the United States, and on having the degree recognized in your home country. Confirm what it means for your case before deciding.
Do not count on it. Credits from institutions accredited by career-school agencies are evaluated case by case by the receiving university, and many are not accepted. There is also a federal rule limiting school transfers during the first year for F-1 undergraduate students. If finishing at a public university was the plan from the start, start at a public university.
Not in the same form. Atlantis occupies one building in the Health District, with no residential campus, and many students study online or come only for class. There is an athletics program, but a small one. Housing information arrives with the acceptance letter, and you organize life outside the classroom yourself. If the campus experience is a big part of what you want in the United States, look at other options on this list.
Sources
Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the university's official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.
Data verified on 2026-09-08.
Sources: College Scorecard · College Navigator · Official university site
Next steps
We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.