Independent guide to Florida universities for Brazilian and international students — real costs, verified merit scholarships, admission step by step
English · Português

Fort Lauderdale, Florida · Public state college

Broward College for Brazilian students

Tuition, acceptance rate, scholarships with conservative numbers and the admission process step by step — in dollars and Brazilian reais — updated 2026-09-15. Este guia em português →

Tuition/year
$8,952
Total cost/year
$22,752
In reais (R$)
R$ 117,400
Talk to an advisor

Reply within one business day. No obligation.

Three students sitting on a coral-stone wall in front of the Broward College sign at South Campus, with palm trees and blue sky behind them
Photo: Broward College

Profile

Broward College by the numbers

The figures below come from the US Department of Education's public databases and from Broward College's own Common Data Set. They let you gauge the size of the institution, the real level of competition and the odds of finishing on time.

Undergraduate students
30,728
Total students
30,728
International students
7%
Student-faculty ratio
31:1
Graduation rate (6 years)
34%
Founded
1959
Campus setting
Urban, midsize city

Broward College is an open-access public college with no on-campus housing: students enter the associate degree (A.A.) at $373 per credit and only then move into one of the 24 bachelor's tracks open to F-1 students (at $589 per credit) or transfer to FAU, FIU or another university through Florida's 2+2 articulation. The costs below are for the associate phase; the RN-to-BSN is closed to F-1 students.

Costs

Broward College tuition and total cost per year

Tuition at Broward College for international students is $8,952 a year. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $22,752 — about R$ 117,400 at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15), verified on 2026-09-15.

ItemAnnual estimate (USD)Approx. in R$
Tuition (out of state)$8,952R$ 46,192
Housing and meals$12,500R$ 64,500
Health insurance$1,300R$ 6,708
Estimated total$22,752R$ 117,400

Estimates for 2026–2027, verified on 2026-09-15. Converted at R$ 5.16 to the dollar (2026-08-15). Books, transport and course fees vary.

Annual cost breakdown: Tuition $8,952, Housing and meals $12,500, Health insurance $1,30039.3%54.9%
Tuition · $8,952Housing and meals · $12,500Health insurance · $1,300

Scholarships

Scholarships at Broward College: conservative numbers

Our rule is simple: we would rather you plan with conservative numbers and be surprised for the better — never the other way round. Studying in the United States is not free for anyone.

International aid

Scholarships for international students at Broward College

Only awards the university itself describes are listed, with the requirements it publishes. Where the official page does not say whether international students may apply, the table says "not stated" — ask before counting on the money.

IRM's Scholar Award (Honors College)

Amount per year: Waiver of tuition and fees for up to 30 credits per academic year (including summer) plus a book stipend, up to the credits required for the Honors Associate of Arts.

Requirements: Active Honors College member pursuing the Honors AA (18 Honors credits incl. IDH2121 and HUM1020); full-time (≥12 credits) for 4 consecutive Fall/Winter semesters; Overall/Honors GPA ≥3.50; ≥3 Honors credits each Fall. 'Residency and other restrictions may apply. Students must have a completed FAFSA on file with the College before the waiver is applied' — F-1 students cannot file a FAFSA, so international eligibility is uncertain.

International: Not stated

Renewal: Covers through the Honors AA if the student keeps a 3.50 GPA, full-time status and 3 Honors credits each Fall; 'Students receiving the "Irm's" Scholar Award will not have to reapply each term, but must meet certain requirements.'

Deadline: Applications March 1 to June 1; interviews in summer; coverage starts in Fall.

How to apply: Dedicated form ('IRMs application form'); 'highly competitive award'.

Need-based aid

No. The ISSO warns that international students get no federal aid and that very little private aid exists. Proof of funds for the I-20 is $22,500 per year (associate) or $27,500 (bachelor's). Health insurance is mandatory and bought privately (about $1,300 per year).

Scores

What Broward College asks of Brazilian applicants

RequirementReference
SAT/ACT policyTest-optional

No cut score: placement by EAP level (IELTS 4.0 per skill = Level 3)

How your Brazilian transcript is read

The ENEM plays no part in the review. The university converts your secondary-school grades onto the American 0 to 4 scale, and that number is what appears as your GPA. Averages between 7 and 8 usually land near 3.0; above 9, near 4.0. The conversion is done either by the university itself or by a credential evaluation service, and the transcript has to be translated by a sworn translator.

Tests

Admission tests at Broward College

Accepted English tests and minimum scores

TestMinimum scoreNote
TOEFL iBT (legacy 0–30 scale per section, tests through Jan 20, 2026)Listening 9 · Reading 4 · Writing 13 (EAP Level 3)Ranges by level: Listening 9–16 = EAP0300C (Level 3), 17–21 = Level 4, 22–30 = exempt; Reading 4–17 = Level 3, 18–23 = Level 4, 24 = Level 5, 25–30 = exempt; Writing 13–16 = Level 3, 17–23 = Level 4, 24–30 = Level 5 (EAP1540C) — no exempt range for Writing on legacy iBT. The table uses section scores, not the 0–120 total. Broward College publishes no 'admission minimum'; the test score places the student into an EAP (English for Academic Purposes) level per skill (Listening, Reading, Writing). ISSO rule: proof of English at EAP Level 3 or above to enter a degree program; Levels 3 and 4 are admitted with additional English classes; below Level 3 the I-20 is issued for Language Training. The minimums below are the floor of Level 3 (CEFR B1) in each skill; the 'exempt' range waives EAP in that skill. Scores are valid 2 years.
TOEFL iBT (new 1–6 scale per section, tests from Jan 21, 2026)Listening 3 · Reading 3 · Writing 3 (EAP Level 3)Ranges: 3–3.5 = Level 3 in every skill; Listening 4–6 = Level 4; Reading 4–4.5 = Level 4, 5–6 = Level 5; Writing 4–4.5 = Level 4, 5 = Level 5, 5.5–6 = Level 6 (EAP1640C). The table says 'Unable to place into this level' for the exempt row in every skill — on the new scale there is no EAP exemption. Level 2 (Language Training): 2–2.5.
TOEFL Essentials5 in each skill (Listening, Reading, Writing) — EAP Level 3Ranges: 1–2 = Level 1, 3–4 = Level 2 (Language Training), 5–7 = Level 3, 8–9 = Level 4, 10–11 = Level 5, 12 = exempt (Reading/Writing); Listening 10–12 = exempt.
TOEFL ITPListening 47 · Reading 48 · Structure and Written Expression 43 (EAP Level 3)Accepted for placement only; Level 4: L 54–63, R 56–62, SWE 53–63; Level 5: L 64–68, R 63–67, SWE 64–68; cannot exempt EAP Reading ('Unable to exempt').
IELTS Academic (paper, computer or online)4.0 in each skill (Listening, Reading, Writing) — EAP Level 3Per-skill ranges: 4.0–4.5 = Level 3, 5.0–6.5 = Level 4, 7.0–8.0 = Level 5, 8.5–9.0 = exempt (Reading/Writing); Listening 7.0–9.0 = exempt. Below 4.0: 'Unable to place' → take the LOEP. IELTS General Training is not mentioned. Speaking is not used.
Duolingo English Testno published minimum (accepted for the admission decision only; LOEP required for placement)Listed on the 'International ELL Admission Placement Chart' (rev. 7/27/2023) with the 10–160 scale and 'Eligible for EAP Course Placement: No'; note: 'This is only used for international student admission decisions and not [placement]' and 'Students presenting scores on any of the exams below must take the ACCUPLACER ESL (LOEP) to determine course placement.' No cut score is published. Same rule for ECCE/ECPE, GTEC CBT, LanguageCert International ESOL, PSI Skills for English and STEP Eiken.
PTE Academic (paper, computer or online)43 in each skill (Listening, Reading, Writing) — EAP Level 3Ranges: 10–29 = Level 1, 30–42 = Level 2 (Language Training), 43–52 = Level 3, 53–75 = Level 4, 76–84 = Level 5, 85–90 = exempt (Reading/Writing); Listening 76–90 = exempt.
Cambridge English C1 Advanced (Cambridge English Scale)140 in each skill (Listening, Reading, Writing) — EAP Level 3Only 'Cambridge English C1 Advanced' is named; ranges on the Cambridge English Scale: 80–119 = Level 1, 120–139 = Level 2, 140–159 = Level 3, 160–179 = Level 4, 180–199 = Level 5, 200–230 = exempt (Reading/Writing); Listening 180–230 = exempt. B2 First and C2 Proficiency are not mentioned on any page checked (the score-report page lists only 'Cambridge English C1 Advanced').
iTEP Academic2.5 in each skill (Listening, Reading, Writing) — EAP Level 3Ranges: 0.0–1.9 = Level 1, 2.0–2.4 = Level 2, 2.5–3.4 = Level 3, 3.5–4.4 = Level 4, 4.5–5.4 = Level 5, 5.5–6.0 = exempt (Reading/Writing); Listening 4.5–6.0 = exempt.
MET (Michigan English Test)40 in each skill (Listening, Reading/Grammar, Writing) — EAP Level 3Ranges: 0–26 = Level 1, 27–39 = Level 2, 40–52 = Level 3, 53–63 = Level 4, 64–80 = Level 5; cannot exempt EAP Reading ('Unable to exempt'); Listening 64–80 = exempt.
ACCUPLACER ESL (LOEP) — Broward College's own testESL Listening 71 · ESL Reading 75 · WritePlacer ESL 3 (EAP Level 3)Alternative to any external test: 'Students from Non-English-Speaking Countries: must take the Levels of English Proficiency ACCUPLACER ESL (LOEP) test, unless they are able to submit a valid TOEFL, IELTS, Cambridge, or another valid test listed on the EAP Placement Test Table.' Taken on campus or remotely (testing and proctoring fees). It is the only test that places directly into ENC1101 (fully exempt): ESL Reading 119–120, ESL Language Use 117–120, WritePlacer 6 and ESL Listening 101–120. Retest: once after 24 h within 12 months, for a fee.
ELS (English Language Services)not listedELS does not appear on the EAP Placement Table, the International ELL Admission Placement Chart or the score-report page.
SAT/ACT waiver (English section)Digital SAT Reading and Writing 490 · ACT Reading 19 and English 17 · CLT 38 (college level) → no English testCatalog: 'Students from non-English speaking countries with valid college-level SAT or ACT scores in English and Reading, do not need any further testing.' College-level (ENC1101) cuts on the placement table: Digital SAT Reading and Writing 490–800; paper SAT through 3/8/2024 Reading 24–40 and Writing and Language 25–40; ACT Reading 19–36 and English 17–36; CLT (from 8/1/2023) Verbal Reading + Grammar/Writing 38–80. Scores valid 2 years.
English-medium high-school waivernone (the waiver is by country, not by school)No page checked waives by 'English-medium instruction'. The rule is by country: 'Students from English-Speaking Countries: must take an ACCUPLACER Next Generation (NG) test unless they have valid SAT or ACT scores or postsecondary transcripts from a U.S. regionally accredited institution'; Sweden, Norway and Denmark with a minimum English grade on the transcript take the ACCUPLACER NG. A Brazilian from a bilingual school stays under 'Non-English-Speaking Countries' → LOEP or a table test. Real waiver only for transfers with a C or better in a college-level English course or credits from a U.S. regionally accredited institution.

Cambridge English (B2 First, C1 Advanced, C2 Proficiency) appears in the table when the university accepts it. If it is absent, the official page does not list it — do not send a Cambridge certificate in place of the TOEFL without confirming with admissions.

SAT and ACT

SAT and ACT are not required: open admission. They count only for placement or as proof of English (SAT Reading & Writing 490 or ACT English 17 and Reading 19). There is no TOEFL or IELTS cut score: students must reach EAP Level 3 per skill on the placement table (IELTS 4.0, TOEFL iBT 3 on the new scale, PTE 43); below that they take EAP classes before or alongside the program. Duolingo is not accepted.

Majors

All majors at Broward College

There are 25 majors, grouped by the school that offers them, each with the degree code the application form uses. Search by name, or filter by school or STEM.

The 7 majors marked STEM qualify for an extra 24 months of work authorisation on top of OPT — up to 36 months working in the United States after graduation. If you plan to stay, that designation matters more than the name of the degree.

25 majors

Business pathway6

Supervision & Management - Applied Business Analytics
B.A.S.
Supervision & Management - Management
B.A.S.
Supervision & Management - Hospitality and Tourism Management
B.A.S.
Supervision & Management - Project Management
B.A.S.
Supervision & Management - Human Resources
B.A.S.
Supervision & Management - Emergency Management Services
B.A.S.

Education pathway4

Exceptional Student Education
B.S.
Secondary Biology
B.S.
Mathematics Education - Middle Grades 5-9
B.S.
Mathematics Education - Secondary 6-12
B.S.

Health Sciences pathway1

Nursing, RN-to-BSN
B.S.N.

Industry, Manufacturing, Construction, and Transportation pathway3

Aerospace Sciences - Aerospace Management
B.S.STEM
Aerospace Sciences - Professional Pilot
B.S.STEM
Supply Chain Management
B.A.S.

Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math pathway11

Data Analytics & AI
B.A.S.
Environmental Science - Biosecurity
B.S.
Environmental Science - Biosecurity, Teaching Focus
B.S.
Environmental Science - Physical Science
B.S.
Environmental Science - Physical Science, Teaching Focus
B.S.
Environmental Science - BC/UWF 4+1 track
B.S.
Information Technology - Network Systems Analyst
B.A.S.STEM
Information Technology - Cybersecurity and Ethical Hacking
B.A.S.STEM
Information Technology - Web Development
B.A.S.STEM
Information Technology - Project Management
B.A.S.STEM
Information Technology - Immersive Technologies
B.A.S.STEM

Deadlines

When to do what

IntakeApplication deadlineScholarship deadline
Fall intakeFall 2027: deadline not yet published (Fall 2026 closed on June 25)
Spring intakeOctober 9, 2026 (November 13 for F-1 transfers already in the U.S.)

A 12-month timeline

  1. 12 to 10 months out — choose the universities and check whether your English score already clears the minimum. If it does not, this is where prep comes in.
  2. 10 to 8 months out — translate the transcript and request the credential evaluation where required. It takes 2 to 6 weeks and is the single biggest source of delay.
  3. 8 to 6 months out — submit the application and pay the $75 fee.
  4. 6 to 4 months out — acceptance letter and proof of funds. The university only issues the I-20 after approving the bank statement.
  5. 4 to 3 months out — pay the SEVIS fee, complete the DS-160 and book the consular interview. Confirm the fee amounts on the official site: they change.
  6. 3 to 1 month out — consular interview, visa in the passport, flights, insurance and housing.

Documents

What you need to gather

The order below is the order in which Broward College asks for each item. Start with the first two: they depend on third parties and they are what stalls the process.

  1. Complete secondary-school transcript, translated into English by a sworn translator.
  2. Letter of recommendation from a teacher or coordinator.
  3. Personal statement in English.
  4. Proof of funds — a bank statement showing funds for the first year. It is the document that releases the I-20, and the one most often sent back for correction.
  5. Valid passport and the $75 application fee.

Campus

Campus life and housing

Photos: Broward College

There is no requirement to live on campus in the first year, which opens up sharing an apartment off campus — usually cheaper, with transport left to solve.

Photos: Cmasi, CC BY-SA 4.0 (Wikimedia Commons), DaSpader, CC BY-SA 3.0 (Wikimedia Commons)

City

Living in Fort Lauderdale

ItemReference
One-bedroom rent off campus$1,825 / month
Public transportBroward County Transit (BCT) buses: $2 a ride, $5 all-day pass, $70 31-day pass - but the 31-day College Bus Pass is $50 with a college photo ID (sold at libraries and transit terminals). Route 2 (University Drive) and Route 18 (US 441) pass the Central Campus in Davie; the Willis Holcombe Center is downtown next to the Broward Central Terminal. Downtown has the free LauderGO! shuttle, and the Tri-Rail (Miami-West Palm Beach) and Brightline (Miami-Orlando) train stations are in Fort Lauderdale. A car is still the norm.
Nearest airportFort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport (FLL), about 5 km (3 mi) southwest of downtown Fort Lauderdale; Miami International (MIA) is 34 km (21 mi) south of FLL and also serves the area.
Distance to Orlando352 km
Distance to Miami47 km
ClimateTropical rainforest climate (Köppen Af): dry season November-April with highs of 75-83 °F (24-28 °C) and lows of 60-70 °F; wet season May-October with highs of 86-90 °F (30-32 °C), high humidity and frequent showers; hurricane season June 1-November 30, riskiest in September-October.
Photos: KeanoManu, CC BY-SA 4.0 (Wikimedia Commons), formulanone, CC BY-SA 2.0 (Wikimedia Commons)

Full-time F-1 students may work on campus up to 20 hours a week (openings depend on each department; no federal work-study). After one year in F-1 status they may apply for CPT, OPT or off-campus work for economic hardship, always through the International Student Success Coach/ISSO.

Careers

Working during and after the course

The median salary of graduates from this university is $49,843 a year, according to the College Scorecard, a US government public database.

On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during term, and full time during breaks.

CPT allows an off-campus internship when it forms part of your program's curriculum, with university authorisation.

OPT gives 12 months of work authorisation in your field after graduation.

STEM-designated programs allow a request for a 24-month extension of OPT — up to 36 months of authorised work in total after graduation.

Immigration rules change — verified on 2026-09-15. Confirm with the university's international student office before making any decision based on this page.

Compare

How it compares with other Florida universities

The universities below are the closest to this one in total cost. Compare before deciding: the tuition gap between two of them is usually larger than any merit scholarship.

UniversityTotal cost per yearAverage SATMinimum TOEFL
Broward College (this page)$22,752
Valencia College$27,70645
Atlantis University$30,02070

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to study at Broward College?

The estimated total — tuition, housing and health insurance — is $22,752 per year before any scholarship. Books, transport and course fees are not included. We prefer that you plan with this number and be surprised for the better.

When should I apply to Broward College?

The fall entry deadline is Fall 2027: deadline not yet published (Fall 2026 closed on June 25), and spring entry is October 9, 2026 (November 13 for F-1 transfers already in the U.S.). Start 10 to 12 months ahead: transcript translation, English score and proof of funds are the steps that delay applications most.

Can I work while studying at Broward College?

On an F-1 visa you can work up to 20 hours a week on campus during the term and full time during breaks. After graduation, OPT gives 12 months of work authorization in your field, and STEM majors can request 24 more.

What is Broward College's tuition for international students?

$8,952 a year at the out-of-state rate, which is what a Brazilian pays. With housing, meals and health insurance the estimated total is $22,752 — about R$ 117,400 in Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar. Merit scholarships reduce tuition, not the other items.

Is Broward College or Valencia College more expensive?

On estimated total cost per year, Broward College comes to $22,752 and Valencia College to $27,706. The gap between the two is usually larger than any merit scholarship, so compare total cost before comparing scholarships.

Sources

Where these numbers come from

Every block on this page carries its own verification date. Costs and admission requirements come from the university's official international admissions page. Enrollment, acceptance and graduation figures come from College Navigator, the US Department of Education's public database.

Converted to Brazilian reais at R$ 5.16 to the dollar on 2026-08-15. Exchange rates move; the dollar figures are the reference.

Data verified on 2026-09-15.

Reviewed by Elvis Arias, ICEF-certified education advisor, floridabrazil.org. Independent educational advisory: we are not the Florida-Brazil Linkage Institute or any university, and we never promise scholarship percentages.

Sources: College Scorecard · College Navigator · Official university site

Apply with us

We are an allied agency of this university: an application handled by us costs you nothing extra, and you get an advisor looking after every step.

Talk to an advisor

Reply within 1 business day. No commitment.