Tallahassee, Florida · Public university
Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-09-15. Este guia em português →
Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Profile
The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from FAMU (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University)'s own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.
FAMU enrolls very few international undergraduates (13 in 2025 per the Common Data Set): institutional support for foreign students is thin.
Admission
FAMU (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University) admits 21% of applicants, according to College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
The middle half of admitted students scored between 1050 and 1180 on the SAT and between 19.5 and 24 on the ACT. The average high-school GPA of admitted students is 3.77; the published minimum for international applicants is 2.8.
In practice, for a Brazilian applicant: a converted transcript near the average GPA and an SAT inside the range put you in the typical admitted group. Below that, admission is still possible, but merit aid gets harder.
Costs
Tuition at FAMU (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University) for international students is $17,725 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $32,757 — about R$ 169,026 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-09-15.
| Item | Annual estimate (USD) | Approx. in R$ |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (out of state) | $17,725 | R$ 91,461 |
| Housing and meals | $13,152 | R$ 67,864 |
| Health insurance | $1,880 | R$ 9,701 |
| Estimated total | $32,757 | R$ 169,026 |
Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-09-15. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.
Scholarships
Merit scholarships: students have received between 0% and 25% of tuition (conservative estimate, 2026–2027; verified on 2026-09-15). Typical conditions: No first-year merit award declares F-1 eligibility; the FAMU Foundation portal is the route open to international students, no FAFSA required. The real amount depends on your profile — we never promise percentages.
Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.
International aid
Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.
Amount per year: Varies by opportunity; portal examples on 2026-09-15: $1,000 (College of Law Urban Development & Land Use; Friends of FAMU – Freshman Class of 1999), $4,000 (Engineering Faculty and Staff Endowment), $5,000 (Google Scholarship), 'Varies' (Washington DC Metro Endowed).
Requirements: 'Be a FAMU student preferably with full-time enrollment status'; FAFSA on file — 'No FAFSA required for International students'. 'Our scholarships portal is for enrolled students at FAMU, not new Admits'; freshmen and transfers cannot apply 'until the third week of you first semester' (sic).
International: Yes
Renewal: Varies by award; no general rule published.
Deadline: Per opportunity (e.g., September 16 and 17, 2026 for the two open on 2026-09-15).
How to apply: Form on the famu.academicworks.com portal after enrollment; 'Students are automatically matched with scholarship opportunities for which they meet the criteria' plus 'recommended' awards requiring an application.
Amount per year: Room and board (per the award name); amount not published.
Requirements: Not published on famu.edu ('Learn More' links are empty anchors). ROTC scholarships require U.S. citizenship under federal rules — not stated on FAMU's page.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Not published.
Deadline: Not published.
How to apply: Not published.
No. No need-based aid is published for international students: federal programs require the FAFSA and state programs require Florida residency and U.S. citizenship. FAMU requires proof of funds for the whole program.
Scores
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1050 – 1180 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 19.5 – 24 |
| Average GPA of admitted students | 3.77 |
| Minimum GPA | 2.8 |
| Minimum TOEFL | 80 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.5 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 120 |
| SAT/ACT policy | SAT or ACT required |
The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.
Tests
U.S. News publishes the range covering the middle half of admitted students, not an average. Use the range as a gauge of competitiveness (2024 data).
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1030 – 1180 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 20 – 24 |
| Average high-school GPA | 3.8 |
| Acceptance rate |
Source: U.S. News & World Report
| Test | Minimum score | Note |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT | 80 | International admissions page: 'Applicants whose native language is not English must take an English proficiency exam. The following are the minimum scores required for undergraduate admission to the University:' — 'Internet Based TOEFL (IBTOEFL) 80', code 5215. Legacy 0–120 scale; the new 1–6 TOEFL scale is not mentioned. 'All scores are considered official only when they are sent directly to the Office of Undergraduate Admissions from the testing agency, and are not valid after two years.' |
| TOEFL PBT (paper) | 80 (sic) / 550 | The admissions page literally lists 'Paper Based TOEFL (TOEFL) 80' — inconsistent with the PBT scale (310–677). The international office (OIED) page says 'TOEFL paper-based 550'. ETS has discontinued the PBT; recorded for completeness only. |
| TOEFL Essentials | not listed | Not in the 'English Language Proficiency' table on the international admissions page nor on the OIED page (checked 2026-09-15). |
| IELTS Academic | 6.5 | 'International English Language Testing System (Academic IELTS) 6.5'. No band minimums. The OIED page is inconsistent: 'IELTS 6' in one passage and 'IELST 6.5' in another; the admissions page (6.5) is authoritative. |
| Duolingo English Test | 120 | 'Duolingo 120' in the proficiency table on the international admissions page. No subscore minimums. |
| PTE Academic | not listed | Not listed on the international admissions page or the OIED page. |
| Cambridge English (B2 First / C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency) | not listed | No Cambridge exam or Cambridge English Scale score appears on the admissions pages. |
| iTEP | not listed | Not listed. |
| ELS | not listed | Not listed. The only alternative route published is 'Intensive English Studies through a U.S. Institution': 'If you received your English skills studies through an accredited United States institution, you must submit the official college and/or university transcript to the Office of Undergraduate Admissions.' |
| SAT/ACT waiver (English section) | not listed | No English-test waiver based on SAT EBRW or ACT English is published. The proficiency requirement applies to 'Applicants whose native language is not English' — the criterion is native language, not nationality; no exempt-country list. |
| English-medium high-school waiver | not listed | No general English-medium-school waiver is published; the only documentary waiver is a transcript from an accredited U.S. institution (see ELS). The document checklist says: 'Submit official English Language Proficiency examination score report and/or college/university transcript if your native language is not English.' |
Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.
SAT, ACT or CLT is required: FAMU is not test-optional. International minimums (Fall 2025): recalculated GPA 3.33, SAT Reading 530 and Math 550, or ACT English 19, Math 23 and Reading 22. Superscoring: not stated; FAMU considers whichever of SAT or ACT is more competitive. English proficiency is waived only with a transcript from an accredited U.S. institution.
Is your score below 80 on the TOEFL or 120 on the Duolingo test? That does not end the plan — our live prep courses with a teacher exist to close exactly that gap.
Majors
There are 60 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.
The 21 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.
60 majors
No major matches that name. Try a broader word, or the degree code.
Graduate
Close to 1.4% of FAMU (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University)'s graduate students come from outside the United States. It is a far more international room than the undergraduate one, and that changes the experience: almost everyone beside you also arrived recently.
There are 36 programs open to international students, 14 of them STEM-designated.
| Program | STEM | GRE or GMAT required | Intake |
|---|---|---|---|
| College of Agriculture and Food Sciences6 | |||
| Agricultural Science - Agribusiness, MS | Yes | — | |
| Agricultural Science - Animal Science, MS | Yes | — | |
| Agricultural Science - Entomology, MS | Yes | — | |
| Agricultural Science - Food Science, MS | Yes | — | |
| Agricultural Science - Plant Science, MS | Yes | — | |
| Agricultural Science - Soil and Water Science, MS | Yes | — | |
| College of Education3 | |||
| Counselor Education, M.Ed./M.S. | Yes | — | |
| Curriculum and Instruction, M.Ed. | Yes | — | |
| Educational Leadership, M.Ed./M.S. | Yes | — | |
| College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, Institute of Public Health2 | |||
| Pharmaceutical Sciences, MS | Yes | FSpSu | |
| Public Health, MPH | Yes | — | |
| College of Science and Technology6 | |||
| Biology, MS | STEM | Yes | — |
| Chemistry, MS | STEM | Yes | — |
| Computer Science, MS | STEM | Yes | — |
| Cybersecurity, MS | STEM | Yes | — |
| Physics, MS | STEM | Yes | — |
| Software Engineering, MS | Yes | — | |
| College of Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities3 | |||
| Applied Social Sciences, M.A.S.S. | Yes | — | |
| Community Psychology, MS | Yes | — | |
| Social Work, MSW | Yes | — | |
| FAMU-FSU College of Engineering8 | |||
| Biomedical Engineering, MS | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Chemical Engineering, MS | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Civil Engineering, MEng | STEM | No | — |
| Civil Engineering, MS | STEM | No | — |
| Electrical Engineering, MS | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Industrial Engineering, MS | STEM | No | — |
| Mechanical Engineering, MS | STEM | No | — |
| Systems Engineering, MS | STEM | No | — |
| School of Allied Health Sciences2 | |||
| Health Care Administration, MHA | Yes | FSpSu | |
| Occupational Therapy, MS (MSOT) | Yes | FSpSu | |
| School of Architecture and Engineering Technology2 | |||
| Architecture, M.Arch. | Yes | — | |
| Architecture: Facilities Management, MS | Yes | — | |
| School of Business and Industry2 | |||
| One-Year MBA | Yes | — | |
| Supply Chain Management, MS | Yes | — | |
| School of Nursing1 | |||
| Nursing, MSN (AGPCNP / WHNP) | Yes | — | |
| School of the Environment1 | |||
| Environmental Science, MS | STEM | Yes | — |
No program matches those filters. Clear one of them.
The STEM designation matters more at master's level than at undergraduate. It allows a request for 24 extra months of OPT on top of the initial 12, which means up to three years working in the United States off a one- or two-year degree.
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| Minimum TOEFL | 80 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.5 |
| Application fee | $30 |
| Minimum full-time load | 9 credit hours per semester |
8 of the programs above waive the GRE and GMAT. The rest require the test, and a waiver is only considered for applicants holding a business degree from an AACSB-accredited institution. Work experience does not count towards a waiver.
Beyond a transcript from every institution you attended, with certified translation, the application asks for a personal statement in English, a professional resume and two reference forms from people who can speak to your academic and professional background. A course-by-course credential evaluation is strongly recommended.
| Intake | Application complete by |
|---|---|
| Fall intake | February 15, 2027 |
Deadlines
| Intake | Application deadline | Scholarship deadline |
|---|---|---|
| Fall intake | February 1, 2027 (Regular Decision; Early Action November 1, 2026; rolling until May 1) |
Documents
The order below is the order in which FAMU (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University) asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.
Campus




First-year students are required to live on campus.


City
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| One-bedroom rent off campus | $1,006 / month |
| Public transport | StarMetro city buses: $1.25 a ride, $3 day pass, $38 31-day pass; FSU students ride any regular route free by swiping the FSUCard. On campus the Seminole Express (7 routes: Garnet, Gold, Heritage, Innovation, Osceola, Renegade, Tomahawk) is free, Mon-Fri 7 AM-8 PM; the Nite Nole night bus runs Mon-Sat 8 PM-3 AM in fall and spring. RedCoach intercity buses stop on campus. |
| Nearest airport | Tallahassee International Airport (TLH), about 10 km / 15 minutes from campus; domestic flights only (American, Delta, JetBlue, Breeze) - international connections through Atlanta, Charlotte, Miami or Dallas. |
| Distance to Orlando | 414 km |
| Distance to Miami | 774 km |
| Climate | Humid subtropical with a real winter by Florida standards: average highs of 92 F (33 C) in July, lows around 40 F (4-5 C) in January with occasional frost, and about 59 inches (1,490 mm) of rain a year, concentrated June-August. |


F-1 students may work on campus without extra authorization: up to 20 hours a week (all jobs combined) in fall and spring; more than 20 hours during breaks and summer unless summer is the first or final semester.
Careers
The median salary of graduates from this university is $44,349 a year, according to the College Scorecard, a US government public database.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.
CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.
OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.
Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-09-15. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.
Compare
The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.
| University | Total cost per year | Average SAT | Minimum TOEFL |
|---|---|---|---|
| FAMU (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University) (this page) | $32,757 | 1080 | 80 |
| Florida Atlantic University | $31,824 | 1170 | 4.5 (1–6 scale) |
| Florida International University | $33,863 | 1190 | |
| Atlantis University | $30,020 | 70 |
FAQ
The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $32,757 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.
TOEFL 80 or higher, or Duolingo 120 or higher. Duolingo policies change often, so we confirm the current rule before you apply. If your score is below the minimum, prep closes that gap before the deadline.
Not always for admission, but almost always for merit scholarships. The admitted average is around 1080. Without an SAT score you can be admitted and pay full price; with a competitive score, the same university can cost much less.
The ENEM plays no part. The university converts the transcript grades to the American 0–4 GPA scale from a sworn translation. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The minimum required is 2.8.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.
FAMU (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University) admits 21% of applicants. The published minimum GPA for international applicants is 2.8 on the American 0–4 scale — a Brazilian transcript is converted to that scale from a sworn translation. The SAT range and average GPA of admitted students, where the university publishes them, are in the Admission section of this page. Below those marks admission is still possible; what gets harder is merit aid.
$17,725 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $32,757 — about R$ 169,026 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.
On estimated total cost per year, FAMU (Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University) comes to $32,757 and Florida Atlantic University to $31,824. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.
Sources
Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the Common Data Set and the official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.
Data verified on 2026-09-15.
Sources: College Scorecard · Common Data Set · College Navigator · Official university site
Next steps
We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.