Melbourne, Florida · Private university
Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-09-08. Este guia em português →
Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Profile

The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from Florida Institute of Technology's own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.
Tuition depends on the college: Engineering and Science is the figure above ($49,080 with fees in 2026-27); Aeronautics, Business and Psychology and Liberal Arts pay $46,260. Flight hours in the with Flight tracks are billed separately.
Admission
Florida Institute of Technology admits 58% of applicants, according to College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
The middle half of admitted students scored between 1130 and 1310 on the SAT and between 23 and 28 on the ACT. The average high-school GPA of admitted students is 3.54; the published minimum for international applicants is 3.0.
In practice, for a Brazilian applicant: a converted transcript near the average GPA and an SAT inside the range put you in the typical admitted group. Below that, admission is still possible, but merit aid gets harder.
Costs
Tuition at Florida Institute of Technology for international students is $49,080 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $65,819 — about R$ 339,626 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-09-08.
| Item | Annual estimate (USD) | Approx. in R$ |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition (out of state) | $49,080 | R$ 253,253 |
| Housing and meals | $14,740 | R$ 76,058 |
| Health insurance | $1,999 | R$ 10,315 |
| Estimated total | $65,819 | R$ 339,626 |
Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-09-08. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.
Scholarships
| Scholarship | Amount per year | Criteria | Renewable | Deadline |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Florida Tech International Scholarship | Partial tuition scholarship for foreign national first-time applicants, determined at admission from high-school performance; no full-tuition merit awards for foreign nationals | Yes | Automatic at admission (rolling) | |
| Florida Tech NCSS Scholarship | First-time full-time applicants (incl. foreign nationals) who are NCSS high-school graduates; amount not published | Yes | ||
| Florida Tech Scouting Grant | $2,500 | First-time applicants (incl. foreign nationals) with Eagle or Gold Award scout rank; stackable | Yes | |
| Florida Tech Robotics Grant | $2,500 | Members of an official high-school FIRST Robotics or VEX team (incl. foreign nationals); stackable | Yes | |
| Florida Tech Legacy Grant | $2,500 | Students whose parents are Florida Tech alumni (incl. foreign nationals); stackable | Yes | |
| Florida Tech Family Grant | $2,500 | Siblings concurrently enrolled full-time in undergraduate programs (incl. foreign nationals); stackable | Yes |
Merit scholarships: students have received between 25% and 45% of tuition (conservative estimate, 2026–2027; verified on 2026-09-08). Typical conditions: Automatic international merit scholarship (GPA and SAT/ACT/CLT), amount not published; stackable $2,500 grants for Scouting, robotics, legacy and family. The real amount depends on your profile — we never promise percentages.
Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.
International aid
Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.
Amount per year: Partial tuition scholarship; amount not published
Requirements: 'All foreign national first-time and transfer full-time applicants will be considered'. 'Based on the applicant's academic performance in high school for first-time applicants'. No minimum GPA or SAT published; the First Year page says no minimum GPA, class rank or test score is specified but they are 'duly evaluated for admission and merit scholarship consideration'. 'Florida Tech does not offer full tuition merit scholarships to foreign national applicants'.
International: Yes
Renewal: 'Renewable for up to 9 semesters (must meet eligibility and renewal requirements for renewal)'. The renewal table does not list the International Scholarship by name; the generic 'Florida Tech Scholarship' row requires 2.00 cumulative GPA, 12 enrolled hours per semester, 75% cumulative completion, SAP, max '9 Semesters/First Bachelor's Degree', no FAFSA, appeal via 'Mitigating Circumstances'.
Deadline: No separate deadline: 'Determined at the time of admission'. Rolling admission; I-20 deadline July 1 (fall) and November 1 (spring). 'Early submission is encouraged.'
How to apply: Automatic: 'Applicants are automatically considered for scholarships upon admission.' Free application via the University Application or Common App.
Amount per year: not published
Requirements: 'All in-state, out-of-state, first-time full-time applicants will be considered'. 'Based on an applicant's academic performance in high school (weighted GPA plus standardized test scores)'. Eligibility names only in-state/out-of-state; the intro says all applicants including international are considered for 'a merit scholarship', but foreign nationals are routed to the International Scholarship (entry above), not this one.
International: Not stated
Renewal: 'Renewable for up to 9 semesters'; 'Florida Tech Scholarship' renewal row: 2.00 GPA, 75% completion, 12 hours/semester.
Deadline: 'Determined at the time of admission'; rolling.
How to apply: Automatic with the application.
Amount per year: not published
Requirements: 'All in-state, out-of-state or foreign national first-time full-time applicants that are NCSS high school graduates' (National Consortium of Secondary STEM Schools — a U.S. school network; Brazilian schools are not normally members).
International: Yes
Renewal: 'Renewable for up to 4 years'. Renewal table: 2.00 GPA, 75% completion, max '9 Semesters/First Bachelor's Degree'.
Deadline: not stated
How to apply: Not stated; presumably automatic from the school on the transcript.
Amount per year: $12,000 guaranteed minimum annual aid offer; 1st-4th place get an additional grant of up to $4,000
Requirements: 'All participants in the Business Ethics Competition receive a $12,000 guaranteed minimum annual aid offer from Florida Tech.' 'Students must meet Florida Tech admissions requirement'. Requires taking part in the university's high-school business ethics competition; the page does not say whether foreign nationals may compete.
International: Not stated
Renewal: Points to the renewal page; no specific row in the table.
Deadline: not stated (tied to the competition date)
How to apply: Compete in the competition and be admitted.
Amount per year: $2,500 per year
Requirements: 'For in-state, out-of-state or foreign national first-time full-time applicants who have earned Eagle or Gold Award scout rank.' Application must include a copy of the certificate. Eagle Scout / Gold Award are U.S. scouting ranks; whether a Brazilian equivalent counts is not stated.
International: Yes
Renewal: 'Renewable for up to 4 years'; table: 2.00 GPA, 75% completion, 12 hours/semester, no FAFSA.
Deadline: With the application (certificate attached).
How to apply: Attach the certificate to the admission application.
Amount per year: $2,500 per year
Requirements: 'For in-state, out-of-state or foreign national first-time full-time applicants who are members of an official High School First Robotics or Vex robotics team'. Application must include a letter from the team advisor. FIRST and VEX teams exist in Brazil; the requirement is official team membership, with no country restriction stated.
International: Yes
Renewal: 'Renewable for up to 4 years'; table: 2.00 GPA, 75% completion, 12 hours/semester.
Deadline: With the application (advisor letter attached).
How to apply: Attach the team advisor's letter to the application.
Amount per year: $2,500 per year
Requirements: 'For in-state, out-of-state or foreign national students whose parents are Florida Tech Alumni'.
International: Yes
Renewal: 'Renewable for up to 4 years'; table: 2.00 GPA, 75% completion.
Deadline: not stated
How to apply: Not stated (declare the alumni link on the application).
Amount per year: $2,500 per year
Requirements: 'For in-state, out-of-state or foreign national with currently enrolled siblings. Must both be enrolled in a full-time undergraduate program at Florida Tech'.
International: Yes
Renewal: 'Renewable for up to 4 years'; table: 2.00 GPA, 75% completion; extra condition: sibling must remain enrolled.
Deadline: not stated
How to apply: Not stated.
Amount per year: $2,500 per year
Requirements: 'For in-state, out-of-state or foreign national transfer students who are members PTK'. Proof of membership with the application. Transfer only, not first-year.
International: Yes
Renewal: 'Renewable for up to 3 years'; table: 2.00 GPA, 75% completion, max 5 semesters.
Deadline: With the transfer application.
How to apply: Attach proof of PTK membership.
No need-based aid for international students: Florida Tech states that it offers no need-based grants or loans to non-citizens and does not accept the CSS Profile. Aid for Brazilians is merit only.
Scores
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1130 – 1310 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 23 – 28 |
| Average GPA of admitted students | 3.54 |
| Minimum GPA | 3.0 |
| Minimum TOEFL (1–6 band scale, in force since 21 January 2026) | 4 · tests taken before 21 January 2026: 80 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.5 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 105 |
| Minimum PTE | 58 |
| SAT/ACT policy | SAT or ACT required |
For a TOEFL iBT taken on or after January 1, 2026 the minimum is already on the new 1–6 scale. Florida Tech waives the English test for three consecutive years with a diploma at an English-medium school, for a 4 or higher in IB English A HL or AP English Language, and for ELS level 112. There is no waiver for an SAT or ACT score.
The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.
Tests
U.S. News publishes the range covering the middle half of admitted students, not an average. Use the range as a gauge of competitiveness (2026 data).
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| SAT (25th–75th percentile) | 1120 – 1320 |
| ACT (25th–75th percentile) | 23 – 28 |
| Average high-school GPA | 3.5 |
| Acceptance rate | 58% |
Source: U.S. News & World Report
| Test | Minimum score | Note |
|---|---|---|
| TOEFL iBT | 80 (before Jan 1, 2026) / 4.0 on the new scale | Official text: 'an Internet-based TOEFL (standard, home-based, or paper-based) with a minimum score of 80 for test-takers prior to January 1, 2026. Test-takers on or after January 1, 2026, must earn a minimum score of 4.0'. Applies to every iBT modality (standard, Home Edition, paper). Test must be taken 'no more than two years before attendance'. Scores count only if sent directly by ETS. |
| TOEFL Essentials | 9 | 'a TOEFL Essentials with a score of at least 9'. |
| IELTS Academic | 6.5 (overall) | 'an IELTS with an earned score of at least 6.5'. No per-band minimum is published; the page does not say Academic vs General. |
| PTE Academic | 58 | 'a PTE Academic with an earned score of at least 58'. |
| Cambridge English: C1 Advanced (CAE) | 180 on the Cambridge English Scale (Grade C) | 'a Cambridge English: Advanced with an earned score of at least 180 (Grade of C)'. Only the C1 Advanced is named; B2 First and C2 Proficiency do not appear on the page (see separate entries). |
| Duolingo English Test | 105 | 'a Duolingo English Test with an earned score of at least 105'. |
| IB English A HL / AP English Language and Composition (waiver) | Score of 4 or higher | Waives the English test: 'Earned an official score of four or higher on an English examination: the International Baccalaureate Higher Level Language A examination in English, or the College Board Advanced Placement examination in English Language and Composition.' Scores must come directly from IB/College Board. |
| ELS Level 112 (waiver) | Completion of ELS English for Academic Purposes level 112 | Waives the test: 'Successfully completed ELS English for Academic Purposes level 112.' |
| English-medium schooling, 3 years (waiver) | 3 consecutive years + graduation from an accredited high school in the US/UK/Ireland/Australia/Anglophone Canada/Anglophone Caribbean/Anglophone Africa, or an overseas secondary school where English is the primary language of instruction (at the Office of Admission's discretion) | Official text: 'Studied at an institution in the United States, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, Anglophone Canada, Anglophone Caribbean, Anglophone Africa, or a secondary school overseas where English is the primary language of instruction as deemed at the discretion of the Office of Admission, attending for three consecutive years and graduating from an accredited high school'. An international/American school in Brazil may count, but it is discretionary. Also waives: '20 semester credit hours at an accredited university or college, including three semester credit hours of English that qualify as transfer credit for Florida Tech's COM 1101' or 'a bachelor's or higher degree from an accredited university or college'. The next-steps page summarises: 'Students who have attended an English language school for at least three years will be waived from the proficiency requirement.' |
| SAT Reading and Writing / ACT English as a waiver | not listed | The Demonstrating English Proficiency page (https://www.fit.edu/admission/applying/international/demonstrating-english-proficiency/) does not accept an SAT/ACT section as English proof; SAT/ACT/CLT appear only as an admission document. Checked 2026-09-08. |
| Cambridge English: B2 First (FCE) | not listed | Only 'Cambridge English: Advanced' (180, Grade C) is named on https://www.fit.edu/admission/applying/international/demonstrating-english-proficiency/. B2 First does not appear; confirm with admission@fit.edu before relying on it. |
| Cambridge English: C2 Proficiency (CPE) | not listed | Does not appear on https://www.fit.edu/admission/applying/international/demonstrating-english-proficiency/ (only the C1 Advanced is named). A C2 Proficiency scores above 180 on the same Cambridge English Scale, but the site does not say it is accepted; confirm with admission@fit.edu. |
| iTEP | not listed | iTEP does not appear on https://www.fit.edu/admission/applying/international/demonstrating-english-proficiency/ or the international page (https://www.fit.edu/admission/applying/international/). |
Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.
The first-year page says Florida Tech requires the SAT, ACT or CLT and is not test-optional; the international page lists those tests as optional documents for foreign nationals. When in doubt, send the score: merit scholarships are calculated from GPA and SAT/ACT/CLT. The university does not say whether it superscores.
Is your score below 4 (1–6 scale) on the TOEFL or 105 on the Duolingo test? That does not end the plan — our live prep courses with a teacher exist to close exactly that gap.
Majors
The university is organized into four colleges: the College of Engineering and Science, the largest and most research-driven, the College of Aeronautics, the Nathan M. Bisk College of Business and the College of Psychology and Liberal Arts. The reputation comes from aerospace and mechanical engineering, computing and cybersecurity, and marine biology and ocean engineering, which use the lagoon and the ocean right next door. Students who want to fly take the with Flight tracks and train at the Emil Buehler Center for Aviation Training and Research, beside Melbourne Orlando International Airport, with the university's own fleet and simulators.
There are 47 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.
The 23 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.
47 majors
No major matches that name. Try a broader word, or the degree code.
Graduate
At the master's level the strengths are the same, weighted toward engineering, science and aviation. Current students can enter the Accelerated Master's, known as Fast Track, taking graduate courses while still undergraduates and finishing the master's in less time, subject to GPA and credit requirements. The university also runs a site in Orlando, in the Baldwin Park neighborhood, with master's programs aimed at business and management. Format, requirements and application materials vary by program, so confirm with the department.
There are 43 programs open to international students, 36 of them STEM-designated.
| Program | STEM | GRE or GMAT required | Intake |
|---|---|---|---|
| College of Aeronautics3 | |||
| Airport Development and Management, MSA | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Applied Aviation Safety, MSA | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Aviation Human Factors, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| College of Engineering and Science32 | |||
| Aerospace Engineering, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Applied Mathematics, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Biochemistry, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Biomedical Engineering, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Biotechnology, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Cell and Molecular Biology, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Chemical Engineering, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Chemistry, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Civil Engineering, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Computer Engineering, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Computer Information Systems, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Computer Science, M.S. | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| Conservation Technology, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Cybersecurity, M.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| Ecology, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Electrical Engineering, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Engineering Management, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Environmental Resource Management, M.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| Environmental Science, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Human-Centered Design, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Marine Biology, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Mechanical Engineering, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Meteorology, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Ocean Engineering, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Oceanography, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Operations Research, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Physics, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Software Engineering, M.S. | STEM | Yes | FSpSu |
| Space Sciences, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| STEM Education, Ed.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| STEM Education, M.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| Systems Engineering, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| College of Psychology and Liberal Arts5 | |||
| Applied Behavior Analysis and Organizational Behavior Management, M.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| Applied Behavior Analysis, M.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| Global Strategic Communication, M.S. | No | FSpSu | |
| Industrial Organizational Psychology, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Organizational Behavior Management, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Nathan M. Bisk College of Business3 | |||
| Accounting and Financial Forensics, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Business Administration, MBA | STEM | No | FSpSu |
| Business Analytics, M.S. | STEM | No | FSpSu |
No program matches those filters. Clear one of them.
The STEM designation matters more at master's level than at undergraduate. It allows a request for 24 extra months of OPT on top of the initial 12, which means up to three years working in the United States off a one- or two-year degree.
| Requirement | Reference |
|---|---|
| Minimum TOEFL (1–6 band scale, in force since 21 January 2026) | 4 · tests taken before 21 January 2026: 80 |
| Minimum IELTS | 6.5 |
| Minimum Duolingo | 105 |
| Application fee | $60 |
| Deposit after admission | $300 |
| Minimum full-time load | 9 credit hours per semester |
41 of the programs above waive the GRE and GMAT. The rest require the test, and a waiver is only considered for applicants holding a business degree from an AACSB-accredited institution. Work experience does not count towards a waiver.
Beyond a transcript from every institution you attended, with certified translation, the application asks for a personal statement in English, a professional resume and two reference forms from people who can speak to your academic and professional background. A course-by-course credential evaluation is strongly recommended.
| Intake | Application complete by |
|---|---|
| Fall intake | Rolling; the I-20 must be issued by July 1 (apply by mid-June) |
| Spring intake | Rolling; I-20 by November 1 (apply by mid-October) |
Deadlines
| Intake | Application deadline | Scholarship deadline |
|---|---|---|
| Fall intake | Rolling (no fixed date); the I-20 must be issued by July 1, 2027, so the complete application should arrive by mid-June | No separate deadline: merit scholarships are decided automatically at admission (rolling) |
| Spring intake | Rolling; I-20 by November 1, 2026 (complete application by mid-October) |
Documents
The order below is the order in which Florida Institute of Technology asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.
Campus
The campus sits in Melbourne, on the stretch of coast Americans call the Space Coast, and it fits inside a walk. You cross from one building to another between classes without rushing, and within a few weeks you start recognizing faces on the path. What surprises new arrivals is the botanical garden running through the middle of it, the Joy and Gordon Patterson Botanical Garden, which students nickname The Jungle: palms, bamboo, a stream and the Dent Smith Trail in the middle of everything. Social life gathers at the Homer R. Denius Student Center and at the Panthereum, the open-air amphitheater beside it. Sports and the gym live at the Clemente Center, home of the Panthers, who compete in the Sunshine State Conference.
Living on campus is not a choice at the start. The university requires full-time undergraduates at the Melbourne campus to live in university housing for their first two years, with a meal plan. First-years usually land in Campbell Hall, a double room with a shared bath, or in the apartments at L3Harris Village and Mary Star of the Sea. You request a roommate on the housing application itself, and it pays to answer early. What feels strange in week one is the air conditioning cranked inside the classroom and the heavy heat the moment the door opens.




First-year students are required to live on campus.


City
Melbourne is a mid-sized city that runs on aerospace, and the campus is close to the airport. Without a car you handle the day on foot: class, dining hall, gym, library. For everything else, life improves with a ride, a bike or an app. Many international students buy a used car after the first year, and splitting a grocery run with people from your floor is normal.
Weekends point in two directions. One is downtown Melbourne, on New Haven Avenue, with restaurants, bars and a street market, plus the Eau Gallie neighborhood and its galleries. The other is crossing the bridge over the Indian River Lagoon to the beach, at Indialantic, Melbourne Beach or Satellite Beach, wide sand and surf. North of here is the Kennedy Space Center, and watching a rocket launch becomes a parking-lot thing, no ceremony. Orlando is under two hours by car.
The weather gets into your body. Humid heat most of the year, hard late-afternoon rain in summer, and hurricane season treated as routine: the university sends notice, classes pause, everyone organizes. Embraer has operations next to the Melbourne airport, which tends to make the move feel less foreign for a Brazilian family. Direct flights to Brazil usually leave from Orlando or Miami.
| Item | Reference |
|---|---|
| One-bedroom rent off campus | $1,300 / month |
| Public transport | Space Coast Area Transit (SCAT) buses cover Brevard County but service is limited; most students rely on a car or bike |
| Nearest airport | Melbourne Orlando International Airport (MLB), about 2.5 miles from campus; international flights via Orlando International (MCO), ~115 km away |
| Distance to Orlando | 114 km |
| Distance to Miami | 282 km |
| Climate | Humid subtropical: hot, humid summers (highs ~88-90 °F) and mild winters (lows ~51-55 °F), no snow |


F-1 students may work on campus up to 20 hours per week while school is in session and full-time during breaks
Careers
The median salary of graduates from this university is $90,403 a year, according to the College Scorecard, a US government public database.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.
CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.
OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.
STEM-designated programs allow a request for a 24-month extension of OPT — up to 36 months of authorised work in total after graduation.
Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-09-08. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.
Compare
Florida Tech makes sense for a student who already knows they want engineering, aviation, science or technology and prefers small classes, professors who know their name, and lab work early. Anyone dreaming of a giant campus, packed bleachers and movie-style college life will feel more at home at UCF or UF. Anyone who wants a big city, multinational internships and Latin energy tends to prefer Miami. Here the city is small and the focus is technical.
The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.
| University | Total cost per year | Average SAT | Minimum TOEFL |
|---|---|---|---|
| Florida Institute of Technology (this page) | $65,819 | 1250 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University | $66,926 | 1270 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| The University of Tampa | $50,124 | 1180 | 4 (1–6 scale) |
| University of Florida | $51,993 | 1400 |
FAQ
The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $65,819 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.
TOEFL 4 (1–6 scale) or higher, or Duolingo 105 or higher. Duolingo policies change often, so we confirm the current rule before you apply. If your score is below the minimum, prep closes that gap before the deadline.
Not always for admission, but almost always for merit scholarships. The admitted average is around 1250. Without an SAT score you can be admitted and pay full price; with a competitive score, the same university can cost much less.
The ENEM plays no part. The university converts the transcript grades to the American 0–4 GPA scale from a sworn translation. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The minimum required is 3.0.
The fall entry deadline is Rolling (no fixed date); the I-20 must be issued by July 1, 2027, so the complete application should arrive by mid-June, and spring entry is Rolling; I-20 by November 1, 2026 (complete application by mid-October). Start 10 to 12 months ahead: transcript translation, English score and proof of funds are the steps that delay applications most.
On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.
Florida Institute of Technology admits 58% of applicants. The published minimum GPA for international applicants is 3.0 on the American 0–4 scale — a Brazilian transcript is converted to that scale from a sworn translation. The SAT range and average GPA of admitted students, where the university publishes them, are in the Admission section of this page. Below those marks admission is still possible; what gets harder is merit aid.
$49,080 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $65,819 — about R$ 339,626 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.
On estimated total cost per year, Florida Institute of Technology comes to $65,819 and Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University to $66,926. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.
Yes. The with Flight tracks in the College of Aeronautics include training at the Emil Buehler Center, next to Melbourne Orlando International Airport, using the university's own fleet and simulators. The flight portion is billed separately from tuition and requires a medical certificate and specific documentation for an international student. Confirm details with the College of Aeronautics and the international admissions office before committing.
Yes. Full-time undergraduates at the Melbourne campus must live in university housing for their first two years, with a required meal plan. Exceptions exist in the policy, most tied to age, credits already earned, immediate family living nearby or an internship elsewhere, and all of them need approval. For an incoming international student, in practice, the start happens on campus.
It can be. There is business at the Nathan M. Bisk College of Business and psychology, including behavior analysis, at the College of Psychology and Liberal Arts. But the culture of the place is technical: labs, projects, people talking rockets at lunch. If your child wants a wide humanities menu, theater and big-city life, other Florida universities fit better.
Sources
Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the Common Data Set and the official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.
Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.
Data verified on 2026-09-08.
Sources: College Scorecard · Common Data Set · College Navigator · Official university site
Next steps
We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.