Tallahassee, Florida · Public university
Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-09-08. Este guia em português →
Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Profile
The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from Florida State University's own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.
Admission
Florida State University admits 24% of applicants, according to College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
The middle half of admitted students scored between 1300 and 1410 on the SAT and between 29 and 32 on the ACT. The average high-school GPA of admitted students is 4.29; the published minimum for international applicants is 3.0.
In practice, for a Brazilian applicant: a converted transcript near the average GPA and an SAT inside the range put you in the typical admitted group. Below that, admission is still possible, but merit aid gets harder.
Costs
Tuition at Florida State University for international students is $25,702 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $42,659 — about R$ 220,120 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-09-08.
| Item | Annual estimate (USD) | Approx. in R$ |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (out of state) | $25,702 | R$ 132,622 |
| Housing and meals | $14,160 | R$ 73,066 |
| Health insurance | $2,797 | R$ 14,433 |
| Estimated total | $42,659 | R$ 220,120 |
Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-09-08. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.
Scholarships
| Scholarship | Amount per year | Criteria | Renewable | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University Out-of-State Tuition Waiver (Merit) | $18,452 | Admitted non-Florida first-year students, international included ('Admitted international first-year students are automatically considered for our out-of-state tuition waiver scholarship'); based on academic performance and test scores, no separate application; 100% waiver of the out-of-state portion of tuition (about $609 per semester hour, $18,452 at 30 hours, $73,808 over four years, prorated to actual enrollment). Renewal: 15 credit hours each semester, cumulative FSU GPA 3.0, degree progress. | Yes | December 1 priority (complete application by the Regular Decision deadline) |
| University Out-of-State Tuition Waiver (Talent - Fine Arts) | $9,150 | Non-Florida first-years in a fine-arts program, recommended by the program after an audition, interview and/or portfolio review; 50% waiver of the out-of-state portion of tuition (about $305 per semester hour, $9,150 at 30 hours, $36,660 over four years). Renewal: 15 credits/semester, 3.0 FSU GPA, continued enrollment in the major. International eligibility not stated. | Yes | December 1 priority |
| Presidential Scholars Program | $10,500 – $28,952 | FSU's premier university-funded merit scholarship: $42,000 over four years plus an out-of-state tuition waiver valued at $73,808; requires applying to the University Honors Program (December 1); invitation-only with interview. International eligibility not stated. | Yes | December 1 (Honors Program application) |
| Stamps Scholars Program | Five incoming first-years per year, chosen from the Presidential Scholars pool; valued up to the full estimated cost of attendance for four years including an out-of-state tuition waiver, plus $20,000 in enrichment funding. International eligibility not stated. | Yes | December 1 (Honors Program application) |
Merit scholarships: students have received between 0% and 25% of tuition (conservative estimate, 2026–2027; verified on 2026-09-08). Typical conditions: Merit out-of-state tuition waiver, automatic for admitted international first-years; score criteria not published. The real amount depends on your profile — we never promise percentages.
Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.
International aid
Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.
Amount per year: 100% waiver of the out-of-state portion of tuition: ~US$609 per credit hour, US$18,452 per year (30 credits), US$73,808 over four years (scholarships page); the renewal page says US$18,270/year and US$73,080 total. Prorated by enrollment; does not cover fees.
Requirements: Admitted non-Florida first-year; automatic selection on classroom performance and test scores. Criteria vary each year; no SAT/ACT/CLT score, no consideration.
International: Yes
Renewal: Automatically renewed each semester with 15 credit hours per semester, cumulative FSU GPA of 3.0 or better and consistent degree progress. Not applicable to study-abroad programs.
Deadline: No separate deadline; the page says apply for admission by December 1 (Regular Decision). Merit priority goes to ED/EA, which international applicants cannot use.
How to apply: Automatic with the admission application; no separate form. Offer shows on the Admissions Portal with the decision.
Amount per year: 50% waiver of the out-of-state tuition portion: ~US$305 per credit hour, US$9,150 per year, US$36,660 over four years.
Requirements: Recommended by the fine-arts major program after audition, interview and/or portfolio review; non-Florida resident.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Automatic each semester: 15 credits, FSU GPA 3.0+, consistent progress and continued enrollment in the specified arts major.
Deadline: Apply for admission by December 1.
How to apply: Through the department's audition/portfolio process; no scholarship form.
Amount per year: US$12,000 total, US$1,500 per semester over eight semesters.
Requirements: First-years who stood out in holistic review for character and potential impact. The renewal page says 'qualifying first-year students' with no residency restriction (Vires, by contrast, is Florida residents only).
International: Not stated
Renewal: Automatic each semester: 15 credits, FSU GPA 3.0+, consistent progress.
Deadline: No separate deadline; apply early (Regular Decision December 1).
How to apply: Automatic; no separate application.
Amount per year: US$8,000 total, US$1,000 per semester over eight semesters.
Requirements: Earning the IB Diploma. Students admitted through Seminole Pathways or FSU Next are ineligible.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Automatic each semester: 15 credits, FSU GPA 3.0+, consistent progress.
Deadline: Apply for admission by December 1.
How to apply: Automatic; no separate application.
Amount per year: US$4,000 total, US$500 per semester over eight semesters.
Requirements: At the admissions director's discretion for applications that stood out in holistic review; no preset criteria.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Automatic each semester: 15 credits, FSU GPA 3.0+, consistent progress.
Deadline: Apply for admission by December 1.
How to apply: Automatic; no separate application.
Amount per year: US$42,000 over four years (US$14,000 Presidential + US$16,000 Vires + US$12,000 enrichment) plus an out-of-state tuition waiver valued at US$73,808 (scholarships page) / US$73,080 (renewal page).
Requirements: High school seniors admitted into the University Honors Program; invitation-only selection with video responses (semi-finalists) and an on-campus interview in Tallahassee (finalists, Recruitment Weekend April 2-3, 2027).
International: Not stated
Renewal: Automatic each semester: 15 credits, FSU GPA 3.0+, consistent progress.
Deadline: FSU application and Honors/Presidential essay by Dec. 1, 2026, 11:59 p.m. EST; semi-finalists notified Feb. 18, 2027; videos due Feb. 28, 2027.
How to apply: Select 'Yes' to 'Are you interested in applying to the University Honors Program?' on the application and submit the Honors supplemental essay on the Admissions Portal; the rest is by invitation.
Amount per year: Up to the full estimated cost of attendance for four years, including an out-of-state tuition waiver, plus US$20,000 in enrichment funding. Five awards per year.
Requirements: Chosen from among Presidential Scholars (Honors Program applicants); additional interview with the national Stamps Scholars leadership.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Automatic each semester: 15 credits, FSU GPA 3.0+, consistent progress.
Deadline: Same timeline as Presidential Scholars (Dec. 1, 2026).
How to apply: Automatic through the Honors Program application; invitation-only.
Amount per year: Waiver of the out-of-state portion for 1 to 12 credit hours per semester according to FSU GPA (minimum 1 credit at GPA 3.5 for summer / 3.7 for fall and spring; maximum 10-12 credits at GPA 4.0). Student still pays the in-state portion and fees.
Requirements: Undergraduate, F-1 status, main campus, at least one completed full-time semester at FSU with 12 graded credits; cumulative GPA 3.5+ (or 3.5 in the most recent full-time semester). Not available at entry. Holders of an admissions waiver are not eligible (except partial top-up to 12 credits).
International: Yes
Renewal: Not renewable: awarded one semester at a time; reapply each semester.
Deadline: Spring 2026: Oct. 10 to Dec. 5, 5 p.m. Summer and Fall 2026: March 2 to May 4, 5 p.m. (separate applications).
How to apply: CGE online form each semester; committee review; result by email after drop/add.
FSU offers no need-based aid to international first-years: need-based aid runs through the FAFSA, limited to citizens and residents. The Center for Global Engagement lists only Southern Scholarship Foundation cooperative housing, the OAS Rowe Fund interest-free loan (open to Brazilians) and Fulbright, which is graduate only.
Scores
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1300 – 1410 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 29 – 32 |
| Average GPA of admitted students | 4.29 |
| Minimum GPA | 3.0 |
| Minimum TOEFL (1–6 band scale, in force since 21 January 2026) | 4 · tests taken before 21 January 2026: 80 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.5 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 125 |
| Minimum PTE | 55 |
| SAT/ACT policy | SAT or ACT required |
FSU requires an English test from every applicant whose native language is not English and publishes no SAT/ACT or English-medium-school waiver. For a TOEFL iBT taken on or after January 21, 2026 the minimum is already on the new 1–6 scale. Two FSU pages disagree on Duolingo (125 on admissions, 120 in the bulletin); the table uses the admissions page.
The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.
Florida State University's merit scholarship is not a single figure. It is a range, $18,452 to $28,952 per year. Where you land inside it depends on your transcript, the rigour of the courses you took and your SAT or ACT score when you choose to submit one.
The distance between floor and ceiling is $10,500 per year. Over a four-year degree, $42,000, or about R$ 216,720. That is the size of the difference a better score can make, and it is why the test is worth sitting even when it is optional.
The university superscores: it takes your best score in each section across every test date you submit. Retaking the test, in practice, can only help.
Tests
U.S. News publishes the range covering the middle half of admitted students, not an average. Use the range as a gauge of competitiveness (2026 data).
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1270 – 1410 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 29 – 32 |
| Average high-school GPA | 3.7 |
| Acceptance rate | 24% |
Source: U.S. News & World Report
| Test | Minimum score | Note |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT (taken before January 21, 2026, 0–120 scale) | 80 | Official table: 'TOEFL iBT test taken before January 21, 2026. (IBTOEFL) — 80'. Required of 'all international applicants whose native language is not English'. The registrar bulletin still lists only the 80. |
| TOEFL iBT (taken on or after January 21, 2026, new 1–6 scale) | 4.0 | Official table: 'TOEFL iBT test taken on or after January 21, 2026. (IBTOEFL) — 4.0'. FSU already publishes the minimum on the new 1–6 band scale. |
| IELTS Academic | 6.5 | Official table: 'International English Language Testing System (Academic IELTS) — 6.5'. No section minimums published. |
| PTE Academic | 55 | Official table: 'Pearson Test of English (PTE) — 55'. |
| Michigan Language Assessment (MLA / MET) | 55 | Official table: 'Michigan Language Assessment (MLA) — 55'. |
| Duolingo English Test | 125 | The official proficiency page says 'Duolingo — 125'. The University Bulletin (registrar.fsu.edu) says '120 on the Duolingo Examination'. Two FSU sources disagree; the admissions page is newer (it already has the new TOEFL scale). Publish 125 and flag the discrepancy. |
| Cambridge C1 Advanced or C2 Proficiency | 180 (Cambridge English Scale) | Official table: 'Cambridge C1 Advanced Level or C2 Proficiency — 180'. |
| Cambridge B2 First | not listed | The table names only C1 Advanced and C2 Proficiency (180). B2 First appears neither on the proficiency page nor in the Bulletin. |
| TOEFL Essentials | not listed | Not on the proficiency page or in the Bulletin. |
| iTEP | not listed | Not on the proficiency page or in the Bulletin. |
| ELS (level 112) | not listed | Not on the proficiency page or in the Bulletin. The Bulletin instead accepts 'the successful completion of Level 8 (Advanced Level) at Florida State University's Center for Intensive English Studies' (FSU's own intensive English program). |
| Waiver by SAT/ACT English section | not listed | None of the pages checked offers an English-test waiver for an SAT EBRW or ACT English score. The requirement is defined by native language: 'required of all international applicants whose native language is not English'. |
| Waiver for English-medium schooling | not listed | No English-medium-school waiver is published. The only published criterion is 'native language is not English'. Anyone wanting a waiver must ask admissions@fsu.edu; the page does not promise one. |
Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.
SAT, ACT or CLT is required for every first-year applicant, international included, under Florida Board of Governors rules; no test score, no merit scholarship. FSU superscores (highest sub-scores across dates) and, from the 2025-26 cycle, ignores the ACT Science section. International applicants cannot use Early Decision or Early Action.
Is your score below 4 (1–6 scale) on the TOEFL or 125 on the Duolingo test? That does not end the plan — our live prep courses with a teacher exist to close exactly that gap.
Majors
FSU is best known abroad for film. The College of Motion Picture Arts has its own building, its own selection process with a portfolio and letters, and small cohorts that start making films early. Criminology, theatre, music, dance, creative writing and business are also strong. Engineering is a separate case: the FAMU-FSU College of Engineering is shared with Florida A&M, runs out of its own building in Innovation Park, and students take their early coursework on their home campus before moving there. There is an honors program and a smaller campus in Panama City, on the coast.
There are 166 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.
The 45 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.
166 majors
No major matches that name. Try a broader word, or the degree code.
Graduate
For master's, FSU offers a combined pathway: you can start graduate coursework as an undergraduate and finish the second degree in less time. The fields most sought by international students are engineering, business, data analytics, public administration and the arts, with formats that range from full-time to evening to online depending on the department. Each department sets its own tests, letters and portfolio requirements, so confirm directly with it before assembling your paperwork.
Close to 19% of Florida State University's graduate students come from outside the United States. It is a far more international room than the undergraduate one, and that changes the experience: almost everyone beside you also arrived recently.
There are 99 programs open to international students, 32 of them STEM-designated.
| Program | STEM | GRE or GMAT required | Intake |
|---|---|---|---|
| Anne Spencer Daves College of Education, Health, and Human Sciences12 | |||
| Athletic Coaching | No | — | |
| Counseling and Human Systems | No | — | |
| Curriculum and Instruction | No | — | |
| Educational Leadership and Policy | No | — | |
| Educational Psychology | No | — | |
| Exercise Physiology | STEM | No | — |
| Food and Nutrition | No | — | |
| Higher Education | No | — | |
| Human Development and Family Science | No | — | |
| Instructional Systems and Learning Technologies | STEM | No | — |
| Measurement and Statistics | STEM | No | — |
| Sport Management | No | — | |
| College of Applied Studies1 | |||
| Professional Communication | No | FSpSu | |
| College of Arts and Sciences28 | |||
| Anthropology | — | FSpSu | |
| Biological Sciences | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Biostatistics | STEM | — | — |
| Chemistry | STEM | — | — |
| Classics | — | — | |
| Computational Science (MS/PSM) | STEM | — | — |
| Computer Science | STEM | — | — |
| Creative Writing (MFA) | No | FSpSu | |
| East Asian Languages and Cultures | — | — | |
| English | No | FSpSu | |
| French | — | — | |
| Geology | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| German | — | — | |
| Greek | — | — | |
| History | — | — | |
| Interdisciplinary Data Science (MS) | STEM | — | — |
| Italian Studies | — | — | |
| Latin | — | — | |
| Mathematics | STEM | — | — |
| Meteorology | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Oceanography | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Philosophy | — | — | |
| Physics | STEM | — | — |
| Psychology | — | — | |
| Religion | — | — | |
| Slavic | — | — | |
| Spanish | — | — | |
| Statistics | STEM | — | — |
| College of Business4 | |||
| Accounting (MAcc) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Business Administration (MBA) | No | FSpSu | |
| Business Analytics (MS-BA) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Finance (MSF) | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| College of Communication and Information5 | |||
| Communication and Digital Media Studies | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Communication Science and Disorders | No | — | |
| Information (MSI) | STEM | — | — |
| Information Technology (MSIT) | STEM | — | — |
| Professional Communication | No | FSpSu | |
| College of Criminology and Criminal Justice1 | |||
| Criminology | — | — | |
| College of Fine Arts8 | |||
| Art Education | — | — | |
| Art Therapy | — | — | |
| Arts Administration (Art) | — | — | |
| Dance | — | — | |
| History and Criticism of Art | — | — | |
| Interior Design | — | — | |
| Studio Art (MFA) | — | — | |
| Theatre | — | — | |
| College of Law3 | |||
| American Law for Foreign Lawyers (LL.M.) | — | FSpSu | |
| Business Law (LL.M.) | — | FSpSu | |
| Environmental Law and Policy (LL.M.) | — | FSpSu | |
| College of Medicine3 | |||
| Biomedical Sciences | STEM | — | — |
| Genetic Counseling | — | — | |
| Physician Assistant Practice (MSPAP) | — | — | |
| College of Motion Picture Arts2 | |||
| Motion Picture Arts (MFA) | No | FSpSu | |
| Motion Picture Arts Writing (MFA) | No | FSpSu | |
| College of Music8 | |||
| Arts Administration (Music) | — | — | |
| Music - Liberal Arts | — | — | |
| Music Education | — | — | |
| Music Performance | — | — | |
| Music Theory and Composition | — | — | |
| Music Therapy | — | — | |
| Musicology | — | — | |
| Opera Production | — | — | |
| College of Social Sciences and Public Policy12 | |||
| Applied Economics | — | — | |
| Asian Studies | No | FSpSu | |
| Demography | STEM | — | — |
| Economics | STEM | — | — |
| Geographic Information Science | STEM | — | — |
| Geography | — | — | |
| International Affairs | No | FSpSu | |
| Political Science (MAAPP) | No | FSpSu | |
| Public Administration (MPA) | — | FSpSu | |
| Public Health (MPH) | — | — | |
| Sociology | — | — | |
| Urban and Regional Planning (MSP) | — | — | |
| College of Social Work1 | |||
| Social Work (MSW) | — | FSpSu | |
| Dedman College of Hospitality1 | |||
| Entrepreneurship - Hospitality Entrepreneurship (MSE) | — | — | |
| FAMU–FSU College of Engineering8 | |||
| Aerospace Engineering | — | — | |
| Biomedical Engineering | STEM | — | — |
| Chemical Engineering | STEM | — | — |
| Civil Engineering | STEM | — | — |
| Electrical Engineering | STEM | — | — |
| Industrial Engineering | STEM | — | — |
| Materials Science and Engineering | STEM | — | — |
| Mechanical Engineering | STEM | — | — |
| Jim Moran College of Entrepreneurship2 | |||
| Entrepreneurship (MSE) | — | — | |
| Retail Entrepreneurship (MSE) | — | — | |
No program matches those filters. Clear one of them.
The STEM designation matters more at master's level than at undergraduate. It allows a request for 24 extra months of OPT on top of the initial 12, which means up to three years working in the United States off a one- or two-year degree.
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| Minimum TOEFL (1–6 band scale, in force since 21 January 2026) | 4 · tests taken before 21 January 2026: 80 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.5 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 125 |
| Application fee | $30 |
| Minimum full-time load | 9 credit hours per semester |
29 of the programs above waive the GRE and GMAT. The rest require the test, and a waiver is only considered for applicants holding a business degree from an AACSB-accredited institution. Work experience does not count towards a waiver.
Beyond a transcript from every institution you attended, with certified translation, the application asks for a personal statement in English, a professional resume and two reference forms from people who can speak to your academic and professional background. A course-by-course credential evaluation is strongly recommended.
| Intake | Application complete by |
|---|---|
| Fall intake | July 1 (university final deadline); most programs close much earlier |
| Spring intake | November 1 (university final deadline); many programs admit in fall only |
Deadlines
| Intake | Application deadline | Scholarship deadline |
|---|---|---|
| Fall intake | December 1, 2026 (Regular Decision, priority date for scholarships); applications continue until March 1, 2027 as space allows | December 1, 2026 (Regular Decision; no SAT/ACT/CLT score, no merit scholarship) |
| Spring intake | no first-year admission in spring (summer and fall only) |
Documents
The order below is the order in which Florida State University asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.
Campus
FSU sits on a stretch of red brick in the middle of Tallahassee, and the first surprise is the terrain. North Florida has hills, oaks draped in Spanish moss and reddish soil. You walk up College Avenue and reach Westcott, the landmark building, with its fountain out front. From there inward, you can cross the whole place on foot. Landis Green is the lawn where everyone lies down between classes, and Strozier Library stays open late and turns into one big shared study room during exam week.
On football Saturdays the city wears garnet and gold. Osceola rides into Doak Campbell with a flaming spear and the stadium does the war chant together. For an international student it is the part that takes longest to make sense, and it usually ends up being the favorite part of the year.
First-year housing is mostly suite style, with a shared bedroom and a bathroom split among a few people. No hall requires a meal plan, but in the older halls near Landis almost everyone signs up for one; the newer cluster has kitchens and lounges. Contracts are filled in the order they arrive, so signing early means better choices. Bring extra-long twin sheets and talk to your roommate first, so the two of you do not show up with two mini fridges.




There is no requirement to live on campus in the first year, which opens up sharing an apartment off campus — usually cheaper, with transport left to solve.


City
Tallahassee is the state capital and it looks nothing like the rest of Florida. There is no beach in town, there are trees. The oak-tunnel streets, the canopy roads, are the local postcard. Winter actually gets cold, with jacket days and light frost in the morning, and summer is hot and humid with heavy late-afternoon rain. Hurricane season is part of the calendar: the university sends alerts, classes pause, everyone gets organized and life goes on.
It is a student city. With your FSUCard you ride the Seminole Express and any StarMetro city route for free, and the Nite Nole covers the ride home late at night. Students who live off campus stay in CollegeTown, right next to the university, or in Midtown, and Tennessee Street and Gaines Street hold the bars, cafés and restaurants. Weekends are outdoors: clear-water springs near town, white-sand beach less than two hours away by car, markets and galleries at Railroad Square.
The Brazilian community is small, far smaller than in Miami or Orlando, and international life happens mostly inside the university. The local airport is small, and flights to Brazil usually connect through Atlanta, Miami or Charlotte. To cross Florida without a car there is RedCoach, which stops on campus and links Gainesville, Orlando, Tampa and the Miami area.
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| One-bedroom rent off campus | $1,006 / month |
| Public transport | StarMetro city buses: $1.25 a ride, $3 day pass, $38 31-day pass; FSU students ride any regular route free by swiping the FSUCard. On campus the Seminole Express (7 routes: Garnet, Gold, Heritage, Innovation, Osceola, Renegade, Tomahawk) is free, Mon-Fri 7 AM-8 PM; the Nite Nole night bus runs Mon-Sat 8 PM-3 AM in fall and spring. RedCoach intercity buses stop on campus. |
| Nearest airport | Tallahassee International Airport (TLH), about 10 km / 15 minutes from campus; domestic flights only (American, Delta, JetBlue, Breeze) - international connections through Atlanta, Charlotte, Miami or Dallas. |
| Distance to Orlando | 414 km |
| Distance to Miami | 774 km |
| Climate | Humid subtropical with a real winter by Florida standards: average highs of 92 F (33 C) in July, lows around 40 F (4-5 C) in January with occasional frost, and about 59 inches (1,490 mm) of rain a year, concentrated June-August. |


F-1 students may work on campus without extra authorization: up to 20 hours a week (all jobs combined) in fall and spring; more than 20 hours during breaks and summer unless summer is the first or final semester.
Careers
The median salary of graduates from this university is $66,924 a year, according to the College Scorecard, a US government public database.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.
CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.
OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.
Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-09-08. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.
Compare
FSU makes sense for anyone who wants the classic American college-town experience: a campus you cross on foot, tradition, sport and a strong cultural life. It does not make sense for anyone dreaming of a beach at the door, internships at multinationals and a large Brazilian community; Miami, Orlando or Tampa deliver more of that. Next to UF, FSU is remembered for the arts and humanities. Next to UCF or USF, it is less of a commuter school and more of a live-on-campus one.
The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.
| University | Total cost per year | Average SAT | Minimum TOEFL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Florida State University (this page) | $42,659 | 1300 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| Florida Gulf Coast University | $44,141 | 1120 | 79 |
| Florida Polytechnic University | $38,801 | 1290 | 61 |
| The University of Tampa | $50,124 | 1180 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
FAQ
The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $42,659 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.
TOEFL 4 (1–6 scale) or higher, or Duolingo 125 or higher. Duolingo policies change often, so we confirm the current rule before you apply. If your score is below the minimum, prep closes that gap before the deadline.
Not always for admission, but almost always for merit scholarships. The admitted average is around 1300. Without an SAT score you can be admitted and pay full price; with a competitive score, the same university can cost much less.
The ENEM plays no part. The university converts the transcript grades to the American 0–4 GPA scale from a sworn translation. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The minimum required is 3.0.
The fall entry deadline is December 1, 2026 (Regular Decision, priority date for scholarships); applications continue until March 1, 2027 as space allows, and spring entry is no first-year admission in spring (summer and fall only). Start 10 to 12 months ahead: transcript translation, English score and proof of funds are the steps that delay applications most.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.
Florida State University admits 24% of applicants. The published minimum GPA for international applicants is 3.0 on the American 0–4 scale — a Brazilian transcript is converted to that scale from a sworn translation. The SAT range and average GPA of admitted students, where the university publishes them, are in the Admission section of this page. Below those marks admission is still possible; what gets harder is merit aid.
$25,702 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $42,659 — about R$ 220,120 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.
On estimated total cost per year, Florida State University comes to $42,659 and Florida Gulf Coast University to $44,141. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.
Yes. Your FSUCard gets you free rides on the Seminole Express and on StarMetro city routes, and the Nite Nole brings you home late at night. Students in CollegeTown walk to class, and the campus is built for bikes. A car only matters for weekend trips, and by then someone in your group usually has one.
Being admitted to FSU is not enough. The College of Motion Picture Arts has its own application, with a résumé, personal statement, creative material, and recommendation letters, and its deadline closes before the university's general one. Select the film major when you apply to the university and prepare the portfolio months ahead. Confirm the exact checklist for the year on the college's own site.
Yes. The engineering college is shared with Florida A&M and sits in its own building in Innovation Park, away from both main campuses. You apply through one of the two universities, take your early coursework on that campus, and then attend classes alongside everyone else. Your degree comes from the university you entered through, and the bus network covers the trip.
Sources
Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the Common Data Set and the official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.
Data verified on 2026-09-08.
Sources: College Scorecard · Common Data Set · College Navigator · Official university site
Next steps
We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.