Independent guide to Florida universities for Brazilian and international students — real costs, verified merit scholarships, admission step by step
English · Português

Tampa, Florida · Private university

The University of Tampa (UT) for Brazilian students

Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-08-15. Este guia em português →

Tuition/year
$33,724
Total cost/year
$50,124
In reais (R$)
R$ 258,640
Talk to an advisor

Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Plant Hall, o prédio histórico com minaretes prateados que é o cartão-postal da University of Tampa
Photo: Alaska Miller · CC BY-SA 4.0

Profile

The University of Tampa by the numbers

The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from The University of Tampa's own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.

Acceptance rate
40%
Undergraduate students
10,598
Total students
11,433
International students
4.5%
Student-faculty ratio
17:1
Graduation rate (6 years)
64%
Founded
1931
Campus setting
Urban, large city

Admission

The University of Tampa acceptance rate: how hard it is to get in

The University of Tampa admits 40% of applicants, according to College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.

The published minimum for international applicants is 3.0.

In practice, for a Brazilian applicant: the converted transcript has to clear the published minimum; a stronger transcript and an SAT score mainly change the size of the merit aid, not admission itself.

Costs

The University of Tampa tuition and total cost per year

Tuition at The University of Tampa for international students is $33,724 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $50,124 — about R$ 258,640 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-08-15.

ItemAnnual estimate (USD)Approx. in R$
Tuition (out of state)$33,724R$ 174,016
Housing and meals$13,500R$ 69,660
Health insurance$2,900R$ 14,964
Estimated total$50,124R$ 258,640

Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-08-15. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.

Annual cost breakdown: Tuition $33,724, Housing and meals $13,500, Health insurance $2,90067.3%26.9%
Tuition · $33,724Housing and meals · $13,500Health insurance · $2,900

Scholarships

Scholarships at The University of Tampa: conservative numbers

ScholarshipAmount per yearCriteriaRenewableDeadline
Presidential Scholarship$10,000 – $18,000First-year students; unweighted GPA, curriculum rigor and leadership or community serviceYesAutomatic with the application
Transfer Scholarship$6,000 – $9,000Transfer students from another collegeYesAutomatic with the application
Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship$2,000Transfer students who are PTK membersYesAutomatic with the application
Departmental Scholarships$500 – $2,500By program or talent (music, theatre, art), with audition or portfolioVaries by department

Merit scholarships: students have received between 20% and 45% of tuition (conservative estimate, 2026–2027; verified on 2026-08-15). Typical conditions: Merit with SAT 1150+ and GPA 3.3+; a dedicated award for the IB Diploma. The real amount depends on your profile — we never promise percentages.

Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.

International aid

Scholarships for international students at The University of Tampa

Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.

Presidential Scholarship (UTampa Presidential Merit Scholarship)

Amount per year: $10,000 to $18,000 per year

Requirements: High school (first-year) applicants. 'Demonstrate leadership or community service'. Eligibility 'based upon unweighted GPA and course rigor for coursework completed at the time of admission'; the 2026-2027 catalog says 'holistic review of application materials with emphasis on unweighted GPA and course rigor (e.g. IB, AP, AICE)'. No minimum GPA or SAT/ACT is published. 'The decision to award merit scholarships and the amount of the award are made at the time of admission and may not be appealed.' 'NOTE: Scholarship funds are limited and amounts may change.'

International: Yes

Renewal: Renewable for up to 8 semesters (fall/spring) while meeting federal Satisfactory Academic Progress (2.0 cumulative GPA, 67% completion) and enrolling full-time; reviewed each spring. 'Students can expect to receive the same scholarship and award amount in each subsequent fall and spring semester for a maximum of eight (8) semesters or until normal degree completion would occur (whichever comes first) when they meet all renewal requirements.'

Deadline: No separate deadline; decided with admission. Application deadlines: Early Decision Nov. 1, Early Action Nov. 15, Regular Decision Jan. 15; rolling after that. Awarded 'on a funds-available basis'.

How to apply: Automatic with the application: 'U.S. citizens and non-citizens are automatically considered for the Presidential or Transfer scholarships at the time of admission.' 'The University of Tampa does not require a separate application for most merit-based scholarships.'

Transfer Scholarship (UTampa Transfer Merit Scholarship)

Amount per year: $6,000 to $9,000 per year

Requirements: 'College transfer applicants' (catalog: at least 17 college credits completed at time of application). Based on unweighted GPA and course rigor.

International: Yes

Renewal: Same rules as the Presidential: federal SAP + full-time, up to normal degree completion (124 credits for most programs).

Deadline: No separate deadline; transfer applications are reviewed on a rolling basis.

How to apply: Automatic with the transfer application.

Departmental Scholarships (Music; Musical Theatre, Theatre and Dance; Art; English and Writing; Film, Animation and New Media; Bonner Leaders; President's Leadership Fellows; DoD Cybersecurity)

Amount per year: About $500 to $2,500 per academic year

Requirements: Talent, declared major, community-service commitment or other criteria; amounts 'range from about $500 to $2,500 per academic year. Eligibility and application requirements vary.' Music, Musical Theatre, Theatre and Dance require an audition. President's Leadership Fellows: $1,000/yr, 25-30 first-year students per year, separate application at www.ut.edu/leadership, deadline Feb. 15.

International: Not stated

Renewal: Minimum GPA and continued major: Music 3.0 (website) / 2.8 (2026-2027 catalog), Musical Theatre-Theatre-Dance 2.8, Art 2.8, English and Writing 2.8, Film 2.8; Bonner Leaders 3.0; President's Leadership Fellows 3.0. Music requires ensemble participation and studio lessons every semester.

Deadline: Varies by department; PLF Feb. 15.

How to apply: 'Most require a separate application and have specific requirements for renewal.'

UTampa International Freshman Merit Scholarship / International Transfer Merit Scholarship (names listed only on the renewal page)

Amount per year: not published

Requirements: The renewal page lists 'UTampa International Freshman Merit Scholarship' and 'UTampa International Transfer Merit Scholarship' among merit awards renewed under federal SAP, but no current UT page publishes an amount or criteria. The 2019-2020 catalog said 'Scholarships up to $11,000 per academic year are awarded to incoming freshmen and up to $7,000 for transfer students' for internationals — that page no longer exists from the 2023-2024 catalog onward. 'How to Apply' summarises: 'UTampa offers partial scholarships to academically exceptional undergraduate international students.'

International: Yes

Renewal: Federal SAP + full-time, up to 8 semesters (same list as the Presidential).

Deadline: not stated

How to apply: Presumably automatic with admission (UT says most merit awards need no separate application); not confirmed for this specific award.

UTampa International Baccalaureate Scholarship

Amount per year: not currently published (2019-2020 catalog: $1,000 per year)

Requirements: Name appears only on the renewal list. No current page publishes an amount or criteria. IB counts toward the Presidential Scholarship as 'course rigor (e.g. IB, AP, AICE)' and earns up to 30 credits for scores of 4+. The 2019-2020 catalog listed an 'International Baccalaureate (IB) Scholarship' of $1,000/yr — historical, do not present as current.

International: Not stated

Renewal: Federal SAP + full-time (renewal list).

Deadline: not stated

How to apply: not stated

Honors Program (not an entry scholarship)

Amount per year: No annual entry scholarship; application-based funds: Timothy M. Smith Inspiration Through Exploration Award ($2,500 for summer international travel), NCHC/FCHC conference costs covered, Honors education-abroad scholarships and an Oxford semester

Requirements: 'Incoming freshmen are automatically considered for the Honors Program when they are accepted for admissions to the University of Tampa.' Eligibility: '3.5 GPA (unweighted)'. Test-optional. Good standing requires a 3.5 cumulative GPA.

International: Not stated

Renewal: 3.5 cumulative GPA to stay; formal 'full enrollment' application in October of year one after HON 100 with a B or better.

Deadline: Automatic invitation at admission; full-enrollment application by Oct. 15 of the first semester.

How to apply: Automatic ('Admissions office invites students to the Honors Program'); travel/research awards need a separate application.

External scholarships listed by UT that are open to international students

Amount per year: varies

Requirements: On UT's 'Outside Scholarships' list only two entries are tagged 'Domestic and International applicants accepted': Tellone Financial Services Scholarship and Tien VO MD Grant. The rest do not state international eligibility.

International: Yes

Renewal: set by the donor

Deadline: varies

How to apply: Directly with the donor; 'Students must notify the Financial Aid Office of any private or outside scholarships and awards.'

Need-based aid

There is no need-based aid for non-U.S. citizens; UT says so in as many words. For Brazilian students, what exists is the automatic merit scholarship and the departmental awards.

Scores

What The University of Tampa asks of Brazilian applicants

RequirementReference
SAT (average of admitted students)1180
Minimum GPA3.0
Minimum TOEFL (1–6 band scale, in force since 21 January 2026)4 · tests taken before 21 January 2026: 79
Minimum IELTS6.5
Minimum Duolingo110
SAT/ACT policyTest-optional

How your Brazilian transcript is read

The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.

Why the score is worth money

The University of Tampa's merit scholarship is not a single figure. It is a range, $10,000 to $18,000 per year. Where you land inside it depends on your transcript, the rigour of the courses you took and your SAT or ACT score when you choose to submit one.

Merit scholarship range: $10,000 to $18,000 per year$10,000$18,000floorceiling

The distance between floor and ceiling is $8,000 per year. Over a four-year degree, $32,000, or about R$ 165,120. That is the size of the difference a better score can make, and it is why the test is worth sitting even when it is optional.

Tests

Admission tests at The University of Tampa

Admitted-student profile according to U.S. News & World Report

U.S. News publishes the range covering the middle half of admitted students, not an average. Use the range as a gauge of competitiveness (2026 data).

ItemReference
SAT (25th–75th percentile)1140 – 1300
ACT (25th–75th percentile)23 – 28
Average high-school GPA3.6
Acceptance rate40%

Source: U.S. News & World Report

Accepted English tests and minimum scores

TestMinimum scoreNote
TOEFL iBT79 (4.0 on the new 1-6 scale)Official text: 'TOEFL: 4.0 (iBt) or 8.5 (Essentials Test). If you took the iBt exam prior to January 21, 2026, we require a minimum score of 79.' So 79 applies only to tests taken before 21 Jan 2026; later tests are read on the 1-6 scale, minimum 4.0. The 2026-2027 catalog still says 'minimum score of 79-80'; the admissions page is the current one.
TOEFL Essentials8.5Listed with the iBT: 'TOEFL: 4.0 (iBt) or 8.5 (Essentials Test)'. Catalog confirms: 'TOEFL Essentials with a score of 8.5 or higher'.
IELTS Academic6.5 (overall)'IELTS: Overall band score 6.5'. No per-band minimum is published.
Duolingo English Test110'Duolingo: 110'. Confirmed in the 2026-2027 catalog: 'UTampa also accepts the Duolingo English Test with a score of 110 or higher.'
SAT (Reading and Writing)530 on Reading/WritingCounts as English proof, not an admission requirement: 'Official SAT/ACT test scores can be reviewed for consideration if submitted with application (530 on Reading/Writing for SAT, 40 on English section for ACT)'.
ACT (English)published as "40" (the section tops out at 36)The figure on UT's site looks like a typo. Confirm with admissions before relying on the ACT as proof of English.
IB Diploma / IB English A HLFull IB Diploma or IB English A at Higher LevelWaives the test: 'Completion of the IB Diploma Program or taking IB English A as a higher-level subject'.
ELS Level 112 / Tampa Language Center Level 6Completion of ELS 112 or Tampa Language Center Level 6Waives the test: 'Completion of ELS 112 or Tampa Language Center Level 6 program'. The catalog adds, for the ELS 112 certificate, 'a minimum score of 79 on the Michigan Test of English (MELAB)'.
I/GCSE EnglishGrade B or higherWaives the test: 'A minimum grade of B or higher in I/GCSE English'.
U.S. high school (4 years)4 years at a U.S. high school with B or higher in EnglishWaives the test: 'Attendance at a high school within the United States for a minimum of four years. Students must maintain grades of B or higher in English courses'. There is no general waiver for English-medium/American-curriculum schools outside the U.S.; Brazil is not on the country waiver list.
PTE Academicnot accepted (not listed)PTE Academic is not listed on the international admissions page or in the 2026-2027 catalog. Confirm with admissions@ut.edu before booking.
Cambridge English (B2 First / C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency)not accepted (not listed)Cambridge B2 First, C1 Advanced and C2 Proficiency appear neither on the international admissions page nor in the 2026–2027 catalog.
iTEPnot accepted (not listed)iTEP does not appear on any UT admissions page checked.

Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.

SAT and ACT

UT is test-optional for every first-year applicant, international included: the SAT and ACT are not required, and the university recommends an SAT above 1200 or ACT above 25 for those who choose to submit. Merit scholarships are based on unweighted GPA and curriculum rigor, not on the SAT. UT does not state whether it superscores. Verified on 2026-09-05.

Is your score below 4 (1–6 scale) on the TOEFL or 110 on the Duolingo test? That does not end the plan — our live prep courses with a teacher exist to close exactly that gap.

Majors

All majors at The University of Tampa

There are 66 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.

The 14 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.

66 majors

College of Arts and Letters24

Animation
STEM
Art
Visual Arts
Art Therapy
Film and Media Arts
Communication and Media Studies
Communication and Speech Studies
Dance
Design
Graphic Design
Music Education
K-12
Writing
Spanish
Philosophy
Journalism
English
Museum Studies
Music
Music Performance
New Media
Speech/Theatre
Advertising and Public Relations
Theatre
Musical Theatre

College of Natural and Health Sciences14

Biology
STEM
Marine Biology
STEM
Biochemistry
STEM
Forensic Science
STEM
Allied Health
Marine Science - Biology
Human Performance
Nursing
Environmental Studies
STEM
Physics
STEM
Sport Management
Chemistry
STEM
Marine Chemistry
Public Health

College of Social Sciences, Mathematics and Education15

Computer Science
STEM
Data Science
STEM
Political Science
Actuarial Science
STEM
Criminology and Criminal Justice
International Studies
History
Education - Secondary Biology
Education - Secondary Social Sciences
Education - Secondary Mathematics
Mathematics
STEM
Mathematics with Computer Science
STEM
Education - Elementary K-6
Psychology
Applied Sociology

Continuing Studies1

Liberal Studies

Sykes College of Business12

Management
Business Analytics
Accounting
Economics
Entrepreneurship
Finance
Marketing
International Business
Cybersecurity
STEM
Management Information Systems
Financial Enterprise Systems
Business Information Technology

Graduate

Graduate study at The University of Tampa

Close to 30% of The University of Tampa's graduate students come from outside the United States. It is a far more international room than the undergraduate one, and that changes the experience: almost everyone beside you also arrived recently.

There are 14 programs open to international students, 7 of them STEM-designated.

14 programs

ProgramSTEMGRE or GMAT requiredIntake
Executive Doctor of Business Administration (EDBA)NoFSpSu
M.A. in Professional CommunicationNoFSpSu
M.A. in Social and Emerging MediaSTEMNoFSpSu
M.S. in AccountingYesFSpSu
M.S. in Business AnalyticsSTEMYesFSpSu
M.S. in Criminology and Criminal JusticeNoFSpSu
M.S. in CybersecuritySTEMYesFSpSu
M.S. in EntrepreneurshipNoFSpSu
M.S. in Exercise and Nutrition ScienceSTEMNoFSpSu
M.S. in FinanceSTEMYesFSpSu
M.S. in Information and Technology ManagementSTEMYesFSpSu
M.S. in Instructional Design and TechnologySTEMNoFSpSu
M.S. in MarketingYesFSpSu
Master of Business Administration (MBA)YesFSpSu
FSpSuF = fall (August) · Sp = spring (January) · Su = summer (May)No = GRE/GMAT waived · Yes = required · — = confirm with the program

The STEM designation matters more at master's level than at undergraduate. It allows a request for 24 extra months of OPT on top of the initial 12, which means up to three years working in the United States off a one- or two-year degree.

What the graduate programs require

RequirementReference
Minimum TOEFL90
Minimum IELTS6.5
Minimum Duolingo120
Application fee$40
Deposit after admission$300
Minimum full-time load8 credit hours per semester

GRE and GMAT

7 of the programs above waive the GRE and GMAT. The rest require the test, and a waiver is only considered for applicants holding a business degree from an AACSB-accredited institution. Work experience does not count towards a waiver.

Graduate documents

Beyond a transcript from every institution you attended, with certified translation, the application asks for a personal statement in English, a professional resume and two reference forms from people who can speak to your academic and professional background. A course-by-course credential evaluation is strongly recommended.

Graduate deadlines

IntakeApplication complete by
Fall intakeend of May (recommended; rolling admission, no hard deadline)
Spring intakeOctober (recommended; rolling admission, no hard deadline)

Deadlines

When to do what

IntakeApplication deadlineScholarship deadline
Fall intakeJanuary 15 (Regular Decision); rolling afterwardsautomatic with the application
Spring intakerolling

A 12-month timeline

  1. 12 to 10 months out — choose the universities and check whether your English score already clears the minimum. If it does not, this is where prep comes in.
  2. 10 to 8 months out — translate the transcript and request the credential evaluation where required. It takes 2 to 6 weeks and is the single biggest source of delay.
  3. 8 to 6 months out — submit the application and pay the $40 fee.
  4. 6 to 4 months out — acceptance letter and proof of funds. The university only issues the I-20 after approving the bank statement.
  5. 4 to 3 months out — pay the SEVIS fee, complete the DS-160 and book the consular interview. Confirm the fee amounts on the official site: they change.
  6. 3 to 1 month out — consular interview, visa in the passport, flights, insurance and housing.

Documents

What you need to gather

The order below is the order in which The University of Tampa asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.

  1. Complete secondary-school transcript, translated into English by a sworn translator.
  2. English score — TOEFL from 4 (1–6 scale), or Duolingo from 110.
  3. SAT or ACT score, where required and whenever you want to compete for merit aid.
  4. Letter of recommendation from a teacher or coordinator.
  5. Personal statement in English.
  6. Proof of funds — a bank statement showing funds for the first year. It is the document that releases the I-20, and the one most often sent back for correction.
  7. Valid passport and the $40 application fee.

Campus

Campus life and housing

Plant Hall is the first thing you see. The silver minarets above the Hillsborough River were a hotel before they were a university, and they now hold classrooms. The campus is compact and you can cross all of it on foot. Plant Park, the strip of green along the river, is where people sit between classes. The student newspaper is called The Minaret, after the building. The teams are the Spartans, and games happen right there.

There are twelve residence halls. First-year students usually land in the traditional buildings, with shared bathrooms, and share a room with one or two other people. You can request one or two specific roommates until May 1, though the request is not always met. Your roommate's name and contact reach you before you travel. If housing fills up, the university places students at the Barrymore Hotel, four blocks away. There is an official room-change window in the third week of classes.

What surprises you in the first week tends to be small. The air conditioning is freezing in every indoor space. The meal plan works per entry, not per dish. And nobody expects an answer when they ask how you are. Buy bedding once you are in Tampa, because dorm mattresses are not the size you are used to.

Photos: The University of Tampa

There is no requirement to live on campus in the first year, which opens up sharing an apartment off campus — usually cheaper, with transport left to solve.

Photos: The University of Tampa

City

Living in Tampa

The campus sits at the edge of downtown Tampa, across the river. You can walk to the Riverwalk, the promenade along the bank that leads to restaurants and to Channelside. Ybor City, the historic cigar district, is minutes away and is where the city goes at night. The beaches are on the other side of the bay and depend on someone giving you a ride.

The university itself warns international students that public transport in Tampa is limited. Buses exist, but they stop running early, which is a problem if you have evening classes. Taxis are expensive and few apartments sit within walking distance of campus. In practice, living on campus in the first year solves this. After that, the normal arrangement is sharing an apartment with other students and relying on whoever in the group has a car. The university does not run an off-campus roommate matching service, so that arrangement is yours to build.

The heat is constant and so is the humidity. In summer it rains most afternoons, hard and briefly. Hurricane season is part of the calendar and the university has its own protocol for it. It is routine, not a permanent emergency. The airport is TPA, inside the city, connecting to Brazil through the US hubs. You will hear Spanish constantly, and Portuguese almost never.

ItemReference
One-bedroom rent off campus$1,376 / month
Public transportHART buses (US$ 2 per ride, US$ 65 monthly pass) and the TECO Line streetcar linking downtown to Ybor City in 11 stops
Nearest airportTampa International (TPA), about 10 km from downtown, with connections to Brazil via Miami, Atlanta or New York
Distance to Orlando136 km
Distance to Miami452 km
ClimateHumid subtropical: hot summers with near-daily afternoon rain, mild winters, hurricane season June to November
Photos: Ken Lund (CC BY-SA 2.0), The University of Tampa

On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term. Off campus only with CPT or OPT authorized by the university.

Careers

Working during and after the course

The median salary of graduates from this university is $59,436 a year, according to the College Scorecard, a US government public database.

On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.

CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.

OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.

Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-08-15. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.

Compare

How it compares with other Florida universities

The University of Tampa makes sense if you want small classes and a city within walking distance. The campus is short, downtown is across the river, and you depend on nobody to get anywhere. If what you picture is an enormous campus, full stands and college life as the films show it, the large public universities like UF or UCF will fit you better. Both experiences are good. They are different.

The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.

UniversityTotal cost per yearAverage SATMinimum TOEFL
The University of Tampa (this page)$50,12411804 (1–6 scale)
Florida Institute of Technology$65,81912504 (1–6 scale)
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University$66,92612704 (1–6 scale)
University of Florida$51,9931400

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to study at The University of Tampa?

The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $50,124 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.

What English scores does The University of Tampa require?

TOEFL 4 (1–6 scale) or higher, or Duolingo 110 or higher. Duolingo policies change often, so we confirm the current rule before you apply. If your score is below the minimum, prep closes that gap before the deadline.

Do I need the SAT to get into The University of Tampa?

Not always for admission, but almost always for merit scholarships. The admitted average is around 1180. Without an SAT score you can be admitted and pay full price; with a competitive score, the same university can cost much less.

How does The University of Tampa read a Brazilian high-school transcript?

The ENEM plays no part. The university converts the transcript grades to the American 0–4 GPA scale from a sworn translation. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The minimum required is 3.0.

When should I apply to The University of Tampa?

The fall entry deadline is January 15 (Regular Decision); rolling afterwards, and spring entry is rolling. Start 10 to 12 months ahead: transcript translation, English score and proof of funds are the steps that delay applications most.

Can I work while studying at The University of Tampa?

On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.

How hard is it to get into The University of Tampa?

The University of Tampa admits 40% of applicants. The published minimum GPA for international applicants is 3.0 on the American 0–4 scale — a Brazilian transcript is converted to that scale from a sworn translation. The SAT range and average GPA of admitted students, where the university publishes them, are in the Admission section of this page. Below those marks admission is still possible; what gets harder is merit aid.

What is The University of Tampa's tuition for international students?

$33,724 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $50,124 — about R$ 258,640 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.

Is The University of Tampa or Florida Institute of Technology more expensive?

On estimated total cost per year, The University of Tampa comes to $50,124 and Florida Institute of Technology to $65,819. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.

Will my child share a room with two other people?

It can happen. The university states that a large share of first-year students are placed in triple rooms, including those who requested a specific roommate. You can name one or two people until May 1, and the request is not always met. Your roommate's contact arrives before the trip, which helps you agree on who brings what. An official room-change window opens in the third week of classes, and the floor's resident assistant mediates conflicts.

The campus is next to downtown. Is it safe?

Most residence halls have card-access entry and security cameras. Sitting beside downtown means constant movement, which helps more than it hurts. The usual big-city rules apply: pay attention at night, walk with someone, do not leave a bicycle unlocked. It is worth reading the university's campus safety page before you travel and saving the campus security number on your child's phone.

What is the difference between The University of Tampa and the University of South Florida?

They are two different universities in the same city, and the confusion is common. The University of Tampa is private and sits at the edge of downtown, with a compact campus. The University of South Florida is public, sits north of the city, and has a far larger campus and community. Cost, scholarships and admission criteria follow different logics at each. The comparison table on this page puts the numbers side by side.

Sources

Where these numbers come from

Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the university's official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.

Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.

Data verified on 2026-08-15.

Reviewed by Elvis Arias, ICEF-certified education advisor, floridabrazil.org. Independent educational advisory: we are not the Florida-Brazil Linkage Institute or any university, and we never promise scholarship percentages.

Sources: College Scorecard · College Navigator · Official university site

Apply with us

We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.

Talk to an advisor

Reply within 1 business day. No commitment.