Daytona Beach, Florida · Private university
Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-09-15. Este guia em português →
Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Profile
The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University's own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.
NCES figures for the Daytona Beach campus include about 3,200 dual-enrolled high-school students; roughly 8,000 undergraduates study on campus. ERAU is a private university focused on aviation, engineering and space; flight training is billed separately. Costs are 2026-27; engineering majors pay $674 more per year.
Admission
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University admits 65% of applicants, according to College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
The middle half of admitted students scored between 1160 and 1330 on the SAT and between 24 and 30 on the ACT. The published minimum for international applicants is 3.0.
In practice, for a Brazilian applicant: the converted transcript has to clear the published minimum; a stronger transcript and an SAT score mainly change the size of the merit aid, not admission itself.
Costs
Tuition at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University for international students is $47,814 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $66,926 — about R$ 345,338 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-09-15.
| Item | Annual estimate (USD) | Approx. in R$ |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (out of state) | $47,814 | R$ 246,720 |
| Housing and meals | $17,130 | R$ 88,391 |
| Health insurance | $1,982 | R$ 10,227 |
| Estimated total | $66,926 | R$ 345,338 |
Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-09-15. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.
Scholarships
| Scholarship | Amount per year | Criteria | Renewable | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boeing Scholars | $5,000 – $7,500 | New incoming students seeking aviation careers, especially Aeronautical Science and Aviation Maintenance Science; two years; renewed with a 3.0 cumulative GPA and 12+ credit hours per term | Yes | March 15 of the enrollment year |
| Children of Alumni Legacy Grant | $1,500 | Sons and daughters of Embry-Riddle alumni; $1,500 per year | Yes | |
| Family Grant | $2,200 | $2,200 for each child of the same family simultaneously enrolled full-time | ||
| Donor Scholarships | $500 – $20,000 | Endowed and term scholarships with varying criteria; annual online application; not automatically renewable | No |
Merit scholarships: students have received between 20% and 40% of tuition (conservative estimate, 2026–2027; verified on 2026-09-15). Typical conditions: Automatic merit at admission (IFS); the Embry-Riddle Scholarship for international students requires the SAT or ACT and publishes no amount. The real amount depends on your profile — we never promise percentages.
Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.
International aid
Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.
Amount per year: Amount not published ('The award amount can be significant if the applicant performs well on either of these examinations')
Requirements: University application + an 'international scholarship application'. Decision 'based on academic merit and demonstrated financial need'. Official SAT or ACT required for consideration. Daytona Beach and Prescott campuses only.
International: Yes
Renewal: Not stated on the page. Catalog general rule: a scholarship is valid only from the term named in the award letter and is not automatically deferred. Scholarships page: many scholarships require a minimum GPA to stay eligible; changing majors or dropping classes can affect them.
Deadline: No separate deadline. FAQ: 'Scholarships and housing are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis'; early application strongly encouraged. Daytona Beach international deadlines: fall May 1, spring Oct 1, summer Mar 1.
How to apply: The international page requires 'an international scholarship application' (form not found publicly; webforms.erau.edu redirects to login). The Daytona Beach tab of the general scholarships page says newly admitted students are automatically considered for institutionally funded scholarships with no separate application. Confirm with intladms@erau.edu / WhatsApp +1-386-226-6115.
Amount per year: US$1,500 per year
Requirements: Son or daughter of an Embry-Riddle alumnus. Listed on the international students' scholarships page (Daytona Beach and Prescott).
International: Yes
Renewal: 'An annual grant'; renewal conditions not stated.
Deadline: not stated
How to apply: not stated (presumably via admissions; confirm)
Amount per year: US$2,200 per child simultaneously enrolled
Requirements: Two or more children of the same family enrolled full-time at the same time.
International: Yes
Renewal: not stated (applies while enrolment is simultaneous, per the text)
Deadline: not stated
How to apply: not stated
Amount per year: US$7,500/year for two years (program page); the scholarships page says 'range from $5,000 to $7,500 per year for two years'
Requirements: New incoming students interested in aeronautical science and aviation maintenance science. Separate application by March 15 of the enrollment year. Prescott tab (not Daytona) adds preference for women, veterans and under-represented minorities with financial need 'as determined by the FAFSA'. International eligibility not stated; the FAFSA reference (citizens/residents only) suggests a domestic focus.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Automatically renewed for the second year with a 3.0 cumulative GPA; full-time enrolment (12+ credit hours) each term required for disbursement.
Deadline: March 15 of the enrollment year; selected 'in early spring'
How to apply: 'Boeing Scholars application' form (linked from the scholarships page; the webforms portal requires login). Winners notified by mail; appears on ERNIE.
Amount per year: US$500 to US$20,000 (Daytona Beach tab)
Requirements: For enrolled students; apply through the ERNIE portal. Criteria vary by fund. International eligibility not stated.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Not automatically renewable; reapply each academic year.
Deadline: 'throughout the year through ERNIE'; paid in the fall and spring of the following academic year
How to apply: Single application in ERNIE (student login)
Partial: the Embry-Riddle Scholarship combines merit with demonstrated need, but no amount is published and the form sits behind a login. Federal aid and work-study are closed to F-1 students. University health insurance is billed automatically ($1,982 in 2025-26).
Scores
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1160 – 1330 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 24 – 30 |
| Minimum GPA | 3.0 |
| Minimum TOEFL (1–6 band scale, in force since 21 January 2026) | 4 · tests taken before 21 January 2026: 79 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.0 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 105 |
| Minimum PTE | 59 |
| SAT/ACT policy | Test-optional |
Cambridge 170, TOEFL Essentials 8.5 and LanguageCert 65 also accepted
The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.
Tests
U.S. News publishes the range covering the middle half of admitted students, not an average. Use the range as a gauge of competitiveness (2026 data).
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1160 – 1380 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 24 – 30 |
| Acceptance rate |
Source: U.S. News & World Report
| Test | Minimum score | Note |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT | 79 (test taken before 21 Jan 2026) / 4 on the new 1-6 scale (test taken on or after 21 Jan 2026) | Official table: 'TOEFL iBT — 79 (Internet-based, taken before Jan. 21, 2026)' and 'TOEFL iBT — 4 (Internet-based, taken on or after Jan. 21, 2026)'. The academic catalog repeats the same values. Applies to all campuses. Scores count only if sent directly by the testing agency. Students below the minimum can enter via ERLI or the ERLI Pathway Program (Pathway minimums: TOEFL iBT 55 before 21 Jan 2026 / 3.5 after; Duolingo 85; IELTS 5.5). |
| TOEFL Essentials | 8.5 | 'TOEFL Essentials — 8.5'. Confirmed in the academic catalog. |
| IELTS Academic | 6.0 | 'English Language Testing System (IELTS) — 6.0'. The page does not distinguish Academic from General Training and publishes no band minimums. Confirmed in the academic catalog. |
| Duolingo English Test | 105 | 'Duolingo English Test — 105'. Confirmed in the academic catalog. The Pathway Program accepts 85. |
| PTE Academic | 59 | 'Pearson Test of English (PTE) Academic — 59'. Confirmed in the academic catalog. |
| Cambridge English (B2 First / C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency) | 170 on the Cambridge English Scale | 'Cambridge English Language Assessment — 170'. Only the Cambridge English Scale score is given (170 sits in the B2 band on Cambridge's own scale; ERAU does not name B2 First, C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency). Confirmed in the academic catalog. |
| LanguageCert Academic | 65 | 'LanguageCert Academic — 65'. Confirmed in the academic catalog. |
| EIKEN | Pre-1 | 'EIKEN Test in Practical English Proficiency — Pre-1'. Japanese exam; irrelevant for Brazilians, listed for completeness. |
| iTEP | not accepted / not listed | Not in the accepted-exam table on erau.edu nor in the academic catalog (checked 2026-09-15). |
| ELS | not listed | ELS is not mentioned. The only language-school route is ERAU's own ERLI: completing ERLI with a Recommendation for Academic Study from the ERLI Director exempts the student from the listed exams. ERLI FAQ: completing the highest level of each class satisfies the proficiency requirement. |
| SAT/ACT section waiver | not listed | No ERAU page checked (International Students, catalog English Language Requirements, First-Time Students, FAQ) mentions an English-proficiency waiver based on SAT EBRW or ACT English scores. |
| English-medium high-school waiver | not stated for the Daytona Beach campus; a list of English-official countries is published without a rule sentence | The International Students page lists 'The following nations recognize English as an official language:' (Australia, Canada outside Quebec, The Gambia, Ghana, Ireland, Kenya, Liberia, New Zealand, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe, UK and Commonwealth Caribbean) with no sentence stating the effect (presumably a waiver for students educated there). Brazil is not listed. The 'secondary school in which the language of instruction was English' waiver appears only in the Asia campus tab, not Daytona Beach. Other official route: 6 credit hours of post-secondary English composition with a C or better before matriculation. |
| EFTA – English for Flight Training Assessment (flight students only) | additional assessment for international flight students; 'Elementary' or 'Pre-elementary' rating routes to the ERLI Pathway | Pathway page: international flight students rated elementary or pre-elementary on the EFTA are eligible for the ERLI Pathway Program before flight training. Separate from the admission requirement; relevant to Aeronautical Science (pilot). The admissions page does not say whether the EFTA is mandatory for every international flight student. |
Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.
Test-optional for admission, but the SAT or ACT is required for the Embry-Riddle Scholarship (international award) and strongly encouraged. Superscoring: not stated. English: TOEFL iBT 79 (4 on the new scale from 21 Jan 2026), IELTS 6.0, Duolingo 105, PTE 59, Cambridge 170 or TOEFL Essentials 8.5. Flight students take an additional English assessment (EFTA).
Is your score below 4 (1–6 scale) on the TOEFL or 105 on the Duolingo test? That does not end the plan — our live prep courses with a teacher exist to close exactly that gap.
Majors
There are 30 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.
The 14 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.
30 majors
No major matches that name. Try a broader word, or the degree code.
Graduate
Close to 35.8% of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University's graduate students come from outside the United States. It is a far more international room than the undergraduate one, and that changes the experience: almost everyone beside you also arrived recently.
There are 19 programs open to international students, 12 of them STEM-designated.
| Program | STEM | GRE or GMAT required | Intake |
|---|---|---|---|
| College of Arts and Sciences3 | |||
| M.S. in Data Science | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Engineering Physics | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Human Factors | No | FSpSu | |
| College of Aviation4 | |||
| M.S. in Aviation | No | FSpSu | |
| M.S. in Occupational Safety Management | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Space Operations | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Uncrewed Systems | No | FSpSu | |
| College of Engineering8 | |||
| M.S. in Aerospace Engineering | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Civil Engineering | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Computer Science | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Electrical and Computer Engineering | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Mechanical Engineering | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Software Engineering | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Systems Engineering | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| M.S. in Uncrewed and Autonomous Systems Engineering | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| David B. O'Maley College of Business4 | |||
| M.S. in Aerospace Business Analytics | No | FSpSu | |
| M.S. in Aviation Finance | No | FSpSu | |
| Master of Business Administration | No | FSpSu | |
| Master of Business Administration in Aviation Management | No | FSpSu | |
No program matches those filters. Clear one of them.
The STEM designation matters more at master's level than at undergraduate. It allows a request for 24 extra months of OPT on top of the initial 12, which means up to three years working in the United States off a one- or two-year degree.
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| Minimum TOEFL (1–6 band scale, in force since 21 January 2026) | 4 · tests taken before 21 January 2026: 79 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.0 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 105 |
| Application fee | $50 |
| Deposit after admission | $200 |
| Minimum full-time load | 6 credit hours per semester |
13 of the programs above waive the GRE and GMAT. The rest require the test, and a waiver is only considered for applicants holding a business degree from an AACSB-accredited institution. Work experience does not count towards a waiver.
Beyond a transcript from every institution you attended, with certified translation, the application asks for a personal statement in English, a professional resume and two reference forms from people who can speak to your academic and professional background. A course-by-course credential evaluation is strongly recommended.
| Intake | Application complete by |
|---|---|
| Fall intake | June 1, 2027 (master's, international applicants; rolling admission) |
| Spring intake | October 1, 2026 (master's, international applicants) |
Deadlines
| Intake | Application deadline | Scholarship deadline |
|---|---|---|
| Fall intake | May 1, 2027 | Automatic at admission (Boeing Scholars: March 15, 2027) |
| Spring intake | October 1, 2026 (summer: March 1, 2027) |
Documents
The order below is the order in which Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.
Campus




First-year students are required to live on campus.


City
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| One-bedroom rent off campus | $1,200 / month |
| Public transport | Votran buses (Volusia County's public system, 28 routes, $2 per ride or $4 day pass) serve the campus, the bus station, the beaches and shopping areas; there is no rail in the city - SunRail to Orlando only departs from DeBary in west Volusia, reached by Votran routes 31/32/33. A car is the norm. |
| Nearest airport | Daytona Beach International Airport (DAB) is adjacent to campus (3 mi/5 km from downtown), served by Delta (Atlanta), American (Charlotte), Avelo and Breeze with 772,000 passengers in 2025; international flights via Orlando International (MCO), about 90 minutes by car. |
| Distance to Orlando | 91 km |
| Distance to Miami | 417 km |
| Climate | Humid subtropical (Köppen Cfa): hot, wet summers with July highs of 90 °F (32 °C) and lows of 74 °F (23 °C), mild winters with January highs of 69 °F (21 °C) and lows of 49 °F (9 °C); 51 in (1,302 mm) of rain a year, mostly May-October; hurricane season June-November. |


F-1 students holding a valid Embry-Riddle I-20 and enrolled in classes may work on campus up to 20 hours a week while classes are in session and up to 29 hours a week during breaks; jobs are limited and competitive, and the university says not to count on them in financial planning.
Careers
The median salary of graduates from this university is $93,582 a year, according to the College Scorecard, a US government public database.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.
CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.
OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.
STEM-designated programs allow a request for a 24-month extension of OPT — up to 36 months of authorised work in total after graduation.
Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-09-15. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.
Compare
The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.
| University | Total cost per year | Average SAT | Minimum TOEFL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (this page) | $66,926 | 1270 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| Florida Institute of Technology | $65,819 | 1250 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| The University of Tampa | $50,124 | 1180 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| University of Florida | $51,993 | 1400 |
FAQ
The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $66,926 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.
TOEFL 4 (1–6 scale) or higher, or Duolingo 105 or higher. Duolingo policies change often, so we confirm the current rule before you apply. If your score is below the minimum, prep closes that gap before the deadline.
Not always for admission, but almost always for merit scholarships. The admitted average is around 1270. Without an SAT score you can be admitted and pay full price; with a competitive score, the same university can cost much less.
The ENEM plays no part. The university converts the transcript grades to the American 0–4 GPA scale from a sworn translation. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The minimum required is 3.0.
The fall entry deadline is May 1, 2027, and spring entry is October 1, 2026 (summer: March 1, 2027). Start 10 to 12 months ahead: transcript translation, English score and proof of funds are the steps that delay applications most.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University admits 65% of applicants. The published minimum GPA for international applicants is 3.0 on the American 0–4 scale — a Brazilian transcript is converted to that scale from a sworn translation. The SAT range and average GPA of admitted students, where the university publishes them, are in the Admission section of this page. Below those marks admission is still possible; what gets harder is merit aid.
$47,814 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $66,926 — about R$ 345,338 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.
On estimated total cost per year, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University comes to $66,926 and Florida Institute of Technology to $65,819. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.
Sources
Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the Common Data Set and the official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.
Data verified on 2026-09-15.
Sources: College Scorecard · Common Data Set · College Navigator · Official university site
Next steps
We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.