Orlando, Florida · Public state college
Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-09-15. Este guia em português →
Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Profile

The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from Valencia College's own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.
Valencia is an open-access public college: students enter an associate degree (2 years) and only then move into a bachelor's, at Valencia itself or, through DirectConnect, with guaranteed admission to UCF. Of the seven bachelor's degrees, only two (Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology and Business and Organizational Leadership) admit F-1 students; the others are mostly online and outside the visa rules.
Costs
Tuition at Valencia College for international students is $10,464 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $27,706 — about R$ 142,963 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-09-15.
| Item | Annual estimate (USD) | Approx. in R$ |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (out of state) | $10,464 | R$ 53,994 |
| Housing and meals | $15,221 | R$ 78,540 |
| Health insurance | $2,021 | R$ 10,428 |
| Estimated total | $27,706 | R$ 142,963 |
Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-09-15. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.
Scholarships
| Scholarship | Amount per year | Criteria | Renewable | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Valencia College Global Achievers Award | $500 – $2,500 | New international (F-1) first-year students who have never attended university; minimum 3.0 high-school GPA, evaluated from the submitted transcripts; merit-based, applied to first-term tuition and fees; you may apply for only one of the three Global Achievers Awards. | No | Fall 2026: July 19, 2026 (notification July 31); Spring 2027 not yet published |
| Valencia College Global Achievers Transfer Award | $500 – $1,000 | New international transfer students with prior college credits (international or U.S.); minimum 2.5 college GPA; non-U.S. college transcripts need a NACES course-by-course evaluation; applied to first-term tuition and fees. | No | Fall 2026: July 19, 2026; Spring 2027 not yet published |
| Valencia College Global Achievers Intensive English Transfer Award | $500 – $1,000 | Only for students transferring into a degree program directly from Valencia's own Intensive English Program on an F-1 visa; competitive; applied to first-term tuition and fees. | No | Fall 2026: July 19, 2026; Spring 2027 not yet published |
Merit scholarships: students have received between 0% and 10% of tuition (conservative estimate, 2026–2027; verified on 2026-09-15). Typical conditions: Global Achievers Award of $500 to $2,500 (one-time) for international first-years; Valencia Foundation scholarships once enrolled. The real amount depends on your profile — we never promise percentages.
Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.
International aid
Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.
Amount per year: $500 to $2,500, one time (applied to first-term tuition and fees)
Requirements: New international first-time-in-college student (never attended a university) who plans to enroll on an F-1 visa; minimum 3.0 high-school GPA (evaluated from submitted transcripts); complete ISS admission application; scholarship form with essay questions; full-time enrollment (at least 12 credit hours) in the first semester; submission by the deadline. Merit-based on secondary-school achievement; no SAT/ACT requirement. You may apply for only ONE of the three Global Achievers Awards.
International: Yes
Renewal: Not renewable ('The award is nonrenewable, applied to the first term tuition and fees').
Deadline: Published: Spring 2026 — Nov 15, 2025 (notified Dec 1, 2025); Summer 2026 — Apr 3, 2026 (notified Apr 17, 2026); Fall 2026 — Jul 19, 2026 (notified Jul 31, 2026). All past as of Sep 15, 2026; the Spring 2027 deadline was not yet posted.
How to apply: Separate form (Salesforce: https://valenciacollege.my.salesforce-sites.com/form?formid=217843) with essay, in addition to the admission application; not automatic. Contact: Michelle Torres, Director, International Student Services.
Amount per year: $500 to $1,000, one time (first term)
Requirements: International student transferring college/university credits (abroad or in the U.S.); minimum 2.5 transfer GPA; official transcripts from all schools, with a NACES course-by-course evaluation for non-U.S. transcripts; scholarship form with essay; 12 credits in the first semester; never previously a degree-seeking Valencia student. Not for freshmen.
International: Yes
Renewal: Not renewable; applied to first-term tuition and fees.
Deadline: Same deadlines as the Global Achievers Award (Spring 2026: Nov 15, 2025; Summer 2026: Apr 3, 2026; Fall 2026: Jul 19, 2026).
How to apply: Salesforce form (formid=217843) with essay; not automatic.
Amount per year: $500 to $1,000, one time (first term)
Requirements: Only for students transferring from Valencia's Intensive English Program (IEP) into a degree program; first-time in college (never attended a university), minimum 3.0 high-school GPA, F-1 visa, 12 credits in the first semester; 'Scholarship is competitive'.
International: Yes
Renewal: Not renewable; applied to first-term tuition and fees.
Deadline: Same deadlines (Spring 2026: Nov 15, 2025; Summer 2026: Apr 3, 2026; Fall 2026: Jul 19, 2026).
How to apply: Salesforce form (formid=217843); not automatic.
Amount per year: Varies by scholarship; the Foundation publishes no general amounts. Spring 2027 cycle: 165 scholarships offered. Published example: Mayor Richard T. Crotty Transfer to UCF Scholarship — two awards of $7,150 each (Spring 2027); the catalog says that award 'typically' reaches 'up to $10,000'.
Requirements: Only for students ALREADY enrolled at Valencia, degree-seeking or in a technical certificate ('must be enrolled at Valencia College at the time they receive the award'); dual-enrolled, transient and personal-interest students are excluded. One application (Scholarship Universe) matches the student with all open scholarships based on eligibility answers; 'Scholarships are awarded primarily based on financial need; however, some scholarship programs may not require need.' Crotty: completed A.A./A.S. with 3.0 GPA, extracurriculars, community service, recommendation letter, transfer to UCF.
International: Yes
Renewal: Not stated; per-semester awards with a new application cycle each semester.
Deadline: Spring 2027: Oct 18, 2026 (Foundation). Crotty Transfer to UCF Spring 2027: Oct 25, 2026. The Financial Aid page still shows the Spring 2026 cycle (extended to Nov 7, 2025, awards Dec 18, 2025).
How to apply: Single application in Scholarship Universe (https://valenciacollege.scholarshipuniverse.com/) via MyVC; not automatic. Contact: foundationscholarships@valenciacollege.edu.
Not at admission: the only institutional need-based award requires the FAFSA. Once enrolled, international students can apply for Valencia Foundation scholarships. Proof of funds for the I-20 is $26,247 (associate) to $27,135 (bachelor's) per year.
Scores
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| Minimum TOEFL | 45 |
| Minimum IELTS | 5.5 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 80 |
| SAT/ACT policy | Test-optional |
SAT Reading & Writing 490 or ACT English 17 + Reading 19 substitute for the TOEFL
The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.
Valencia College's merit scholarship is not a single figure. It is a range, $500 to $2,500 per year. Where you land inside it depends on your transcript, the rigour of the courses you took and your SAT or ACT score when you choose to submit one.
The distance between floor and ceiling is $2,000 per year. Over a four-year degree, $8,000, or about R$ 41,280. That is the size of the difference a better score can make, and it is why the test is worth sitting even when it is optional.
Tests
| Test | Minimum score | Note |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT (inclui iBT Paper Edition e iBT Home Edition) | 45 | Minimum 45 (0–120 scale), official score report to code 5869, taken within two years of the term. The new 1–6 TOEFL scale is not mentioned. 45–53 places the student in EAP (English for Academic Purposes) Level 4; 54–63 Level 5; 64–70 Level 6; 71 or more = out of EAP (uses PERT/SAT/ACT for ENC 1101 placement). The catalog chart still lists computer-based (133) and paper (450/34) equivalents. |
| IELTS Academic | 5.5 (overall) | Minimum 5.5 overall; 5.0 or less = 'Not eligible for admission to Valencia' (may take ACCUPLACER ESL/LOEP). 5.5 = EAP Level 4; 6.0 = Level 5; 6.5 = Level 6; 7.0 or more = out of EAP. Academic vs General Training not specified. |
| Duolingo English Test | 80 | Minimum 80; 75 or below = not eligible. 80–90 = EAP Level 4; 95–110 = Level 5; 115–125 = Level 6; 130–160 = out of EAP. |
| ACCUPLACER ESL (LOEP) | 80 | Minimum 80; accepted only when taken at Valencia (any campus), free on the first attempt, requires a paid application. 79 or lower = not eligible for admission as an international student. |
| SAT (English section, as proof of proficiency) | Writing and Language 25 + Reading 24; or Digital SAT Reading and Writing 490 | The ISS page lists both formats (old SAT: W&L 25 and Reading 24; digital SAT: Reading and Writing 490). The international-admissions catalog page cites only W&L 25 + Reading 24, but the placement chart uses Digital SAT R&W 490 for ENC 1101. Meeting the minimum places the student directly into ENC 1101 (no EAP). |
| ACT (seções English e Reading, como prova de proficiência) | English 17 + Reading 19 | Meeting the minimum places the student directly into ENC 1101; English 16 or less and/or Reading 18 or less = take ACCUPLACER ESL (LOEP). |
| TOEFL Essentials | not listed | Not listed on the ISS requirements page, the international-admissions catalog page, or the placement charts. |
| PTE Academic | not listed | Not listed on any page checked. |
| Cambridge English (B2 First / C1 Advanced / C2 Proficiency) | not listed | Not listed on any page checked. |
| iTEP | not listed | Not listed on any page checked. |
| ELS | not listed | Not listed. The equivalent in-house route is Valencia's own Intensive English Program (IEP): completing 4 sessions with a B or better in Level 6 or higher (ISS page) — the catalog says 2 sessions in Level 6 or 8 with a B or better. |
| Waiver by country / English composition / diploma | waiver | Waived for citizens of a country on the 'English Speaking Countries and Territories' list (CIA World Factbook; Brazil is not on it), for those who completed Freshman English Composition or equivalent with a C or better, or who hold an Associate/Bachelor's from an institution taught in English (official transcript required). An English-medium high school is NOT cited as a waiver. Waived students may still need placement tests (PERT). |
Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.
SAT and ACT are not required: Valencia is open access. They count only as proof of English (SAT Reading & Writing 490 or ACT English 17 and Reading 19) or for placement. English: TOEFL iBT 45, IELTS 5.5 or Duolingo 80; students below those enter through Valencia's own Intensive English Program.
Is your score below 45 on the TOEFL or 80 on the Duolingo test? That does not end the plan — our live prep courses with a teacher exist to close exactly that gap.
Majors
There are 2 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.
The 1 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.
2 majors
No major matches that name. Try a broader word, or the degree code.
Deadlines
| Intake | Application deadline | Scholarship deadline |
|---|---|---|
| Fall intake | June 15, 2027 for applicants outside the U.S. (July 15 for applicants already in the U.S.) | |
| Spring intake | October 15, 2026 |
Documents
The order below is the order in which Valencia College asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.
Campus




There is no requirement to live on campus in the first year, which opens up sharing an apartment off campus — usually cheaper, with transport left to solve.


City
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| One-bedroom rent off campus | $1,434 / month |
| Public transport | LYNX (Orange, Osceola and Seminole county buses): $2.00 per ride, $4.50 day pass, $50 monthly; UCF students ride the routes serving campus free with their UCF ID (Route 434 was cut in January 2026). UCF runs free ID-access shuttles: 10 routes to 23 off-campus student apartment complexes and Central Florida Research Park (Mon-Thu 6:30am-10pm, Fri to 8pm) plus the on-campus Pegasus Express. No rail or metro at campus; SunRail serves downtown only. A car is still the norm. |
| Nearest airport | Orlando International Airport (MCO): 57.7 million passengers in 2025, Florida's busiest and 7th in the US (25th worldwide); 8.45 million international passengers in 2025; 170+ nonstop destinations including Brazil (Azul and LATAM); 37 km / ~36 min by car from the UCF campus, with no direct public transit. |
| Distance to Miami | 371 km |
| Climate | Humid subtropical climate (Köppen Cfa): mild winters (January mean 15.9 °C / 60.6 °F, frost on ~1.6 nights a year), hot humid summers with highs of 32-34 °C (low 90s °F) and near-daily showers June-September (1,307 mm / 51 in a year); Orlando sits 68 km inland from the Atlantic, so hurricane risk is lower than on the coast (season June-November). |


F-1 students may work on campus up to 20 hours/week in fall and spring and more than 20 during summer and winter break; at UCF no extra UCF Global authorization is needed for on-campus work (J-1 students need it), but a Social Security Number is required, obtained with the job offer and an active SEVIS record.
Careers
The median salary of graduates from this university is $40,594 a year, according to the College Scorecard, a US government public database.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.
CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.
OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.
STEM-designated programs allow a request for a 24-month extension of OPT — up to 36 months of authorised work in total after graduation.
Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-09-15. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.
Compare
The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.
| University | Total cost per year | Average SAT | Minimum TOEFL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Valencia College (this page) | $27,706 | 45 | |
| Broward College | $22,752 | ||
| Atlantis University | $30,020 | 70 |
FAQ
The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $27,706 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.
TOEFL 45 or higher, or Duolingo 80 or higher. Duolingo policies change often, so we confirm the current rule before you apply. If your score is below the minimum, prep closes that gap before the deadline.
The fall entry deadline is June 15, 2027 for applicants outside the U.S. (July 15 for applicants already in the U.S.), and spring entry is October 15, 2026. Start 10 to 12 months ahead: transcript translation, English score and proof of funds are the steps that delay applications most.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.
$10,464 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $27,706 — about R$ 142,963 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.
On estimated total cost per year, Valencia College comes to $27,706 and Broward College to $22,752. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.
Sources
Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the university's official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.
Data verified on 2026-09-15.
Sources: College Scorecard · College Navigator · Official university site
Next steps
We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.