Jacksonville, Florida · Public university
Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-09-08. Este guia em português →
Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Profile
The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from University of North Florida's own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.
Admission
University of North Florida admits 53% of applicants, according to College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
The middle half of admitted students scored between 1010 and 1230 on the SAT and between 19 and 25 on the ACT. The average high-school GPA of admitted students is 3.94; the published minimum for international applicants is 2.8.
In practice, for a Brazilian applicant: a converted transcript near the average GPA and an SAT inside the range put you in the typical admitted group. Below that, admission is still possible, but merit aid gets harder.
Costs
Tuition at University of North Florida for international students is $22,954 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $38,394 — about R$ 198,113 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-09-08.
| Item | Annual estimate (USD) | Approx. in R$ |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (out of state) | $22,954 | R$ 118,443 |
| Housing and meals | $13,145 | R$ 67,828 |
| Health insurance | $2,295 | R$ 11,842 |
| Estimated total | $38,394 | R$ 198,113 |
Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-09-08. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.
Scholarships
| Scholarship | Amount per year | Criteria | Renewable | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| First Coast Waiver (non-Florida resident merit waiver) | $14,000 | Out-of-state first-time-in-college applicants (international included) with a 3.9 recalculated GPA and 1300 SAT, 28 ACT or 92 CLT; waives the out-of-state portion of tuition for up to 30 credits per year. | Yes | January 15 priority (reduced-tuition page says April 15) |
| Atlantic Waiver (non-Florida resident merit waiver) | $10,000 | Out-of-state freshmen with a 3.7 GPA and 1230 SAT, 26 ACT or 86 CLT; waives the out-of-state portion for up to 30 credits per year. | Yes | January 15 priority |
| Sunshine Waiver (non-Florida resident merit waiver) | $6,000 | Out-of-state freshmen with a 3.5 GPA and 1160 SAT, 24 ACT or 79 CLT; waives the out-of-state portion for up to 30 credits per year. | Yes | January 15 priority |
| International Transfer Waivers ($10,000 / $8,000 / $6,000) | $6,000 – $10,000 | 2027 international transfers: $10,000/yr with a 3.8 transfer GPA, $8,000 with 3.5, $6,000 with 3.2 (4.0 scale), for up to three years; covers up to 30 credits per year. | Yes | Fall 2027: July 1, 2027 (materials July 15) |
Merit scholarships: students have received between 0% and 25% of tuition (conservative estimate, 2026–2027; verified on 2026-09-08). Typical conditions: Moderate merit with SAT 1150+. The real amount depends on your profile — we never promise percentages.
Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.
International aid
Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.
Amount per year: about $14,000/yr (estimated, 30 credits); the Residency Waivers page lists $13,718, i.e. 100% of the out-of-state tuition portion
Requirements: Recalculated GPA 3.9 + SAT 1300 or ACT 28 or CLT 92; non-Florida resident; admitted as a first-time-in-college freshman.
International: Yes
Renewal: Renewal conditions not published on the pages checked (programs.html, reduced-tuition.html, residency/waivers.html). Covers up to 30 credits/yr, prorated. Not stackable with other UNF scholarships.
Deadline: No form; priority for students admitted by January 15 (programs.html) — reduced-tuition.html says April 15 for freshmen.
How to apply: Automatic with the admission application; no separate application.
Amount per year: $10,000/yr (30 credits)
Requirements: Recalculated GPA 3.7 + SAT 1230 or ACT 26 or CLT 86; non-Florida resident; FTIC freshman.
International: Yes
Renewal: Not published; up to 30 credits/yr, prorated; not stackable with other UNF scholarships.
Deadline: No form; priority for students admitted by January 15 (programs.html) / April 15 (reduced-tuition.html).
How to apply: Automatic with the application.
Amount per year: $6,000/yr (30 credits)
Requirements: Recalculated GPA 3.5 + SAT 1160 or ACT 24 or CLT 79; non-Florida resident; FTIC freshman.
International: Yes
Renewal: Not published; up to 30 credits/yr, prorated; not stackable with other UNF scholarships.
Deadline: No form; priority for students admitted by January 15 (programs.html) / April 15 (reduced-tuition.html).
How to apply: Automatic with the application.
Amount per year: Up to $12,000/yr in out-of-state tuition waivers (not a cash award)
Requirements: International student on an F-1 or J-1 visa; newly admitted to UNF; in good academic standing; U.S. dual citizens not eligible; competitive selection on academic record, field and documents.
International: Yes
Renewal: Renews automatically for Fall and Spring for the hours required by the degree, contingent on enrollment, academic standing, immigration status and SAP; new contract each term; summer needs a renewal application (April 1) and is limited.
Deadline: Fall: opens May 1, deadline July 1; Spring: Sept 1 – Nov 1; Summer: Feb 1 – April 1.
How to apply: Online form on the International Center site + typed personal statement + letter of recommendation; incomplete packages are not considered.
Amount per year: Part or all of out-of-state tuition and fees; up to 12 undergraduate credits per semester; depends on annual funding
Requirements: Non-U.S. citizen on an F-1 visa; registered and in good standing at UNF with at least one full academic year (Fall and Spring) of full-time coursework completed — the guidelines page says 'at least one semester'; new students are NOT eligible; criteria: academic performance, graduation date and documented financial need.
International: Yes
Renewal: New application every term, even if previously awarded; maintain good standing, SAP and F-1 status; reviewed each semester.
Deadline: July 1 (Fall), November 1 (Spring), April 1 (Summer, limited).
How to apply: Online Non-FL Tuition Waiver Application + one-page typed personal statement (new applicants).
Amount per year: $6,000 / $8,000 / $10,000 per year by transfer GPA
Requirements: Minimum transfer GPA 3.2 ($6,000), 3.5 ($8,000) or 3.8 ($10,000) on transferable credits; lower-level (12-29 credits) also needs a 3.0 high school GPA for the $6,000 tier; non-Florida resident.
International: Yes
Renewal: Covers up to 30 credits/yr (prorated); the owner's flyer says 'a year for up to three years'; partial waiver applied only to the out-of-state portion; not stackable with other UNF scholarships.
Deadline: No form; priority for students admitted by April 15.
How to apply: Automatic with the transfer application.
Amount per year: Full cost of attendance: up to $39,197/yr for non-Florida residents ($156,788 over four years)
Requirements: National Merit Finalist (PSAT/NMSQT-based U.S. program) who lists UNF first with NMSC by May 1, 2027.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Four years, 30 credits/yr.
Deadline: May 1, 2027 (NMSC).
How to apply: Through the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.
Amount per year: Amount not published
Requirements: Non-U.S. citizen; UNF cumulative GPA 3.0; one semester at UNF before applying; at least 6 credits per semester.
International: Yes
Renewal: Not published.
Deadline: Not published; contact Student Government.
How to apply: Through Student Government (not available in the first semester).
Amount per year: Up to US$15,000, interest-free loan
Requirements: Citizens of Latin American and Caribbean OAS member states (Brazil is a member) studying at an accredited U.S. university; OAS is not affiliated with UNF.
International: Yes
Renewal: OAS rules; not described by UNF.
Deadline: Not published by UNF.
How to apply: Directly with the OAS (Rowe Fund).
Amount per year: Varies
Requirements: Automatic matching by major, GPA and UNF data; includes non-UNF scholarships; check international eligibility case by case — FAFSA-based awards exclude F-1 students.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Varies.
Deadline: Varies.
How to apply: UNF Scholarship Universe platform (admitted students).
There is no UNF need-based aid for F-1 students: every need-based award requires the FAFSA or Florida residency. What exists is automatic merit (First Coast, Atlantic and Sunshine), the International Center's ISA Scholarship for new international first-years and, after a year at UNF, the partial out-of-state tuition waiver.
Scores
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1010 – 1230 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 19 – 25 |
| Average GPA of admitted students | 3.94 |
| Minimum GPA | 2.8 |
| Minimum TOEFL | 79 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.5 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 110 |
| Minimum PTE | 53 |
| SAT/ACT policy | SAT or ACT required |
UNF accepts TOEFL 79, IELTS 6.5, Duolingo 110 and PTE Academic 53, the same floor as graduate admission. The test is waived with SAT Reading and Writing 490, ACT Reading 19 and English 17, or CLT 38, and for graduates of English-medium schools. Cambridge, TOEFL Essentials, iTEP and ELS do not appear on the page. Verified on 2026-09-08.
The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.
University of North Florida's merit scholarship is not a single figure. It is a range, $6,000 to $14,000 per year. Where you land inside it depends on your transcript, the rigour of the courses you took and your SAT or ACT score when you choose to submit one.
The distance between floor and ceiling is $8,000 per year. Over a four-year degree, $32,000, or about R$ 165,120. That is the size of the difference a better score can make, and it is why the test is worth sitting even when it is optional.
The university superscores: it takes your best score in each section across every test date you submit. Retaking the test, in practice, can only help.
Tests
U.S. News publishes the range covering the middle half of admitted students, not an average. Use the range as a gauge of competitiveness (2026 data).
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1070 – 1270 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 19 – 25 |
| Acceptance rate | 53% |
Source: U.S. News & World Report
| Test | Minimum score | Note |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT | 79 | Listed only as 'TOEFL 79'; the page does not mention the new 1-6 scale or TOEFL Essentials. Regulation 2-0385R still cites 63 (iBT) / 500 (paper) as the institutional floor, but the admissions page requires 79. |
| IELTS Academic | 6.5 | No per-band minimum published. |
| Duolingo English Test | 110 | Listed as 'DuoLingo 110'. |
| PTE Academic | 53 | Listed as 'PTEA 53'. |
| ACT (waives the English test) | Reading 19 and English 17 | Both sections must meet the minimum; matches the ACT admission minimums (Reading 19, English 17, Math 19). |
| SAT (waives the English test) | 490 Evidence-Based Reading and Writing | Same as the admission minimum for Reading & Writing (490); Math minimum 480. |
| CLT (waives the English test) | 38 Verbal Reasoning and Grammar/Writing | Same as the CLT admission minimum (sum 38; Quantitative 16). |
| AP International English Language (AP-IEL) | 3 | College Board exam accepted as an indicator. |
| English-medium secondary school (waiver) | High school taught in English, documented on the school website, transcript or Medium of Instruction (MOI) certificate | Also accepted: American diploma or IB from a U.S.-accredited overseas international school taught in English; UNF English Language Program Pre-University certificate with a 3.0 average; citizenship of a listed English-speaking country (Brazil is not on the list). |
| TOEFL Essentials | not listed | Not on UNF's English proficiency page. |
| Cambridge English (B2 First / C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency) | not listed | No Cambridge exam appears on the proficiency page (checked 2026-09-08), the international admissions catalog page or regulation 2-0385R; a site:unf.edu 'Cambridge' search returned no admissions page. |
| iTEP | not listed | Not on UNF's English proficiency page. |
| ELS | not listed | Not on the proficiency page; the only language-program pathway accepted is UNF's own English Language Program (Pre-University level, 3.0 average). |
Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.
The SAT, ACT or CLT is required of every first-year applicant, international included, no essay. UNF superscores all three, combining your best section across attempts. Section minimums are SAT Math 480 and Reading and Writing 490, ACT Reading 19, English 17 and Math 19, or CLT 38 and 16. The three non-resident merit waivers use the recalculated GPA and a test score, with priority for students admitted by January 15. Verified on 2026-09-08.
Is your score below 79 on the TOEFL or 110 on the Duolingo test? That does not end the plan — our live prep courses with a teacher exist to close exactly that gap.
Majors
Undergraduate study is split across five colleges, plus the Hicks Honors College for students admitted to the honors program. Brooks College of Health covers nursing, physical therapy, nutrition and public health, and is one of the largest by enrollment. Coggin College of Business is AACSB-accredited and holds management, finance, accounting and logistics. College of Arts and Sciences is the largest of all. College of Computing, Engineering and Construction brings together computing, civil, electrical and mechanical engineering, and construction management. Silverfield College of Education and Human Services covers education.
There are 78 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.
The 23 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.
78 majors
No major matches that name. Try a broader word, or the degree code.
Graduate
At master's level, the strongest draws for international students sit in Coggin and CCEC: an MBA offered both in person and fully online, an M.S. in Logistics and Supply Chain Management, M.S. in Business Analytics, M.S. in FinTech, M.S. in Accounting and Data Analytics, M.S. in Computer and Information Sciences, and the engineering degrees. Health offers an MPH and an MHA. The humanities side has an M.A. in International Affairs. Two programs deserve specific attention. The GlobalMBA runs in partnership with universities in Germany and Poland: students study across four countries within one integrated program and finish with two master's degrees. One caution: by the International Center's list, the GlobalMBA and the fully online tracks do not issue an I-20 for an F-1 visa, so students who need the visa must choose among the on-campus programs; the table on this page shows only those. And students already enrolled at UNF as undergraduates can enter accelerated bachelor's-to-master's tracks, starting graduate credits before they finish the degree. At doctoral level UNF has a Ph.D. in Computing, plus professional doctorates in nursing, physical therapy, clinical nutrition, health administration and education.
Close to 10.5% of University of North Florida's graduate students come from outside the United States. It is a far more international room than the undergraduate one, and that changes the experience: almost everyone beside you also arrived recently.
There are 34 programs open to international students, 10 of them STEM-designated.
| Program | STEM | GRE or GMAT required | Intake |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brooks College of Health7 | |||
| Athletic Training (M.S.) | No | FSpSu | |
| Clinical Mental Health Counseling (M.S.) | No | FSpSu | |
| Health Administration (MHA) | — | FSpSu | |
| Kinesiology and Lifestyle Medicine (MSH) | No | FSpSu | |
| Nutrition & Diet. - Nutrition for Healthcare Professionals (M.S.) | No | FSpSu | |
| Nutrition & Dietetics - Dietetic Internship (M.S.) | No | FSpSu | |
| Public Health (MPH) | No | FSpSu | |
| Coggin College of Business5 | |||
| Accounting (MAcc) | — | FSpSu | |
| Business Administration (MBA) | — | FSpSu | |
| Business Analytics (M.S.) | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Logistics and Supply Chain Management (M.S.) | — | FSpSu | |
| Management (M.S.) | No | FSpSu | |
| College of Arts and Sciences10 | |||
| Biology (M.A., M.S.) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Communication Management (M.S.) | No | FSpSu | |
| English (M.A.) | No | FSpSu | |
| History (M.A.) | No | FSpSu | |
| Mathematical Sciences (M.S.) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Music (M.M.) | No | FSpSu | |
| Music Education (MME) | No | — | |
| Psychological Science (M.S.) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Public Administration (MPA) | — | FSpSu | |
| Social Work (M.S.W.) | No | FSpSu | |
| College of Computing, Engineering and Construction5 | |||
| Civil Engineering (M.S.C.E.) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Computer and Information Sciences (M.S.) | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Construction Management (M.S.) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Electrical Engineering (M.S.E.E.) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Mechanical Engineering (M.S.M.E.) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Interdisciplinary Programs2 | |||
| International Affairs (M.A.) | No | FSpSu | |
| Materials Science and Engineering (M.S.) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Silverfield College of Education and Human Services5 | |||
| Higher Education Administration (M.S.) | No | FSpSu | |
| Special Education - Applied Behavior Analysis (M.Ed.) | — | — | |
| Special Education - Disability Services (M.Ed.) | No | FSpSu | |
| Special Education - Exceptional Student Education (M.Ed.) | No | FSpSu | |
| Sport Analytics (MS) | No | FSpSu | |
No program matches those filters. Clear one of them.
The STEM designation matters more at master's level than at undergraduate. It allows a request for 24 extra months of OPT on top of the initial 12, which means up to three years working in the United States off a one- or two-year degree.
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| Minimum TOEFL | 79 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.5 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 110 |
| Application fee | $30 |
| Minimum full-time load | 9 credit hours per semester |
26 of the programs above waive the GRE and GMAT. The rest require the test, and a waiver is only considered for applicants holding a business degree from an AACSB-accredited institution. Work experience does not count towards a waiver.
Beyond a transcript from every institution you attended, with certified translation, the application asks for a personal statement in English, a professional resume and two reference forms from people who can speak to your academic and professional background. A course-by-course credential evaluation is strongly recommended.
| Intake | Application complete by |
|---|---|
| Fall intake | June 1 (recommended date for international applicants; final deadlines vary by program) |
| Spring intake | October 1 (recommended date for international applicants) |
Deadlines
| Intake | Application deadline | Scholarship deadline |
|---|---|---|
| Fall intake | April 1, 2027 (recommended date for international applicants) | January 15, 2027 (priority; automatic with the application) |
| Spring intake | October 1, 2026 (Spring 2027) |
Documents
The order below is the order in which University of North Florida asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.
Campus
UNF sits inside a nature preserve, and that changes everything about it. The campus runs to roughly 1,300 acres, and walking between buildings means crossing wooded trails, tall pines and a lake in the middle. Marked trails run through campus and get used for running, walking and biology classes. You can cross the whole campus on foot, but you will sweat. Plenty of people ride bikes instead.
Daily life happens around the Student Union and the Osprey Fountain. That is where people eat, study in groups and wait between classes. The teams are the Ospreys, and men's basketball is the sport that fills the arena. UNF has no football program, which surprises anyone expecting the classic American campus with a packed Saturday stadium. The upside is a campus culture that is quieter and easier to break into.
International first-year students usually live on campus, in suites with a shared bedroom and a bathroom split among a few students. You pick a housing type and fill out a roommate questionnaire that helps with the match. Bring a light jacket anyway: indoor air conditioning runs cold all year.




There is no requirement to live on campus in the first year, which opens up sharing an apartment off campus — usually cheaper, with transport left to solve.


City
Jacksonville is one of the largest cities in the United States by land area, and thin in the middle. Things sit far apart. UNF is in the south of the city, near the St. Johns Town Center, an open-air mall that becomes the default meeting point for students without a car. Buses exist, but they do not solve everything. Students living off campus tend to be in Baymeadows, Southside or near the Town Center, and almost everyone shares rides.
The best thing about Jacksonville is the beach. Jacksonville Beach is a short drive from campus, and it is a real beach, wide and with surf, not a tourist strip. Many UNF students spend entire Saturdays there. The Riverside and San Marco districts have the more interesting restaurants and bars, but you have to travel to reach them.
The heat is not Miami heat. Jacksonville gets a genuine winter for a few weeks, with cold mornings, and summers with heavy late-afternoon rain almost daily. Hurricane season is part of the calendar: the university sends alerts, cancels classes when needed, and life continues. The international airport is north of the city, far from campus, and most long-haul connections run through Miami, Atlanta or Orlando. The international community here is small compared with South Florida, which pushes you into English from the first month.
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| One-bedroom rent off campus | $1,015 / month |
| Public transport | JTA (Jacksonville Transportation Authority) buses: $1.75 a ride, $4.50 day pass, $65 31-day pass; college students with a university email ride JTA buses and the First Coast Flyer free (Token Transit/MyJTA). The downtown Skyway monorail and NAVI shuttles are free. On campus, the free Osprey Connector shuttle loops the campus and runs to St. Johns Town Center. |
| Nearest airport | Jacksonville International Airport (JAX), about 21 km north of downtown Jacksonville |
| Distance to Orlando | 216 km |
| Distance to Miami | 544 km |
| Climate | Humid subtropical (Köppen Cfa): monthly means from 12 °C in January to 28 °C in July, average highs 19-33 °C; hot, rainy summers and mild, drier winters that are cooler than South Florida, with 10-15 nights a year at or below freezing. |


F-1 students may work on campus up to 20 hours a week during the academic term and full-time during breaks; off-campus work (CPT/OPT) requires prior authorization from UNF's International Center.
Careers
The median salary of graduates from this university is $59,418 a year, according to the College Scorecard, a US government public database.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.
CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.
OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.
STEM-designated programs allow a request for a 24-month extension of OPT — up to 36 months of authorised work in total after graduation.
Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-09-08. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.
Compare
UNF makes sense for students who want a mid-sized public university, easier access to professors and a real beach nearby, without the intensity of Miami or the scale of UCF. Anyone dreaming of a packed stadium, fraternity row and a movie version of college life will find UNF quiet and will prefer Gainesville or Tallahassee. Students who want a large international community around them will feel more at home at FIU or FAU.
The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.
| University | Total cost per year | Average SAT | Minimum TOEFL |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of North Florida (this page) | $38,394 | 1150 | 79 |
| Florida Polytechnic University | $38,801 | 1290 | 61 |
| University of Central Florida | $36,067 | 1260 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| Atlantis University | $30,020 | 70 |
FAQ
The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $38,394 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.
TOEFL 79 or higher, or Duolingo 110 or higher. Duolingo policies change often, so we confirm the current rule before you apply. If your score is below the minimum, prep closes that gap before the deadline.
Not always for admission, but almost always for merit scholarships. The admitted average is around 1150. Without an SAT score you can be admitted and pay full price; with a competitive score, the same university can cost much less.
The ENEM plays no part. The university converts the transcript grades to the American 0–4 GPA scale from a sworn translation. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The minimum required is 2.8.
The fall entry deadline is April 1, 2027 (recommended date for international applicants), and spring entry is October 1, 2026 (Spring 2027). Start 10 to 12 months ahead: transcript translation, English score and proof of funds are the steps that delay applications most.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.
University of North Florida admits 53% of applicants. The published minimum GPA for international applicants is 2.8 on the American 0–4 scale — a Brazilian transcript is converted to that scale from a sworn translation. The SAT range and average GPA of admitted students, where the university publishes them, are in the Admission section of this page. Below those marks admission is still possible; what gets harder is merit aid.
$22,954 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $38,394 — about R$ 198,113 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.
On estimated total cost per year, University of North Florida comes to $38,394 and Florida Polytechnic University to $38,801. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.
The Brooks College of Health is one of UNF's strongest areas, covering nursing, physical therapy, nutrition and public health. Health programs usually have their own selective admission process inside the university, with prerequisites completed in the first semesters, and some clinical placements are capped. If this is your goal, confirm with the international admissions office which requirements apply to F-1 students before choosing a major.
Not in the first year, if you live on campus. Classes, food and the library are all walkable. The problem shows up on weekends and from the second year on, when many students move off campus. Jacksonville is spread out and public transport is limited. Most international students rely on rides at first and buy a used car after a semester or two.
Yes, but nothing is automatic. UNF requires a course-by-course evaluation of foreign transcripts by an approved agency, with English translation. If you have fewer than 60 transferable credits, you also still need to submit high school transcripts and an SAT or ACT score. Ask for the evaluation before you commit, since the number of credits accepted changes both your time to degree and your total cost.
Sources
Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the Common Data Set and the official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.
Data verified on 2026-09-08.
Sources: College Scorecard · Common Data Set · College Navigator · Official university site
Next steps
We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.