Tampa, Florida · Public university
Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-08-15. Este guia em português →
Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Profile
The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from University of South Florida's own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.
Federal data (NCES) covers USF as a whole: the Tampa, St. Petersburg and Sarasota-Manatee campuses. No official Tampa-only breakdown exists.
Admission
University of South Florida admits 43% of applicants, according to College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
The middle half of admitted students scored between 1160 and 1340 on the SAT and between 25 and 29 on the ACT. The average high-school GPA of admitted students is 4.09; the published minimum for international applicants is 3.0.
In practice, for a Brazilian applicant: a converted transcript near the average GPA and an SAT inside the range put you in the typical admitted group. Below that, admission is still possible, but merit aid gets harder.
Costs
Tuition at University of South Florida for international students is $17,324 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $31,524 — about R$ 162,664 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-08-15.
| Item | Annual estimate (USD) | Approx. in R$ |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (out of state) | $17,324 | R$ 89,392 |
| Housing and meals | $11,500 | R$ 59,340 |
| Health insurance | $2,700 | R$ 13,932 |
| Estimated total | $31,524 | R$ 162,664 |
Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-08-15. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.
Scholarships
| Scholarship | Amount per year | Criteria | Renewable | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Green and Gold Presidential Waiver Award | $11,000 | Automatic consideration for admitted first-year non-Florida residents (including international) based on the academic record used for admission; USF publishes no GPA/SAT cutoffs. Waives out-of-state tuition only (not housing, meals or books). | Yes | January 15, 2027 (completed application) |
| Green and Gold Directors Waiver Award | $9,000 | Automatic consideration for admitted first-year non-Florida residents (including international) based on the academic record used for admission; USF publishes no GPA/SAT cutoffs. Waives out-of-state tuition only (not housing, meals or books). | Yes | January 15, 2027 (completed application) |
| Green and Gold Scholars Waiver Award | $5,000 | Automatic consideration for admitted first-year non-Florida residents (including international) based on the academic record used for admission; USF publishes no GPA/SAT cutoffs. Waives out-of-state tuition only (not housing, meals or books). | Yes | January 15, 2027 (completed application) |
Merit scholarships: students have received between 5% and 30% of tuition (conservative estimate, 2026–2027; verified on 2026-08-15). Typical conditions: Merit scholarships with SAT 1200+ and GPA 3.5+; amounts vary by profile. The real amount depends on your profile — we never promise percentages.
Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.
International aid
Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.
Amount per year: ~$44,000 total (up to $11,000 per year), as a partial out-of-state tuition waiver
Requirements: Academic merit (recalculated GPA + SAT/ACT/CLT). Admitted first-year students who are NOT Florida residents. USF does not publish GPA/SAT cut-offs on the current page; the FAQ only says 'Criteria can be found on the Awarding page' and 'Students are awarded the highest scholarship for which they qualify'. Tests taken by December count.
International: Yes
Renewal: Up to 8 consecutive fall/spring semesters in 4 years; full-time enrollment (12 credits), 30 USF credits per academic year and a 3.0 USF GPA. Must remain a non-Florida resident for tuition. Summer payment does not count against the 8-semester limit. Cannot be used for graduate courses or study abroad.
Deadline: January 15, 2027 (Summer/Fall 2027) — complete application: form, fee, official SAT/ACT/CLT scores and transcripts
How to apply: Automatic: 'You are not required to submit any additional applications. All accepted students are automatically considered for our admissions merit scholarships.' Notified by postal mail; shown in Student Self-Service.
Amount per year: ~$36,000 total (up to $9,000 per year), partial out-of-state tuition waiver
Requirements: Same Green & Gold merit criteria; non-Florida residents; cut-offs not published.
International: Yes
Renewal: Same as Presidential: 8 semesters, full-time, 30 credits/year, 3.0 GPA, remain non-resident.
Deadline: January 15, 2027
How to apply: Automatic with a complete admission application.
Amount per year: ~$20,000 total (up to $5,000 per year), partial out-of-state tuition waiver
Requirements: Same merit criteria; non-Florida residents; cut-offs not published. Covers out-of-state tuition only — never housing, meals or books; fewer credits means a smaller waiver.
International: Yes
Renewal: Same: 8 semesters, full-time, 30 credits/year, 3.0 GPA, remain non-resident.
Deadline: January 15, 2027
How to apply: Automatic with a complete admission application.
Amount per year: not stated
Requirements: Out-of-state tuition waiver for College of The Arts majors (audition/portfolio). 'The Green & Gold Talent Waiver also requires you to remain classified as a major within the College of The Arts.' Cannot be combined with the Presidential/Directors/Scholars waivers.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Same general Green & Gold waiver terms (2026-27 T&C).
Deadline: not stated
How to apply: Not stated on the page; talent awards go through the College of The Arts.
Amount per year: $2,000 total in 3 installments (600 + 600 + 800), non-renewable
Requirements: Be an Honors College student (separate application; no GPA/test minimum, average profile GPA 4.10-4.58, SAT 1300-1460, ACT 28-33, CLT 92-105); keep a 3.25 GPA; complete 2 experiential-learning activities and the Honors curriculum with thesis/capstone.
International: Not stated
Renewal: 'Each installment is paid once and is nonrenewable.' Paid in fall/spring only, while enrolled.
Deadline: Honors FTIC: Early Action Nov 2, 2026, Standard Dec 16, 2026, Final Mar 1, 2027. 2026-27 payout forms: Oct 23, 2026, Dec 4, 2026, Jul 23, 2027.
How to apply: Apply to USF, then submit the Honors FTIC application in the applicant portal; the scholarship is released when each completion form is submitted.
Amount per year: $10,000 (one-time) toward an approved academic travel experience (study abroad, conference, internship, research)
Requirements: Admission to USF and the Judy Genshaft Honors College; minimum USF recalculated GPA 4.0; minimum SAT 1450 or ACT 33; FTIC freshman committing to Honors.
International: Not stated
Renewal: One-time $10,000 award; not renewable.
Deadline: Latest published cycle (entry 2026): Early Action Nov 1, 2025, Standard Jan 1, 2026, Final Mar 1, 2026. 2027 dates not yet posted.
How to apply: Own application during the USF admissions process ('open to all prospective students who meet eligibility requirements'); reviewed by the GGE committee in 3 rounds.
Amount per year: Varies; the USF Foundation awards 'over $7 million in privately funded scholarships each year'
Requirements: Vary by college, major and level; some require the FAFSA (financial need). Only admitted students with an active NetID can apply.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Varies by award.
Deadline: AwardSpring reopens December 2026 for the 2027-28 year.
How to apply: Separate AwardSpring application after admission: 'Many departments award scholarships to incoming students, but these require a separate application that can only be submitted after a student has been admitted to USF.'
There is effectively no need-based aid for international students: USF states that most international students will not qualify for FAFSA funding. What exists is merit (the Green & Gold waivers above) and donor-funded awards through AwardSpring, with a separate application after admission.
Scores
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1160 – 1340 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 25 – 29 |
| Average GPA of admitted students | 4.09 |
| Minimum GPA | 3.0 |
| SAT/ACT policy | SAT or ACT required |
USF does not accept TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo or PTE for first-year admission. English proficiency is shown through the required entrance exam: SAT Reading and Writing 490 or higher, or ACT English 17 and Reading 19, or CLT Verbal Reasoning and Writing 38. Verified on 2026-09-04 on the international first-year requirements page.
The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.
University of South Florida's merit scholarship is not a single figure. It is a range, $5,000 to $11,000 per year. Where you land inside it depends on your transcript, the rigour of the courses you took and your SAT or ACT score when you choose to submit one.
The distance between floor and ceiling is $6,000 per year. Over a four-year degree, $24,000, or about R$ 123,840. That is the size of the difference a better score can make, and it is why the test is worth sitting even when it is optional.
The university superscores: it takes your best score in each section across every test date you submit. Retaking the test, in practice, can only help.
Tests
U.S. News publishes the range covering the middle half of admitted students, not an average. Use the range as a gauge of competitiveness (2026 data).
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1130 – 1320 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 24 – 29 |
| Acceptance rate | 43% |
Source: U.S. News & World Report
| Test | Minimum score | Note |
|---|---|---|
| SAT Reading and Writing | 490 | Section minimum for freshman admission AND the English-proficiency proof for applicants from non-English-speaking countries (Brazil included). Math minimum 480. USF does NOT accept TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo for freshmen. |
| SAT Math | 480 | Section minimum for freshman admission (not an English criterion). |
| ACT English | 17 | Section minimum; together with ACT Reading ≥ 19 it proves English for international applicants. ACT Math minimum 19. |
| ACT Reading | 19 | Section minimum and English criterion (with ACT English ≥ 17). |
| ACT Math | 19 | Section minimum for freshman admission. |
| CLT Verbal Reasoning + Grammar/Writing | 38 | Section minimum and English criterion for international applicants. CLT Quantitative Reasoning minimum 16. |
| CLT Quantitative Reasoning | 16 | Section minimum for freshman admission. |
| TOEFL, IELTS, Duolingo, PTE or Cambridge (first-year) | not accepted | USF does not accept proficiency tests in place of the SAT, ACT or CLT minimums for first-year applicants. Graduate admission follows a different rule (see the Cambridge rows). |
| Cambridge B2 First | 176 (subscores 169) — graduate only | Not valid for first-year admission. Accepted for graduate programs. |
| Cambridge C1 Advanced | 180 — graduate only | Not valid for first-year admission. Accepted for graduate programs. |
| Cambridge C2 Proficiency | 200 — graduate only | Not valid for first-year admission. Accepted for graduate programs. |
Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.
The SAT, ACT or CLT is required of every first-year applicant; there is no test-optional route. USF superscores within each test, combining your best section scores across test dates. For international students, English proficiency is shown only through the reading and writing sections of those exams: no English certificate waives it. Scores must arrive directly from the testing agency. Verified on 2026-09-05.
Majors
There are 119 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.
The 43 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.
119 majors
No major matches that name. Try a broader word, or the degree code.
Graduate
Close to 16.9% of University of South Florida's graduate students come from outside the United States. It is a far more international room than the undergraduate one, and that changes the experience: almost everyone beside you also arrived recently.
There are 123 programs open to international students, 34 of them STEM-designated.
| Program | STEM | GRE or GMAT required | Intake |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bellini College of Artificial Intelligence, Cybersecurity and Computing5 | |||
| Artificial Intelligence, M.S.A.I. | — | FSpSu | |
| Computer Engineering, M.S.C.P. | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| Computer Science and Engineering, M.S.C.S.E. | Yes | — | |
| Computer Science, M.S.C.S. | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| Cybersecurity, M.S.C.Y.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| College of Arts and Sciences38 | |||
| Advertising, M.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| Applied Anthropology, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Applied Mathematics, M.A. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Biology, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Cell and Molecular Biology, M.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| Chemistry, M.A. | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| Chemistry, M.S. | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| Communication, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Conservation Biology, M.S. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Creative Writing, M.F.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Cybersecurity Intelligence and Information Security, M.S. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Digital Journalism and Design, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Economics, M.A. | Yes | FSpSu | |
| English, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Environmental Science and Policy, M.S. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Geography, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Geology, M.S. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| History, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Intelligence Studies, M.S. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| International Affairs, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Latin American, Caribbean, and Latino Studies, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Liberal Arts, M.A. | No | FSpSu | |
| Library and Information Science, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Linguistics: English as a Second Language, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Mass Communications, M.A. | No | FSpSu | |
| Mathematics, M.A. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Microbiology, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Philosophy, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Physics, M.S. | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| Psychological Sciences, M.A. | Yes | FSpSu | |
| Psychology, M.A. | — | — | |
| Public Administration, M.P.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Religious Studies, M.A. | Yes | FSpSu | |
| Sociology, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Spanish, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Statistics, M.A. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Urban and Regional Planning, M.U.R.P. | — | FSpSu | |
| Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| College of Behavioral and Community Sciences12 | |||
| Applied Behavior Analysis, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Applied Behavior Analysis, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Clinical Rehabilitation and Mental Health Counseling, M.A. | Yes | FSpSu | |
| Criminal Justice, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Criminology, M.A. | No | FSpSu | |
| Cybercrime, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Gerontology, M.A. | No | FSpSu | |
| Marriage and Family Therapy, M.S. | Yes | FSpSu | |
| Rehabilitation Counseling and Disability Sciences, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Social Work, M.S.W. | No | FSpSu | |
| Speech-Language Pathology, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| College of Design, Art and Performance6 | |||
| Architecture, M.Arch. | — | FSpSu | |
| Art History, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Art, M.F.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Music Education, M.A. | No | FSpSu | |
| Music, M.M. | — | FSpSu | |
| Urban and Community Design, M.U.C.D. | Yes | FSpSu | |
| College of Education21 | |||
| Career and Technical Education, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| College Student Affairs, M.Ed. | — | FSpSu | |
| Counselor Education, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Curriculum and Instruction, M.Ed. | — | FSpSu | |
| Educational Leadership, M.Ed. | — | FSpSu | |
| Educational Studies, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Elementary Education (ESOL and Reading Endorsements), M.A.T. | — | FSpSu | |
| Exceptional Student Education (ESOL and Reading Endorsements), M.A.T. | — | FSpSu | |
| Exceptional Student Education, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Exercise Science, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Higher Education Administration, M.Ed. | — | FSpSu | |
| Learning Design and Technology, M.S. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Mathematics Education, M.A.T. | — | FSpSu | |
| Physical Education, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Reading Education, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| School Psychology, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Science Education, M.A.T. | — | FSpSu | |
| Secondary English Education, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Secondary English Education, M.A.T. | — | FSpSu | |
| Social Science Education, M.A.T. | — | FSpSu | |
| Urban Educational Leadership, M.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| College of Engineering12 | |||
| Aerospace Engineering, M.S.A.E. | No | FSpSu | |
| Biomedical Engineering, M.S.B.E. | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| Chemical Engineering, M.S.Ch. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Civil Engineering, M.S.C.E. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Computer Engineering Systems, M.S.Cp.E. | — | — | |
| Data Intelligence, M.S.D.I. | Yes | FSpSu | |
| Electrical Engineering, M.S.E.E. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Engineering Management, M.S.E.M. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Environmental Engineering, M.S.E.V. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Industrial Engineering, M.S.I.E. | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| Materials Science and Engineering, M.S.M.S.E. | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| Mechanical Engineering, M.S.M.E. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| College of Marine Science1 | |||
| Marine Science, M.S. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| College of Nursing1 | |||
| Nursing, M.S.N. | — | FSpSu | |
| College of Public Health3 | |||
| Health Administration, M.H.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Public Health, M.P.H. | — | FSpSu | |
| Public Health, M.S.P.H. | — | FSpSu | |
| Morsani College of Medicine6 | |||
| Athletic Training, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Bioinformatics and Computational Biology, M.S.B.C.B. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Biotechnology, M.S.B. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Health Informatics, M.S.H.I. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Medical Sciences, M.S.M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Physician Assistant Studies, M.P.A.S. | Yes | FSpSu | |
| Muma College of Business14 | |||
| Accountancy and Analytics, M.S.A.A. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Artificial Intelligence in Business and Digital Transformation, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Artificial Intelligence in Business and Enterprise Integration, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Business Administration, M.B.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Entrepreneurship in Applied Technologies, M.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| Executive, M.B.A. | — | FSpSu | |
| Financial Analytics, M.S. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Fintech, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Hospitality Management, M.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| Information Assurance and Cybersecurity Management, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Management, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Marketing, M.S.M. | — | FSpSu | |
| Sport and Entertainment Management, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Supply Chain Management, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Patel College of Global Sustainability3 | |||
| Global Sustainability, M.A. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Global Sustainability, M.S. | STEM | — | FSpSu |
| Sustainability Management, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
| Taneja College of Pharmacy1 | |||
| Pharmaceutical Nanotechnology, M.S. | — | FSpSu | |
No program matches those filters. Clear one of them.
The STEM designation matters more at master's level than at undergraduate. It allows a request for 24 extra months of OPT on top of the initial 12, which means up to three years working in the United States off a one- or two-year degree.
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| Minimum TOEFL (1–6 band scale, in force since 21 January 2026) | 4.5 · tests taken before 21 January 2026: 79 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.5 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 110 |
| Application fee | $30 |
| Minimum full-time load | 9 credit hours per semester |
21 of the programs above waive the GRE and GMAT. The rest require the test, and a waiver is only considered for applicants holding a business degree from an AACSB-accredited institution. Work experience does not count towards a waiver.
Beyond a transcript from every institution you attended, with certified translation, the application asks for a personal statement in English, a professional resume and two reference forms from people who can speak to your academic and professional background. A course-by-course credential evaluation is strongly recommended.
| Intake | Application complete by |
|---|---|
| Fall intake | June 1 (final deadline; some programs set an earlier priority deadline) |
| Spring intake | October 15 (final deadline) |
Deadlines
| Intake | Application deadline | Scholarship deadline |
|---|---|---|
| Fall intake | March 1, 2027 (Regular Decision by December 16, 2026; Early Action by November 2, 2026) | January 15, 2027 (completed application) |
Documents
The order below is the order in which University of South Florida asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.
Campus
The USF campus in Tampa is large and flat. You can cross it on foot, but it takes time and you arrive sweating, so most students end up learning the schedule of the Bull Runner, the free campus shuttle. Do not expect old brick buildings covered in ivy. The architecture is concrete and glass, spread across wide lawns, oaks and palms, with a botanical garden in the middle. The center of gravity is the Marshall Student Center, home to the food court, study tables and student club rooms.
The nickname is Bulls, and the horns hand sign is something you pick up on day one. What tends to surprise students arriving from abroad is something else: the campus is an island. Around it are wide avenues and strip malls, and there is no block of bars and cafes pressed against the gate. Many students live off campus and come only for class, so social life does not land in your lap. It shows up when you join a club or an intramural team.
In the first year, freshmen live in the residential zone of campus, a few minutes on foot from class. Rooms are almost always shared, in suite or corridor style. You fill out a questionnaire about sleep schedule and study habits, and the system suggests a roommate, or you name someone you already know. Pack light: twin XL bedding is enough, and the rest you buy there.




There is no requirement to live on campus in the first year, which opens up sharing an apartment off campus — usually cheaper, with transport left to solve.


City
Tampa is a working city, not a college town. The campus sits in the north, and downtown takes a trip. Without a car, your life runs on the Bull Runner, the HART buses and rideshare. It works, but it takes planning. Students who leave the dorms usually move to the apartment complexes along Fletcher Avenue and Bruce B. Downs, or out toward New Tampa. The advantage of those addresses is that the campus shuttle passes nearby.
Weekends have options. Ybor City, the old Cuban and Spanish cigar district, has brick streets and nightlife. Downtown, the Riverwalk follows the river and gathers restaurants along it. Busch Gardens is practically next door to campus. The beaches at Clearwater and St. Pete are the classic outing, but they sit across the bay and effectively require a car or a ride. The Cuban and Puerto Rican heritage here is old and strong, and the wider Latin American community is easy to find.
Heat and humidity run from April through October. In summer it rains almost every afternoon, a heavy rain that passes quickly. Hurricane season runs June through November and is treated as logistics rather than tragedy: the university sends notice, classes pause, everyone stocks water, and then life resumes. Tampa International Airport is close and easy to use, though most long-haul international routes connect through Miami, Atlanta, Orlando or Panama City.
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| One-bedroom rent off campus | $1,376 / month |
| Public transport | HART buses (US$ 2 per ride, US$ 65 monthly pass) and the TECO Line streetcar linking downtown to Ybor City in 11 stops |
| Nearest airport | Tampa International (TPA), about 10 km from downtown, with connections to Brazil via Miami, Atlanta or New York |
| Distance to Orlando | 136 km |
| Distance to Miami | 452 km |
| Climate | Humid subtropical: hot summers with near-daily afternoon rain, mild winters, hurricane season June to November |


On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term. Off campus only with CPT or OPT authorized by the university.
Careers
The median salary of graduates from this university is $57,743 a year, according to the College Scorecard, a US government public database.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.
CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.
OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.
STEM-designated programs allow a request for a 24-month extension of OPT — up to 36 months of authorised work in total after graduation.
Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-08-15. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.
Compare
USF makes sense for students who want a large research university inside a real city, with hospitals, employers and an airport nearby, and who do not mind building a social life on their own initiative. Anyone dreaming of a college town, where everything orbits the campus, tends to be happier in Gainesville or Tallahassee. Anyone who wants Miami as daily life will look at FIU. And anyone planning to go without a car should arrive knowing that Tampa charges for that choice.
The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.
| University | Total cost per year | Average SAT | Minimum TOEFL |
|---|---|---|---|
| University of South Florida (this page) | $31,524 | 1230 | |
| University of West Florida | $31,630 | 1130 | 4.5 (1–6 scale) |
| Florida Atlantic University | $31,824 | 1170 | 4.5 (1–6 scale) |
| Atlantis University | $30,020 | 70 |
FAQ
The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $31,524 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.
Not always for admission, but almost always for merit scholarships. The admitted average is around 1230. Without an SAT score you can be admitted and pay full price; with a competitive score, the same university can cost much less.
The ENEM plays no part. The university converts the transcript grades to the American 0–4 GPA scale from a sworn translation. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The minimum required is 3.0.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.
University of South Florida admits 43% of applicants. The published minimum GPA for international applicants is 3.0 on the American 0–4 scale — a Brazilian transcript is converted to that scale from a sworn translation. The SAT range and average GPA of admitted students, where the university publishes them, are in the Admission section of this page. Below those marks admission is still possible; what gets harder is merit aid.
$17,324 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $31,524 — about R$ 162,664 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.
On estimated total cost per year, University of South Florida comes to $31,524 and University of West Florida to $31,630. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.
It does. Tampa, St. Petersburg and Sarasota-Manatee form a single university with a single degree, but daily life differs a lot. Tampa is the largest, with the most majors, the most housing and the fullest campus life. The other two are smaller, closer to the water and offer a different set of programs. You apply to a specific campus, and not every major exists at all three. Confirm the current list with international admissions.
USF sets its own rule on this, with exemptions for students living with family nearby, and it changes from year to year. In practice, most international freshmen live on campus anyway, since it solves transport, food and social life at once. Housing applications and deadlines run separately from admission. Confirm the current rule and the application date with the housing office.
Sometimes. USF reviews foreign transcripts and may accept credit, but this runs through a credential evaluation by a recognized agency, with translated course descriptions. Introductory courses tend to have a better chance than highly specific ones. The answer only comes after the review, so do not build your graduation plan around it. Ask international admissions for the current rule before paying for any evaluation.
Sources
Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the Common Data Set and the official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.
Data verified on 2026-08-15.
Sources: College Scorecard · Common Data Set · College Navigator · Official university site
Next steps
We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.