Sarasota, Florida · Public university
Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-09-15. Este guia em português →
Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Profile
The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from New College of Florida's own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.
New College is Florida's public honors college, with under 900 students and B.A. programs only. The first two years require living on campus. Brazil is the largest source of international undergraduates (37 in 2025, per the Fact Book).
Admission
New College of Florida admits 73% of applicants, according to College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
The middle half of admitted students scored between 1120 and 1280 on the SAT and between 21 and 27 on the ACT. The average high-school GPA of admitted students is 3.98; the published minimum for international applicants is 3.0.
In practice, for a Brazilian applicant: a converted transcript near the average GPA and an SAT inside the range put you in the typical admitted group. Below that, admission is still possible, but merit aid gets harder.
Costs
Tuition at New College of Florida for international students is $32,471 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $47,005 — about R$ 242,546 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-09-15.
| Item | Annual estimate (USD) | Approx. in R$ |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (out of state) | $32,471 | R$ 167,550 |
| Housing and meals | $14,534 | R$ 74,995 |
| Estimated total | $47,005 | R$ 242,546 |
Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-09-15. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.
Scholarships
| Scholarship | Amount per year | Criteria | Renewable | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Scholar Award | $1,000 | International F-1 transfer students who are PTK Honor Society members at the time of admission; $1,000 annually; cannot be combined with the All-Florida Academic Team Award. | Yes | |
| NCF Transform Partner College Scholarship | $500 | International F-1 transfer students from Florida State Colleges that are NCF Transform partners; $500 annually. | Yes |
Merit scholarships: students have received between 0% and 35% of tuition (conservative estimate, 2026–2027; verified on 2026-09-15). Typical conditions: Merit: the Presidential Honors Scholarship is automatic for F-1 first-years with a strong profile, but no amount is published; then NCF Foundation awards by yearly application. The real amount depends on your profile — we never promise percentages.
Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.
International aid
Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.
Amount per year: Varies by scholarship — 'Varies based on each scholarship'
Requirements: Admitted students on an F-1 visa (freshmen, transfers and current students). Competitive selection on donor criteria: 'academic performance, extracurricular involvement, leadership qualities, financial need, and alignment with the goals of the scholarship'. Some require demonstrated need via FAFSA (which F-1 students cannot file).
International: Yes
Renewal: Annual re-application required: 'students must complete a yearly scholarship application to be considered for funding.' Can be cancelled if the student no longer meets the criteria (degree change, unsatisfactory progress, under 12 credits, etc.).
Deadline: Application open Jan 9 – Mar 31, 2026 (2026-27 cycle); award emails from mid-April.
How to apply: Separate form in the myNCF portal, 'Scholarship Manager' tile (admitted students with an @ncf.edu email only). One 'General Application' covers every scholarship the student is eligible for. Stacks with the admissions merit award ('Yes; if you apply by the deadline, you will automatically be considered for admissions merit awards. If you complete the Foundation Scholarship application, you will also be considered for Foundation awards'), capped at total cost of attendance.
Amount per year: $1,000 per year
Requirements: TRANSFER ONLY (does not apply to freshmen): international transfer students on an F-1 visa who are active PTK Honor Society members at the time of admission. Cannot be combined with the All-Florida Academic Team Award.
International: Yes
Renewal: General rule: 'All scholarships are subject to renewal requirements and to availability of funding.' Specific criteria (GPA/credits) not published.
Deadline: Not stated
How to apply: Not stated (the other automatic awards are considered at admission).
Amount per year: $500 per year
Requirements: TRANSFER ONLY (does not apply to freshmen): international transfer students on an F-1 visa coming from NCF Transform partner Florida State Colleges.
International: Yes
Renewal: General rule: 'All scholarships are subject to renewal requirements and to availability of funding.' Specific criteria (GPA/credits) not published.
Deadline: Not stated
How to apply: Not stated
No. Need-based aid and the full-tuition coverage for Pell students require the FAFSA, open only to citizens and permanent residents. For international students the route is the Presidential Honors award (automatic) and NCF Foundation scholarships. Health insurance is mandatory, but NCF sells no plan and publishes no price.
Scores
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1120 – 1280 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 21 – 27 |
| Average GPA of admitted students | 3.98 |
| Minimum GPA | 3.0 |
| Minimum TOEFL (1–6 band scale, in force since 21 January 2026) | 4 · tests taken before 21 January 2026: 83 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.0 |
| SAT/ACT policy | SAT or ACT required |
Duolingo and PTE are not accepted; TOEFL or IELTS only
The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.
Tests
U.S. News publishes the range covering the middle half of admitted students, not an average. Use the range as a gauge of competitiveness (2024 data).
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1060 – 1246 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 21 – 27 |
| Average high-school GPA | 3.8 |
| Acceptance rate |
Source: U.S. News & World Report
| Test | Minimum score | Note |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT | Not published for freshmen; the international-transfer page requires 83 (exams before 21 Jan 2026) or 4 on the new 1–6 scale (exams on/after 21 Jan 2026) | The international-freshman page lists only 'TOEFL or IELTS' under 'Steps to apply', with no minimum. The 2025-26 catalog says 'English Proficiency: Requirements vary by entry level. Visit ncf.edu/admissions/international-students for accepted tests and minimum scores' — but that page (checked 2026-09-15) shows no tests or scores. The only undergraduate minimums published on ncf.edu are on the transfer page: 'For exams taken before January 21, 2026: We require a minimum TOEFL iBT score of 83. For exams taken on or after January 21, 2026: We require a minimum TOEFL iBT score of 4.' Confirm with admissions@ncf.edu whether it applies to freshmen. |
| IELTS Academic | Not published for freshmen; international-transfer page: 6.0 | Freshmen: 'TOEFL or IELTS' with no score. Transfer: 'IELTS minimum score: 6.0'. No band-minimum published. |
| TOEFL Essentials | Not listed | Not mentioned on any ncf.edu undergraduate admissions page checked (international freshman, international transfer, catalog). |
| Duolingo English Test | Not listed | Not mentioned on any ncf.edu undergraduate admissions page checked. |
| PTE Academic | Not listed | Not mentioned on any ncf.edu undergraduate admissions page checked. |
| Cambridge English (B2 First / C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency) | Not listed | No mention of Cambridge or the Cambridge English Scale on the pages checked. |
| iTEP | Not listed | Not mentioned on the pages checked. |
| ELS (level 112) | Not listed | Not mentioned on the pages checked. |
| SAT/ACT waiver (English section) | Not listed | No ncf.edu page offers a TOEFL/IELTS waiver based on SAT EBRW or ACT English. U.S. News lists 'TOEFL accepted instead of SAT or ACT: No' (the reverse is not offered either). |
| English-medium school / exempt-country waiver | Published only on the transfer page: 2+ years of continuous education in an English-speaking country, or a country on the exempt list (Brazil is not on it) | Transfer: 'Students are eligible to request that they be considered to have their English Language Proficiency Test requirement waived if they have completed 2+ years of continuous education in the United States of America, Canada, England, or another country where English is the primary language of education.' and 'Waived if your country is on the Countries Exempt from English Proficiency list' (27 countries; Brazil not listed). The international-freshman page mentions no waiver at all. |
Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.
SAT, ACT or CLT is required for international first-years and cannot be waived; the only exception is a completed A.A. from a Florida public college. Superscoring: not stated. English: TOEFL iBT 83 (4 on the new scale) or IELTS 6.0, as published on the transfer page; the first-year page requires 'TOEFL or IELTS' with no score. Duolingo and PTE are not accepted.
Majors
There are 49 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.
The 17 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.
49 majors
No major matches that name. Try a broader word, or the degree code.
Graduate
Close to 8% of New College of Florida's graduate students come from outside the United States. It is a far more international room than the undergraduate one, and that changes the experience: almost everyone beside you also arrived recently.
There are 3 programs open to international students, 2 of them STEM-designated.
| Program | STEM | GRE or GMAT required | Intake |
|---|---|---|---|
| Applied Data Science Graduate Program1 | |||
| Master of Science in Applied Data Science | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Master of Education in Educational Leadership1 | |||
| Master of Education in Educational Leadership | No | FSpSu | |
| Master's in Marine Mammal Science1 | |||
| Master of Science in Marine Mammal Science | STEM | — | FSpSu |
No program matches those filters. Clear one of them.
The STEM designation matters more at master's level than at undergraduate. It allows a request for 24 extra months of OPT on top of the initial 12, which means up to three years working in the United States off a one- or two-year degree.
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| Minimum TOEFL (1–6 band scale, in force since 21 January 2026) | 4 · tests taken before 21 January 2026: 83 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.5 |
| Deposit after admission | $200 |
| Minimum full-time load | 9 credit hours per semester |
2 of the programs above waive the GRE and GMAT. The rest require the test, and a waiver is only considered for applicants holding a business degree from an AACSB-accredited institution. Work experience does not count towards a waiver.
Beyond a transcript from every institution you attended, with certified translation, the application asks for a personal statement in English, a professional resume and two reference forms from people who can speak to your academic and professional background. A course-by-course credential evaluation is strongly recommended.
| Intake | Application complete by |
|---|---|
| Fall intake | April 1, 2027 (final for international applicants; regular February 1) |
| Spring intake | No spring entry: all three master's programs admit in the fall only |
Deadlines
| Intake | Application deadline | Scholarship deadline |
|---|---|---|
| Fall intake | April 1, 2027 (final deadline for international applicants; priority November 1, 2026) | March 31, 2027 (NCF Foundation; Presidential Honors is automatic at admission) |
| Spring intake | November 1, 2026 |
Documents
The order below is the order in which New College of Florida asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.
Campus




First-year students are required to live on campus.


City
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| One-bedroom rent off campus | $1,690 / month |
| Public transport | Breeze Transit buses (Sarasota County): standard routes run 5am-11pm Mon-Sat and 6am-10pm Sun; fare paid on every boarding by cash, ticket, 30-day pass or the Token Transit app (since Apr 25, 2026); Wi-Fi and a two-bike rack on every bus; Route 99 (Mon-Sat) follows U.S. 41, the highway the campus sits on. Breeze OnDemand shared rides cover areas off the routes. The network carried 2.3 million rides in 2025. A car is still the norm. |
| Nearest airport | Sarasota-Bradenton International (SRQ) is next door to campus: 2 km / 6 min by car (NCF bought 12 acres of airport land in 1961). Tampa International (TPA), the hub with the most international flights, is 84 km / ~75 min away. |
| Distance to Orlando | 200 km |
| Distance to Miami | 380 km |
| Climate | Humid subtropical climate (Koppen Cfa): mild winters with highs of 72-77 °F and lows of 52-55 °F (Jan), hot humid summers with highs of 90-92 °F and lows of 74-75 °F (Jun-Sep) and daily thundershowers; hurricane season June-November. |


F-1 students may work on campus up to 20 hours/week while school is in session (more during official breaks) with DSO approval and a Social Security Number; at NCF, F-1 students are not eligible for Federal Work-Study positions (citizens/residents only), only regular student jobs at minimum wage.
Careers
The median salary of graduates from this university is $43,848 a year, according to the College Scorecard, a US government public database.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.
CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.
OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.
STEM-designated programs allow a request for a 24-month extension of OPT — up to 36 months of authorised work in total after graduation.
Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-09-15. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.
Compare
The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.
| University | Total cost per year | Average SAT | Minimum TOEFL |
|---|---|---|---|
| New College of Florida (this page) | $47,005 | 1200 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| Florida Gulf Coast University | $44,141 | 1120 | 79 |
| Florida State University | $42,659 | 1300 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| The University of Tampa | $50,124 | 1180 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
FAQ
The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $47,005 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.
Not always for admission, but almost always for merit scholarships. The admitted average is around 1200. Without an SAT score you can be admitted and pay full price; with a competitive score, the same university can cost much less.
The ENEM plays no part. The university converts the transcript grades to the American 0–4 GPA scale from a sworn translation. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The minimum required is 3.0.
The fall entry deadline is April 1, 2027 (final deadline for international applicants; priority November 1, 2026), and spring entry is November 1, 2026. Start 10 to 12 months ahead: transcript translation, English score and proof of funds are the steps that delay applications most.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.
New College of Florida admits 73% of applicants. The published minimum GPA for international applicants is 3.0 on the American 0–4 scale — a Brazilian transcript is converted to that scale from a sworn translation. The SAT range and average GPA of admitted students, where the university publishes them, are in the Admission section of this page. Below those marks admission is still possible; what gets harder is merit aid.
$32,471 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $47,005 — about R$ 242,546 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.
On estimated total cost per year, New College of Florida comes to $47,005 and Florida Gulf Coast University to $44,141. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.
Sources
Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the Common Data Set and the official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.
Data verified on 2026-09-15.
Sources: College Scorecard · Common Data Set · College Navigator · Official university site
Next steps
We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.