Guide · Scholarships
The scholarship ranges students have already received at each Florida university, the named scholarships each one publishes with amounts, deadlines and whether international students can apply — and what changed when the FBLI waiver ended.
Reply within one business day. No obligation.
The basics
At a US university, a scholarship for an international student is almost always a merit scholarship: a discount on tuition granted by the university itself, based on your high-school record converted to a GPA, the rigour of your courses and your SAT or ACT score. It renews each year as long as you keep the minimum GPA, and it is decided together with admission — sometimes automatically, sometimes with its own deadline.
What rarely exists for international students is need-based aid: most of it is federal or state money reserved for US citizens and residents. Each university page says what applies to international students; where the official page does not say, we write "not stated" — ask before you count on it.
The FBLI waiver, which let up to 25 Brazilian students a year pay in-state tuition at Florida's public universities, ended on July 1, 2026 under Florida law HB 905, for new and current recipients alike. What changed and what replaces it.



Merit scholarships
The ranges below are what students have already received, checked on each university's official pages — not a promise. The widest range is at The University of Tampa (20% to 45% of tuition). Where the university publishes dollar amounts, the next column shows the floor and ceiling per year. The last column leads to the 111 named scholarships the universities publish — 55 of them explicitly open to international students — with requirements and deadlines.
| University | Range already awarded | Amount per year (when published) | Tuition/year | Named scholarships |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The University of Tampa (UT) | 20% to 45% of tuition | $10,000 to $18,000 | $33,724 | 7 awards |
| Florida Institute of Technology (Florida Tech) | 25% to 45% of tuition | — | $49,080 | 9 awards |
| University of Miami (UM) | 20% to 45% of tuition | — | $66,312 | 7 awards |
| Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (ERAU) | 20% to 40% of tuition | — | $47,814 | 5 awards |
| New College of Florida | 0% to 35% of tuition | — | $32,471 | 3 awards |
| Atlantis University | 10% to 30% of tuition | — | $12,820 | 7 awards |
| University of South Florida (USF) | 5% to 30% of tuition | $5,000 to $11,000 | $17,324 | 7 awards |
| Florida Atlantic University (FAU) | 0% to 30% of tuition | — | $17,324 | 8 awards |
| Florida International University (FIU) | 5% to 30% of tuition | — | $18,963 | 6 awards |
| University of Central Florida (UCF) | 5% to 30% of tuition | — | $22,467 | 8 awards |
| Florida Polytechnic University | 0% to 30% of tuition | $1,000 to $4,940 | $23,300 | 6 awards |
| University of West Florida (UWF) | 0% to 25% of tuition | $2,000 to $8,000 | $16,968 | 4 awards |
| FAMU (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University) | 0% to 25% of tuition | — | $17,725 | 2 awards |
| University of North Florida (UNF) | 0% to 25% of tuition | $6,000 to $14,000 | $22,954 | 10 awards |
| Florida State University (FSU) | 0% to 25% of tuition | $18,452 to $28,952 | $25,702 | 8 awards |
| Florida Gulf Coast University (FGCU) | 0% to 25% of tuition | — | $28,019 | 2 awards |
| University of Florida (UF) | 0% to 20% of tuition | $5,000 to $20,000 | $34,620 | 7 awards |
| Valencia College | 0% to 10% of tuition | $500 to $2,500 | $10,464 | 4 awards |
Where you land inside the range depends on your profile. An advisor reviews your transcript and scores and tells you what is realistic before you pay application fees.
Named scholarships
Each table shows whether the university says international students can apply: 55 say yes, the rest say no or do not state it. "Not stated" is worth asking about before you count on the award.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| First Coast Waiver (partial out-of-state tuition waiver, first-years) | about $14,000/yr (estimated, 30 credits); the Residency Waivers page lists $13,718, i.e. 100% of the out-of-state tuition portion | Yes | No form; priority for students admitted by January 15 (programs.html) — reduced-tuition.html says April 15 for freshmen. |
| Atlantic Waiver (partial out-of-state tuition waiver, first-years) | $10,000/yr (30 credits) | Yes | No form; priority for students admitted by January 15 (programs.html) / April 15 (reduced-tuition.html). |
| Sunshine Waiver (partial out-of-state tuition waiver, first-years) | $6,000/yr (30 credits) | Yes | No form; priority for students admitted by January 15 (programs.html) / April 15 (reduced-tuition.html). |
| International Student Admissions (ISA) Scholarship — International Center | Up to $12,000/yr in out-of-state tuition waivers (not a cash award) | Yes | Fall: opens May 1, deadline July 1; Spring: Sept 1 – Nov 1; Summer: Feb 1 – April 1. |
| Non-Florida Tuition Waiver — International Center (only veteranos F-1) | Part or all of out-of-state tuition and fees; up to 12 undergraduate credits per semester; depends on annual funding | Yes | July 1 (Fall), November 1 (Spring), April 1 (Summer, limited). |
| Transfer Tuition Waivers (non-resident transfers) | $6,000 / $8,000 / $10,000 per year by transfer GPA | Yes | No form; priority for students admitted by April 15. |
| National Merit Scholarship (Finalists) | Full cost of attendance: up to $39,197/yr for non-Florida residents ($156,788 over four years) | Not stated | May 1, 2027 (NMSC). |
| Dr. Mauricio Gonzalez International Student Scholarship (Student Government) | Amount not published | Yes | Not published; contact Student Government. |
| OAS Rowe Fund (external interest-free loan) | Up to US$15,000, interest-free loan | Yes | Not published by UNF. |
| Scholarship Universe (scholarship platform) | Varies | Not stated | Varies. |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: University of North Florida guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Florida Tech International Scholarship | Partial tuition scholarship; amount not published | Yes | No separate deadline: 'Determined at the time of admission'. Rolling admission; I-20 deadline July 1 (fall) and November 1 (spring). 'Early submission is encouraged.' |
| Florida Tech Merit Scholarship | not published | Not stated | 'Determined at the time of admission'; rolling. |
| Florida Tech NCSS Scholarship | not published | Yes | not stated |
| Florida Tech Ethics Competition Scholarships (Business Ethics Competition) | $12,000 guaranteed minimum annual aid offer; 1st-4th place get an additional grant of up to $4,000 | Not stated | not stated (tied to the competition date) |
| Florida Tech Scouting Grant | $2,500 per year | Yes | With the application (certificate attached). |
| Florida Tech Robotics Grant | $2,500 per year | Yes | With the application (advisor letter attached). |
| Florida Tech Legacy Grant | $2,500 per year | Yes | not stated |
| Florida Tech Family Grant | $2,500 per year | Yes | not stated |
| Florida Tech Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship (PTK) — transfer students only | $2,500 per year | Yes | With the transfer application. |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: Florida Institute of Technology guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| President's International Scholarship | $6,000 per year (up to 4 years for freshmen = $24,000) | Yes | Fall: January 15 (priority), March 15 (regular). Spring: August 15 (priority), October 15 (regular). |
| Florida Linkage Institutes Tuition Waiver (Brasil: Florida-Brazil Linkage Institute via UF / Miami Dade College) | Out-of-state tuition portion waived (student pays the resident rate); up to 25 FTE students per institute per year | No | Not applicable (program ended) |
| Spirit of Atlantic / Hoot Scholarship (merit, non-Florida resident) | $1,000 to $10,000 per year for 4 years ($4,000 to $40,000 total; the $40,000/$32,000 tiers include the $6,815/yr Hoot Scholarship) | No | January 15 (complete application) |
| Wilkes Honors College Scholarship / Hoot Scholarship (non-resident) | $1,000 to $10,000 per year for 4 years | No | Students admitted by January 15 are eligible for the highest awards |
| Benaquisto Scholarship (National Merit Finalists) | Full cost of attendance (fall and spring) for up to 4 years | Not stated | May 1 (first-choice designation) |
| FAU Foundation Scholarships (Scholarship Universe) | Varies by award | Not stated | Varies by award |
| Dr. Alejandra Parra Higher Education Scholarship (external — FAIE / Study Florida) | $2,000 (two awards per year) | Yes | See studyflorida.net |
| Western Union Global Scholarship Program (external — IIE) | Not stated on the FAU page | Yes | Not stated |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: Florida Atlantic University guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pegasus Gold, Silver and Bronze Scholarships (Freshman Pegasus Awards) | UCF does not publish per-tier amounts. The Tuition & Aid page says merit scholarships for incoming FTIC students are distributed over four years and range from $6,000 to $30,000 for Florida residents and up to $50,400 for non-Florida residents. Non-residents receive the award as a waiver of the out-of-state tuition portion; it does not pay resident tuition or other fees. | Not stated | Early Action: application by Oct. 15 and materials by Nov. 15 (summer/fall entry). 'Scholarship funding for FTIC students is usually exhausted by mid-January'. |
| Pegasus Scholarship Waiver / Knights Achievement Scholarship Waiver | Waiver of the out-of-state tuition portion, 'up to the full amount offered by Undergraduate Admissions as long as it does not exceed the non-resident fee amount'. The per-semester maximum is stated in the award letter. | Not stated | Same Early Action deadlines (Oct. 15 and Nov. 15). |
| Provost Scholarship (Freshman Provost Award) | Amount not published. | No | Early Action (Oct. 15 and Nov. 15). |
| National Merit Scholarship (UCF Scholars Program) | Amount not published on the page; cannot exceed Cost of Attendance when combined with other resources. | Not stated | Not stated; contact scholarsprogram@ucf.edu. |
| Florida Linkage Institutes tuition waiver (Florida-Brazil Institute) — ended | Waiver of the out-of-state tuition portion (in-state rate). ENDED: Florida HB 905 (2026, Chapter 2026-66) repealed the in-state residency exemption effective July 1, 2026. | No | Not applicable. |
| UCF Global Hardship Tuition Waiver | Amount not published; applied toward the out-of-state portion of tuition; 'it is not possible to receive full tuition coverage'. Generally received only once. | Yes | Notified by Knights email about one month before fall and spring semesters. |
| UCF Global Pathway Program scholarship (Latin America and Caribbean) | 'Potential 1-year scholarship'; amount not published. | Yes | Not stated. |
| Access 2 Opportunities (A2O) — college and departmental scholarships | Varies; 'over 200 scholarships' / 'hundreds of scholarships offered by the university'. | Not stated | 'The peak time to apply for scholarships is January through May for the upcoming school year.' |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: University of Central Florida guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| University Out-of-State Tuition Waiver (Merit) — 100% | 100% waiver of the out-of-state portion of tuition: ~US$609 per credit hour, US$18,452 per year (30 credits), US$73,808 over four years (scholarships page); the renewal page says US$18,270/year and US$73,080 total. Prorated by enrollment; does not cover fees. | Yes | No separate deadline; the page says apply for admission by December 1 (Regular Decision). Merit priority goes to ED/EA, which international applicants cannot use. |
| University Out-of-State Tuition Waiver (Talent) — 50% | 50% waiver of the out-of-state tuition portion: ~US$305 per credit hour, US$9,150 per year, US$36,660 over four years. | Not stated | Apply for admission by December 1. |
| Mores Scholarship | US$12,000 total, US$1,500 per semester over eight semesters. | Not stated | No separate deadline; apply early (Regular Decision December 1). |
| IB Diploma Scholarship | US$8,000 total, US$1,000 per semester over eight semesters. | Not stated | Apply for admission by December 1. |
| Sunshine Award | US$4,000 total, US$500 per semester over eight semesters. | Not stated | Apply for admission by December 1. |
| Presidential Scholars Program and Scholarship | US$42,000 over four years (US$14,000 Presidential + US$16,000 Vires + US$12,000 enrichment) plus an out-of-state tuition waiver valued at US$73,808 (scholarships page) / US$73,080 (renewal page). | Not stated | FSU application and Honors/Presidential essay by Dec. 1, 2026, 11:59 p.m. EST; semi-finalists notified Feb. 18, 2027; videos due Feb. 28, 2027. |
| Stamps Scholars Program and Scholarship | Up to the full estimated cost of attendance for four years, including an out-of-state tuition waiver, plus US$20,000 in enrichment funding. Five awards per year. | Not stated | Same timeline as Presidential Scholars (Dec. 1, 2026). |
| CGE International Undergraduate Tuition Waivers (a partir do 2º semestre) | Waiver of the out-of-state portion for 1 to 12 credit hours per semester according to FSU GPA (minimum 1 credit at GPA 3.5 for summer / 3.7 for fall and spring; maximum 10-12 credits at GPA 4.0). Student still pays the in-state portion and fees. | Yes | Spring 2026: Oct. 10 to Dec. 5, 5 p.m. Summer and Fall 2026: March 2 to May 4, 5 p.m. (separate applications). |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: Florida State University guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| International Student Scholarship | $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships) | Yes | Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted. |
| Exceptional High School Students Scholarship | $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships) | Not stated | Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted. |
| Atlantis University Academic Scholarship | $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships) | Not stated | Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted. |
| Atlantis University Financial Hardship Scholarship | $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships) | Not stated | Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted. |
| Atlantis University Athletic Scholarship | $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships) | Not stated | Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted. |
| Exceptional Professional Scholarship | $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships) | Not stated | Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted. |
| Atlantis University Returning Graduate or Continuing Student Scholarship | $500 to $5,000 per semester, or total program costs (single published range for all scholarships) | Not stated | Not published; first-come/first-served until the annual budget is exhausted. |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: Atlantis University guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| USF Green & Gold Presidential Waiver | ~$44,000 total (up to $11,000 per year), as a partial out-of-state tuition waiver | Yes | January 15, 2027 (Summer/Fall 2027) — complete application: form, fee, official SAT/ACT/CLT scores and transcripts |
| USF Green & Gold Directors Waiver | ~$36,000 total (up to $9,000 per year), partial out-of-state tuition waiver | Yes | January 15, 2027 |
| USF Green & Gold Scholars Waiver | ~$20,000 total (up to $5,000 per year), partial out-of-state tuition waiver | Yes | January 15, 2027 |
| USF Green & Gold Talent Waiver | not stated | Not stated | not stated |
| Judy Genshaft Honors College Scholarship | $2,000 total in 3 installments (600 + 600 + 800), non-renewable | Not stated | Honors FTIC: Early Action Nov 2, 2026, Standard Dec 16, 2026, Final Mar 1, 2027. 2026-27 payout forms: Oct 23, 2026, Dec 4, 2026, Jul 23, 2027. |
| Genspiration Global Explorers (GGE) Scholarship — Honors College | $10,000 (one-time) toward an approved academic travel experience (study abroad, conference, internship, research) | Not stated | Latest published cycle (entry 2026): Early Action Nov 1, 2025, Standard Jan 1, 2026, Final Mar 1, 2026. 2027 dates not yet posted. |
| USF Foundation Scholarships / AwardSpring (departmental and donor awards) | Varies; the USF Foundation awards 'over $7 million in privately funded scholarships each year' | Not stated | AwardSpring reopens December 2026 for the 2027-28 year. |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: University of South Florida guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship (UTampa Presidential Merit Scholarship) | $10,000 to $18,000 per year | Yes | No separate deadline; decided with admission. Application deadlines: Early Decision Nov. 1, Early Action Nov. 15, Regular Decision Jan. 15; rolling after that. Awarded 'on a funds-available basis'. |
| Transfer Scholarship (UTampa Transfer Merit Scholarship) | $6,000 to $9,000 per year | Yes | No separate deadline; transfer applications are reviewed on a rolling basis. |
| Departmental Scholarships (Music; Musical Theatre, Theatre and Dance; Art; English and Writing; Film, Animation and New Media; Bonner Leaders; President's Leadership Fellows; DoD Cybersecurity) | About $500 to $2,500 per academic year | Not stated | Varies by department; PLF Feb. 15. |
| UTampa International Freshman Merit Scholarship / International Transfer Merit Scholarship (names listed only on the renewal page) | not published | Yes | not stated |
| UTampa International Baccalaureate Scholarship | not currently published (2019-2020 catalog: $1,000 per year) | Not stated | not stated |
| Honors Program (not an entry scholarship) | No annual entry scholarship; application-based funds: Timothy M. Smith Inspiration Through Exploration Award ($2,500 for summer international travel), NCHC/FCHC conference costs covered, Honors education-abroad scholarships and an Oxford semester | Not stated | Automatic invitation at admission; full-enrollment application by Oct. 15 of the first semester. |
| External scholarships listed by UT that are open to international students | varies | Yes | varies |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: The University of Tampa guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Out-of-State Tuition Waiver / Tuition Scholarship — Alumni, Sunshine, Gator Nation | Alumni: up to $8,000/yr (admissions.ufl.edu) or up to $10,000/yr (sfa.ufl.edu); Sunshine: up to $16,000/yr; Gator Nation: $20,000/yr (4-year totals 32,000/40,000, 64,000, 80,000) | Yes | Apply by the 1 November priority deadline (Early Action); notified by mid-March |
| UF Distinguished Scholar Tuition Scholarship | up to $8,000, $6,000 or $4,000 per year (4-year totals $32,000, $24,000, $16,000) | Not stated | Not stated (presumably the same 1 Nov priority deadline) |
| Presidential / Presidential Gold / Presidential Platinum Scholarship | $5,000 / $8,000 / $10,000 per year ($20,000 / $32,000 / $40,000 over 4 years) | Not stated | Apply by 1 November; notified by mid-March |
| Admissions Honors Scholarship (University Research Scholars Program) | $2,000 residential tuition waiver ($500 waived each fall and spring term) | Yes | No separate application |
| John V. Lombardi Scholarship | Four-year scholarship plus four fully funded summer enrichment experiences (dollar value not published) | Not stated | Apply ED (15 Oct) or EA (1 Nov) to Honors; invited afterwards |
| Stamps Scholarship (Stamps Scholars Program) | Four-year scholarship with summer experiences; SFA page cites a $6,000 annual stipend and four funded summer trips | Not stated | ED 15 Oct or EA 1 Nov |
| Florida Linkage Institutes (ended) — out-of-state tuition waiver (ENCERRADA) | Was in-state classification for tuition (up to 25 FTE per country). ENDED: HB 905 (Foreign Interference Restriction Act), signed 8 May 2026, shut the Linkage Institutes down. | No | n/a |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: University of Florida guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| President's Scholarship | Up to $30,000 annually | Yes | Completed-application deadline of the chosen admission plan (any plan). |
| Canes Achievement Award | Up to $20,000 annually | Yes | Completed-application deadline of the chosen admission plan. |
| Stamps Scholarship | Full cost of attendance (tuition and fees, on-campus housing, meal plan, health insurance, textbooks, laptop allowance) plus $12,000 enrichment fund | Not stated | November 1 (EDI and EA). |
| Isaac Bashevis Singer Scholarship | Full cost of tuition | Not stated | November 1 (EDI and EA). |
| Ronald A. Hammond Scholarship | Full cost of tuition | No | November 1 (EDI and EA). |
| Marta S. and L. Austin Weeks Endowed Scholarship | Full cost of tuition | No | November 1 (EDI and EA). |
| George W. Jenkins Scholarship | Full cost of attendance plus potential stipend for books, transportation and personal expenses | No | Nov 1 (application); Nov 13 (nomination); Dec 1 (statement); announced by Apr 1. |
UM publishes no international-only scholarship. The first-year and additional-resources pages (Stamps Ensemble/Frost, National Merit, Venture Miami, athletics) list no international-specific award.
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: University of Miami guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Presidential Merit Scholarship (non-Florida resident) | Out-of-state merit-based tuition reduction, estimated value $12,000 per year for 30 credits; disbursed as a waiver/scholarship that only offsets the out-of-state portion of tuition | Yes | 16 December 2026 (non-Florida residents, Early Fall/Fall 2027); decisions released in January. Recommended last test dates: ACT 17 Oct 2026, CLT 17 Sep 2026, SAT 3 Oct 2026. |
| Gold and Blue Scholarship (non-resident) | $4,000 to $24,000 total, distributed over four years (per-year amount not published; renewal-page example: annual offer/30 × enrolled credits) | Yes | 16 December 2026 (non-Florida residents). |
| FIU National Merit Finalist (non-resident) | 100% undergraduate tuition and fees plus a book stipend; 100% on-campus housing with meal plan | Not stated | 1 May 2027. |
| Raise.Me Micro-Scholarships | Up to $2,500 per academic year | No | 2 November 2026 (application) / 1 December (profile). |
| Prospanica SFL Honors College Award | 1st place $3,000; 2nd $1,500; 3rd $500 | Yes | Not stated on the page. |
| Florida-Brazil Linkage Institute (FBLI) — ended | Program ended on July 1, 2026 | No | Not applicable |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: Florida International University guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Presidential Scholarship | $4,940 ('In-State and International Amount'; one-time per the international page). Domestic out-of-state: $23,300. | Yes | May 1 |
| Provost Scholarship | $3,000 ('In-State and International Amount'; one-time per the international page). Domestic out-of-state: $12,500. | Yes | May 1 |
| Phoenix Scholarship | $2,500 ('In-State and International Amount'; one-time per the international page). Domestic out-of-state: $10,000. | Yes | May 1 |
| Solaris Scholarship | $1,500 ('In-State and International Amount'; one-time per the international page). Domestic out-of-state: $5,000. | Yes | May 1 |
| Merit Scholarship | $1,000 ('In-State and International Amount'; one-time per the international page). Domestic out-of-state: $2,500. | Yes | May 1 |
| National Merit Finalist Scholarship | $500 per academic year | Not stated | March 1 |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: Florida Polytechnic University guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Embry-Riddle Scholarship (international students) | Amount not published ('The award amount can be significant if the applicant performs well on either of these examinations') | Yes | No separate deadline. FAQ: 'Scholarships and housing are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis'; early application strongly encouraged. Daytona Beach international deadlines: fall May 1, spring Oct 1, summer Mar 1. |
| Children of Alumni Legacy Grant | US$1,500 per year | Yes | not stated |
| Family Grant | US$2,200 per child simultaneously enrolled | Yes | not stated |
| Boeing Scholars Program | US$7,500/year for two years (program page); the scholarships page says 'range from $5,000 to $7,500 per year for two years' | Not stated | March 15 of the enrollment year; selected 'in early spring' |
| Donor Scholarships (endowed and term) | US$500 to US$20,000 (Daytona Beach tab) | Not stated | 'throughout the year through ERNIE'; paid in the fall and spring of the following academic year |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Valencia College Global Achievers Award (first time in college) | $500 to $2,500, one time (applied to first-term tuition and fees) | Yes | Published: Spring 2026 — Nov 15, 2025 (notified Dec 1, 2025); Summer 2026 — Apr 3, 2026 (notified Apr 17, 2026); Fall 2026 — Jul 19, 2026 (notified Jul 31, 2026). All past as of Sep 15, 2026; the Spring 2027 deadline was not yet posted. |
| Valencia College Global Achievers Transfer Award | $500 to $1,000, one time (first term) | Yes | Same deadlines as the Global Achievers Award (Spring 2026: Nov 15, 2025; Summer 2026: Apr 3, 2026; Fall 2026: Jul 19, 2026). |
| Valencia College Global Achievers Intensive English Transfer Award | $500 to $1,000, one time (first term) | Yes | Same deadlines (Spring 2026: Nov 15, 2025; Summer 2026: Apr 3, 2026; Fall 2026: Jul 19, 2026). |
| Valencia College Foundation Scholarships | Varies by scholarship; the Foundation publishes no general amounts. Spring 2027 cycle: 165 scholarships offered. Published example: Mayor Richard T. Crotty Transfer to UCF Scholarship — two awards of $7,150 each (Spring 2027); the catalog says that award 'typically' reaches 'up to $10,000'. | Yes | Spring 2027: Oct 18, 2026 (Foundation). Crotty Transfer to UCF Spring 2027: Oct 25, 2026. The Financial Aid page still shows the Spring 2026 cycle (extended to Nov 7, 2025, awards Dec 18, 2025). |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: Valencia College guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| Admissions Academic Merit Scholarship (out-of-state tier) | $8,000/yr ($32,000 over 4 years) with 4.00+ GPA and SAT 1400+ or ACT 31+ or CLT 101+; $6,000/yr ($24,000) with 3.80-3.99 GPA and SAT 1260-1390 or ACT 27-30 or CLT 89-100; $2,000/yr ($8,000) with 3.70-3.79 GPA and SAT 1160-1250 or ACT 24-26 or CLT 79-88 | Not stated | Dec. 1, 2026 (Scholarship Priority Consideration Deadline for Summer/Fall 2027); awards notified in December. |
| National Merit Finalist Scholarship (full ride) | Full tuition and mandatory fees + on-campus housing + meal plan + $800 per-semester textbook stipend + a one-time paid research or study-abroad experience valued at up to $1,500 (UWF values the package at '$50,000+') | Not stated | No priority deadline; send the Finalist letter after admission. |
| Admissions Foundation Scholarships | Amounts vary; not published per award on the admissions page | Not stated | June 1, 2027 (Summer/Fall entrants only). |
| External scholarships (UWF list) | Varies by program; relevant to Brazilians: Leo S. Rowe Pan American Fund (OAS interest-free loan, Latin America/Caribbean), OAS scholarships (Latin America/Caribbean), BMI Student Composer Awards (Western Hemisphere, music), Microsoft Scholarships (any country, undergraduate) | Yes | Program-specific. |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: University of West Florida guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| NCF Foundation Scholarships | Varies by scholarship — 'Varies based on each scholarship' | Yes | Application open Jan 9 – Mar 31, 2026 (2026-27 cycle); award emails from mid-April. |
| Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Scholar Award | $1,000 per year | Yes | Not stated |
| NCF Transform Partner College Scholarship | $500 per year | Yes | Not stated |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: New College of Florida guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| FAMU Foundation Scholarships (AcademicWorks portal) | Varies by opportunity; portal examples on 2026-09-15: $1,000 (College of Law Urban Development & Land Use; Friends of FAMU – Freshman Class of 1999), $4,000 (Engineering Faculty and Staff Endowment), $5,000 (Google Scholarship), 'Varies' (Washington DC Metro Endowed). | Yes | Per opportunity (e.g., September 16 and 17, 2026 for the two open on 2026-09-15). |
| Army ROTC / Naval ROTC Room and Board Scholarships | Room and board (per the award name); amount not published. | Not stated | Not published. |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: FAMU (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University) guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| FGCU Foundation Scholarships | Varies by fund; individual amounts not published (the Foundation awarded 'over $6 million' last year) | Yes | Priority March 1; final deadline May 1 (2026-2027: 'Final Deadline Extended'). The international FAQ still says 'open annually between October 1st and March 1st' with January 1 priority — outdated dates |
| Out-of-State Tuition Waiver (Undergraduate Admissions) | Covers the out-of-state/in-state tuition difference, 9 credits per semester, Fall and Spring; page lists $10,500/year up to 2 years in the transfer table | Not stated | Fall: opens January 6, closes April 1; Spring: opens September 1, closes October 1 |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: Florida Gulf Coast University guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
| Scholarship | Amount | Open to international students | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|
| IRM's Scholar Award (Honors College) | Waiver of tuition and fees for up to 30 credits per academic year (including summer) plus a book stipend, up to the credits required for the Honors Associate of Arts. | Not stated | Applications March 1 to June 1; interviews in summer; coverage starts in Fall. |
Requirements, renewal rules and how to apply: Broward College guide. Source: the university's official scholarship pages, cited on that guide with the date we read them.
Criteria
GPA. Your high-school record converted to the 0–4 scale from a sworn translation. Brazilian averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The average GPA of admitted students and any published minimum are in the Admission section of each university guide.
SAT or ACT. 6 of the 19 universities are test-optional for admission — but nearly all use the score for scholarships. Without a score you can be admitted and pay full price; with a score inside the admitted range, the same university can cost much less. Several superscore: they combine your best section scores across all test dates.
Deadline. Some scholarships are automatic at admission; others have their own date, usually earlier than the application deadline. Missing the scholarship deadline does not block admission — it blocks the discount.
Deadlines
These are the dates the universities publish for the August 2027 (Fall) cycle, where most merit scholarships sit. If you start in January — Spring 2027, with deadlines between October and November 2026 at several universities, or Spring 2028 — you compete for the automatic scholarships at admission; scholarships with their own deadline are usually tied to the August cycle.
| University | Merit scholarship deadline (August 2027 cycle) |
|---|---|
| Atlantis University | No deadline: scholarships are awarded first come, first served until the budget runs out; ask the Financial Assistance Department for the form when applying |
| University of South Florida (USF) | January 15, 2027 (completed application) |
| University of West Florida (UWF) | December 1, 2026 (priority) |
| Florida Atlantic University (FAU) | January 15, 2027 (priority); March 15, 2027 (regular) |
| Florida International University (FIU) | December 16, 2026 (completed application) |
| University of Central Florida (UCF) | October 15, 2026 (Early Action; materials by November 15) |
| University of North Florida (UNF) | January 15, 2027 (priority; automatic with the application) |
| Florida Polytechnic University | May 1, 2027 (priority) |
| Florida State University (FSU) | December 1, 2026 (Regular Decision; no SAT/ACT/CLT score, no merit scholarship) |
| Florida Gulf Coast University (FGCU) | January 1, 2027 (priority) |
| New College of Florida | March 31, 2027 (NCF Foundation; Presidential Honors is automatic at admission) |
| The University of Tampa (UT) | automatic with the application |
| University of Florida (UF) | November 1, 2026 (Early Action; priority date for merit scholarships) |
| Florida Institute of Technology (Florida Tech) | No separate deadline: merit scholarships are decided automatically at admission (rolling) |
| Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (ERAU) | Automatic at admission (Boeing Scholars: March 15, 2027) |
| University of Miami (UM) | November 1, 2026 for the premier scholarships (Early Decision I or Early Action); the others are automatic |
Step by step
1. Shortlist 3 to 5 universities and check each guide for the merit range, the admitted GPA and the SAT range. 2. Translate your transcript and order a credential evaluation where it is required (2 to 6 weeks). 3. Take the English test and, even when optional, the SAT — it is what moves you inside the range. 4. Apply before the scholarship deadline, not the application deadline. 5. Compare the scholarship letter with the total cost, not with tuition: housing and insurance are not discounted.
Studying in the United States is not free for anyone. We would rather you plan with the floor of the range and be pleasantly surprised.



Universities
FAQ
Yes, as merit scholarships from the university itself. Among the Florida universities we track, 18 publish ranges students have already received — the widest runs from 20% to 45% of tuition. Full scholarships are very rare.
It exists and it is the exception: very few places, very high academic requirements and a separate process. Treat it as a possibility, not a plan. The realistic plan is the total cost minus a merit scholarship inside the published range.
No. The programme ended on July 1, 2026 under Florida law HB 905, for new and current recipients. What remains are each university's merit scholarships, which this guide collects.
Usually not. A merit scholarship is a discount on tuition; housing, meals and health insurance stay at full price. That is why we compare the scholarship letter with the total cost.
Almost always, even at test-optional universities: the score is one of the criteria for the range. Without it you can be admitted and pay full price.
Tell us your goal and your profile. We tell you what is realistic — including when the answer is to wait a year, study for the test or choose another university.